Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2013, 01:39 AM   #1
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default Why am I crashing?

This is getting annoying. I'll be in the middle of a game, whether it's battlefield 3 or minecraft, and randomly my screens will flash, then go dark. I hear a post beep, and it restarts, but amazingly slow (30mins to desktop). At no point do my case LEDs switch off, so its not losing connection to the power supply. Also, this was happening before my recent overclock, so that's ruled out.

This doesn't only happen during games, but usually that does it. I've noticed Alt+Tab and Alt+Enter are touchy with this too. The screen crash makes me think it's a graphics issue, and I hope it is thay because I'll be upgrading in a week or so. Thanks in advance.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:54 AM   #2
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,898
Default

Have you tried resetting CMOS? Consult the motherboard manual
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:29 AM   #3
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

Yes I've done that. Haven't removed battery yet though.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:08 AM   #4
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,303
Default

Does the event viewer show anything out of the ordinary? Any critical errors reported around the time of the crash?
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:19 AM   #5
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

Nope, just normal things. I really have no explanation for this, it just turns off. I also forgot to mention that occasionally when this happens, I get a really loud multi-tonal buzzing noise in headphones, speakers, whatever audio device I'm using.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:23 PM   #6
Big Roger
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 85
Default

Run memtest. Check temperatures o your CPU and GPU
Big Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:40 PM   #7
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

Did all that, passed memtest86+, CPU maxed at 47C in Prime95, GPU at 45C last time it happened.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:03 PM   #8
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,944
Default

Now that you have run CPU stress testing, try something like 3dmark. Run it back to back for a while. Does the issue return? and if so, which test?
__________________
Intel i5-2500k | Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 8 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:38 PM   #9
GagHalfrunt
Lifer
 
GagHalfrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 17,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetank195 View Post
Did all that, passed memtest86+, CPU maxed at 47C in Prime95, GPU at 45C last time it happened.
I struggled with a recent built crashing unexpectedly and eventually traced it to bad RAM. The stuff passed Prime and Memtest without a hitch, but after REALLY extensive testing it was clearly one stick that was bad at rated speed. Try either over-volting or under-clocking the RAM to see if that helps, you can pass all the benchmarks and still have a problem. I learned that the hard way.
__________________
"All national institutions of churches, whether Jewish, Christian, or Turkish, appear to me no other than human inventions set up to terrify and enslave mankind, and monopolize power and profit.." - Thomas Paine The Age of Reason

http://www.golfbiztalk.com
GagHalfrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:55 PM   #10
dbailey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 337
Default

If memory passes and temps are good, but you still have issues... it is likely a power supply(borrow one or swap one in to test), OS issue(format and reinstall) and if none of the above probably a motherboard issue.
dbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:17 PM   #11
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchup79 View Post
Now that you have run CPU stress testing, try something like 3dmark. Run it back to back for a while. Does the issue return? and if so, which test?
Back to back? So one after another or simultaneously?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GagHalfrunt View Post
I struggled with a recent built crashing unexpectedly and eventually traced it to bad RAM. The stuff passed Prime and Memtest without a hitch, but after REALLY extensive testing it was clearly one stick that was bad at rated speed. Try either over-volting or under-clocking the RAM to see if that helps, you can pass all the benchmarks and still have a problem. I learned that the hard way.
What kind of testing? How would changing voltage show me anything?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey View Post
If memory passes and temps are good, but you still have issues... it is likely a power supply(borrow one or swap one in to test), OS issue(format and reinstall) and if none of the above probably a motherboard issue.
It happened with my old Corsair 650TX too, so that's not it. I don't want to reinstall windows until I get a new 6Gb/s SSD. The one I have now is terrible. Could critically low system drive capacity cause this? Mines usually around 100MB free
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:05 PM   #12
Vectronic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 489
Default

Rasing the voltage would tell you that your current voltage isn't enough for the speed your RAM is running at.

Critically low space *could* cause it... it shouldn't crash/reboot though if that was the only issue, you'd just get freezes, or CTD (crash to desktop), that's assuming you actually have 100MB free, if it's less than that... that might cause a BSOD/Restart system crashes "normally" tries to write a log file/event/etc... runs out of space.

Seriously, fix that first, it should be extremely easy to clean up at least 500MB of space if not more. A quick run with CCleaner would probably do it.
Vectronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:15 PM   #13
GagHalfrunt
Lifer
 
GagHalfrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 17,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetank195 View Post

What kind of testing? How would changing voltage show me anything?
Built machine, ran all tests, all passed including extensive runs of Prime and Memtest. no hiccups. Used machine with normal apps, would NOT run stable. Ran test again, all good. Still unstable. Reinstalled Windows to see if it was a driver problem. Didn't help. Tried Win XP instead of 7/64, no help. Removed video card, went with onboard video. No help. Replaced PSU with one that was known good, no help. Removed one stick of RAM and re-ran all tests, all passed. Changed to the other stick only, re-ran tests, all good. Tried machine with one stick of RAM, crashes returned. Tried with only the other stick, rock stable. Upped RAM voltage with both sticks, stable. Went back to recommended voltage, crashes returned. Underclocked RAM, rock stable. Went back to recommended timings, crashes returned. Tried RAM in a different machine, tested with Prime and Memtest, passed. Crashed when using normal apps. Re-ran all the one-stick/two-stick tests with timings and voltages. Same thing, one stick would crash constantly doing real-world tasks when set to recommended voltage and timing, worked fine when over-volted and/or undertimed. And NEVER failed a single run of Prime or Memtest
__________________
"All national institutions of churches, whether Jewish, Christian, or Turkish, appear to me no other than human inventions set up to terrify and enslave mankind, and monopolize power and profit.." - Thomas Paine The Age of Reason

http://www.golfbiztalk.com

Last edited by GagHalfrunt; 02-11-2013 at 07:18 PM.
GagHalfrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:16 AM   #14
dbailey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 337
Default

Well, ram is your issue.. sounds like your motherboard and ram don't play nicely together. I'd keep the one rock solid stick in there for now and look into a different brand of ram that is more tolerant to voltage and different chipsets. Honestly though, 2 sticks of ram is only shown to run around 8-10 % faster than one.. so if you have a large 4gb stick and it works for you, i'd just leave that one.
dbailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:08 AM   #15
GagHalfrunt
Lifer
 
GagHalfrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 17,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbailey View Post
Well, ram is your issue.. sounds like your motherboard and ram don't play nicely together. I'd keep the one rock solid stick in there for now and look into a different brand of ram that is more tolerant to voltage and different chipsets. Honestly though, 2 sticks of ram is only shown to run around 8-10 % faster than one.. so if you have a large 4gb stick and it works for you, i'd just leave that one.
RIF
__________________
"All national institutions of churches, whether Jewish, Christian, or Turkish, appear to me no other than human inventions set up to terrify and enslave mankind, and monopolize power and profit.." - Thomas Paine The Age of Reason

http://www.golfbiztalk.com
GagHalfrunt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.