Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 05:18 PM   #1
Protomize
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 113
Question i5-3570k voltage at 4.7GHz

Okay, after running various tests in IBT and Prime95, I can safely say that at 1.24v my i5-3570k is stable at 4.7GHz. Is the amount of voltage that I am applying the normal range for this clock speed, too high or fortunately very low?
__________________
Core i5-3570k OC'ed to 4.7GHz | Biostar Z77XE3 | G.Skill 8GB RAM | Sapphire Dual X HD 7970 3GB (1220/7000) | Rosewill HIVE 650W | Crucial M4 128GB | Seagate Barracuda 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF 912 |
Protomize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:32 PM   #2
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,358
Default

That is right in the ballpark for 4.7GHz if delidded. If you are not delidded then that is a dang good OC for the voltage. (my 3770k took 1.295V for 4.7GHz without delidding)
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:43 PM   #3
Protomize
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
That is right in the ballpark for 4.7GHz if delidded. If you are not delidded then that is a dang good OC for the voltage. (my 3770k took 1.295V for 4.7GHz without delidding)
It isn't delidded and came straight out of the box.
__________________
Core i5-3570k OC'ed to 4.7GHz | Biostar Z77XE3 | G.Skill 8GB RAM | Sapphire Dual X HD 7970 3GB (1220/7000) | Rosewill HIVE 650W | Crucial M4 128GB | Seagate Barracuda 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF 912 |
Protomize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:03 PM   #4
john3850
Golden Member
 
john3850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: To close to NYC
Posts: 1,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
That is right in the ballpark for 4.7GHz if delidded. If you are not delidded then that is a dang good OC for the voltage. (my 3770k took 1.295V for 4.7GHz without delidding)
Can recall your volts at 4.7 when you were delidded.
__________________
WC-3770k-77 Extreme4-46k=1.301v-830-ST240-7970-2x8 VLP-1866 1.35v in a Haf932-Dell u2412m
2500k-47k-Z68 Pro3-4x4sniper-4890-M4-Boot-wifes pc .
WC i7 930 200x21 1.31v-5870-M4-840ssd-bkup pc.
john3850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:08 PM   #5
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john3850 View Post
Can recall your volts at 4.7 when you were delidded.
No problem, you are interested in Test #3 which is the optimized voltage for 4.7GHz operation:

Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:50 AM   #6
Face2Face
Diamond Member
 
Face2Face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Anand's Backyard
Posts: 3,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protomize View Post
Okay, after running various tests in IBT and Prime95, I can safely say that at 1.24v my i5-3570k is stable at 4.7GHz. Is the amount of voltage that I am applying the normal range for this clock speed, too high or fortunately very low?
Looks like you got yourself a very nice chip. With some great cooling 5.0Ghz should be very attainable with a decent voltage.
__________________
3570K @ 4.8GHz - Z77X-UD4H - 16GB Samsung 1866MHz - GTX 780 Lightning + NZXT Kraken G10 - QX2710 1440p @ 96Hz
Face2Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:57 AM   #7
john3850
Golden Member
 
john3850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: To close to NYC
Posts: 1,075
Default

Thanks for the chart idc.
The 0.037 difference is a good reason to delid.

The next time I remove my mb I need to lenghten mb plate cutout for the cpu so I can mount 4 studs and springs on to the rear wb bracket instead of the quick removable shoulder screws which are on it now.

If my wife didnt have a half dozen loose house cats stealing my pwn fan wires etc I would have delidded it and gone caseless from the start.
__________________
WC-3770k-77 Extreme4-46k=1.301v-830-ST240-7970-2x8 VLP-1866 1.35v in a Haf932-Dell u2412m
2500k-47k-Z68 Pro3-4x4sniper-4890-M4-Boot-wifes pc .
WC i7 930 200x21 1.31v-5870-M4-840ssd-bkup pc.
john3850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:03 AM   #8
amenx
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,167
Default

Golden chip. At 4.5 my 3570k needs 1.32v.
amenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:33 AM   #9
Protomize
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 113
Default

Wow, and I just lowered the voltage to 1.23v and it remained stable. I tried 1.22v, and errors and symptoms of instability were occurring. I guess I got lucky with this chip! Thanks guys.
__________________
Core i5-3570k OC'ed to 4.7GHz | Biostar Z77XE3 | G.Skill 8GB RAM | Sapphire Dual X HD 7970 3GB (1220/7000) | Rosewill HIVE 650W | Crucial M4 128GB | Seagate Barracuda 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF 912 |
Protomize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:13 PM   #10
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,263
Default

Are you running that OC 24/7 or is it doing the turbo / idle thing? If it's the latter, mind sharing what settings you changed (ie LLC, C3/C6, and so on)?

I get mine stable at 4.5 in that voltage range too, likely even lower, but it's not a big fan of rebooting. Before I make a thread on it I figured I'd just keep an eye out for what others are doing, maybe I missed something.

(Don't mean to hijack, just wondering what settings you used).
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:57 PM   #11
Face2Face
Diamond Member
 
Face2Face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Anand's Backyard
Posts: 3,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracerbullet View Post
Are you running that OC 24/7 or is it doing the turbo / idle thing? If it's the latter, mind sharing what settings you changed (ie LLC, C3/C6, and so on)?

I get mine stable at 4.5 in that voltage range too, likely even lower, but it's not a big fan of rebooting. Before I make a thread on it I figured I'd just keep an eye out for what others are doing, maybe I missed something.

(Don't mean to hijack, just wondering what settings you used).
What do you mean not a big fan of rebooting?
__________________
3570K @ 4.8GHz - Z77X-UD4H - 16GB Samsung 1866MHz - GTX 780 Lightning + NZXT Kraken G10 - QX2710 1440p @ 96Hz
Face2Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:57 PM   #12
dqniel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 646
Default

That seems very good for a 3570k. I've seen a bunch of 3770k's hit that speed at that voltage or lower, but very rarely a 3570k. Mine is stable at 4.7Ghz around that voltage, but only after delidding and lapping the IHS and HSF base.

I see that you said yours is straight out of the box. Very impressive.

What does the voltage show under Prime Small FFT load in CPU-z? Also, would you mind sharing the temps during as well. Lastly, would you let us know the batch of the CPU? Thanks!
__________________
3570k delidded, IHS lapped, CL Liquid Ultra @4.7Ghz 1.256v
ZT-10D lapped - 2 x Yate Loon 120mm @1300rpm
ASRock Extreme6
Antec P182


HEATWARE
dqniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:48 PM   #13
Vectronic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face2Face View Post
What do you mean not a big fan of rebooting?
Seconded. If it's not stable during boot at those voltages, then it's not stable.

I can't boot above 4.8GHz, but I also don't pretend >4.8 is stable, at the moment I can only test if 4.8GHz is stable by opening the windows... in the summer 4.6 would be my max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dqniel View Post
What does the voltage show under Prime Small FFT load in CPU-z? Also ... temps ... Lastly ...batch of the CPU? Thanks!
Second that as well, FWIW: 3224B649

Last edited by Vectronic; 02-11-2013 at 06:51 PM.
Vectronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:18 PM   #14
john3850
Golden Member
 
john3850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: To close to NYC
Posts: 1,075
Default

Why does everyone use IBT with avx to see if your cpu and system is stable.
I remember when sp1 and AVX came out it raised your scores by 30-40% in ibt.
I also read that noting uses AVX instructions except a few stress tests at present.
Wouldnt it make more sense to use the earlier ibt without AVX.
All avx is doing is heating up your cpu more.
__________________
WC-3770k-77 Extreme4-46k=1.301v-830-ST240-7970-2x8 VLP-1866 1.35v in a Haf932-Dell u2412m
2500k-47k-Z68 Pro3-4x4sniper-4890-M4-Boot-wifes pc .
WC i7 930 200x21 1.31v-5870-M4-840ssd-bkup pc.
john3850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:23 PM   #15
Idontcare
Administrator
Elite Member
 
Idontcare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: 台北市
Posts: 20,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john3850 View Post
Why does everyone use IBT with avx to see if your cpu and system is stable.
I remember when sp1 and AVX came out it raised your scores by 30-40% in ibt.
I also read that noting uses AVX instructions except a few stress tests at present.
Wouldnt it make more sense to use the earlier ibt without AVX.
All avx is doing is heating up your cpu more.
Ask yourself these two questions - what is it that you think you are accomplishing when running a so-called "stress tester" and how is it that the "stress tester" is accompling such?
Idontcare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:52 PM   #16
Liquid_Static
Senior Member
 
Liquid_Static's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 319
Default

A stress-test is intended to stress the ENTIRE CPU...
Liquid_Static is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:02 PM   #17
john3850
Golden Member
 
john3850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: To close to NYC
Posts: 1,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Idontcare View Post
Ask yourself these two questions - what is it that you think you are accomplishing when running a so-called "stress tester" and how is it that the "stress tester" is accompling such?
To my thinking the so called stress tests only heats up the cpu wih instuctions to see if it will fail a test.
I think I stress test is accomplishing a fast starting point for what ever I need to use the pc for.

My test
First I run hyper_pi 32m till stable.
Next 15 min. of ibt few times.
Then I open 30 web tabs with a few youtube.
Last I open a good game and play it non stop while going back to web.
__________________
WC-3770k-77 Extreme4-46k=1.301v-830-ST240-7970-2x8 VLP-1866 1.35v in a Haf932-Dell u2412m
2500k-47k-Z68 Pro3-4x4sniper-4890-M4-Boot-wifes pc .
WC i7 930 200x21 1.31v-5870-M4-840ssd-bkup pc.
john3850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:03 PM   #18
john3850
Golden Member
 
john3850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: To close to NYC
Posts: 1,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liquid_Static View Post
A stress-test is intended to stress the ENTIRE CPU...
NO way It only checks very few instructions
__________________
WC-3770k-77 Extreme4-46k=1.301v-830-ST240-7970-2x8 VLP-1866 1.35v in a Haf932-Dell u2412m
2500k-47k-Z68 Pro3-4x4sniper-4890-M4-Boot-wifes pc .
WC i7 930 200x21 1.31v-5870-M4-840ssd-bkup pc.
john3850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:49 PM   #19
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Face2Face View Post
What do you mean not a big fan of rebooting?
Well, I didn't and still don't want to derail the thread and make it my own so I really just want to know what settings through the BIOS Protomize is running.

[But to answer the question, I put in a combination of settings that end up running a Vcore something like 1.35, and when I can boot into 4.5 I can run AIDA64 for what seems like all day long. But I can't always boot into it, sometimes it BSOD's before I hit the desktop, sometimes it just fails to boot to begin with. But if I can get past it it seems like it's fine afterwards. That's what I meant, sorry it wasn't clear.]

Again I didn't want to put my own problems up for solution here, I'll eventually make a thread if I don't figure it out from the other threads and FAQ's around. I haven't spent a lot of time at it yet. Just wanted to see what was being run here.
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:57 AM   #20
coffeejunkee
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,055
Default

John8350 has a good point imho, IBT and Prime alone don't give a good indication of stability with these chips. Better to use some artificially heavy multitasking like playing a game and have lots of other stuff running in the background, video's, music, torrents etc. If it can handle all that without crashing it's time to check Windows Event Viewer for WHEA errors. If it's still stable you have a pretty good chip.
coffeejunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:37 AM   #21
Protomize
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunkee View Post
John8350 has a good point imho, IBT and Prime alone don't give a good indication of stability with these chips. Better to use some artificially heavy multitasking like playing a game and have lots of other stuff running in the background, video's, music, torrents etc. If it can handle all that without crashing it's time to check Windows Event Viewer for WHEA errors. If it's still stable you have a pretty good chip.
Okay, I will try to render a 1080p video and play Battlefield 3 simultaneously.
__________________
Core i5-3570k OC'ed to 4.7GHz | Biostar Z77XE3 | G.Skill 8GB RAM | Sapphire Dual X HD 7970 3GB (1220/7000) | Rosewill HIVE 650W | Crucial M4 128GB | Seagate Barracuda 1TB | CoolerMaster HAF 912 |
Protomize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:11 PM   #22
Zevvo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 14
Default

What cooler do you have? How long did you stress test?

But, seems like a very good chip. I need 1.206v for 4.5GHz.
Zevvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:20 AM   #23
upperbound
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Default

This thread makes me super sad. My 3570k needs 1.285v for 4.4, even though it only gets to 82c on a 10 max ibt test
upperbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.