Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2013, 08:55 AM   #1
smitbret
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pocatello, ID
Posts: 2,473
Default WHS 2011 supports 6-core?

I'm setting up a FlexRAID box and I'd like to just use WHS 2011 as the OS. It will be used as the media server and will need to perform transcoding duties so a good CPU is a necessity. Everything I read says that WHS 2011 will support 4-core, but will it also support 6-core CPUs? I never read about any limitations, just never saw anything that said it would in fact work.
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:32 PM   #2
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,787
Default

Is it safe to say you are using a flexraid server to manage the disks and then a second server to front end as an OS?

Also I am pretty sure it was 1 CPU socket / 4 cores /8GB RAM as limits unless they changed them in a windows update.
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:48 PM   #3
smitbret
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pocatello, ID
Posts: 2,473
Default

FlexRAID sits as a driver for storage pooling on top of an existing OS, in this case I want to use WHS 2011 so that I can install my DLNA server software there. That way the transcoding and serving is specific to one box that really doesn't do anything else.

I've read the same limitations, but wasn't sure if the documentation was written before 6 and 8 core CPUs were common and just never updated. Just wondered if anyone had any luck in getting 6 core CPUs working correctly with WHS 2011.
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:14 PM   #4
cbrunny
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,138
Default

I've got a 6-core in my WHS2011 rig. Works just fine. I've had zero issues - actually I didn't even know it *might* be an issue when I set it up originally.
cbrunny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:32 PM   #5
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,787
Default

Do you actually see all 6 cores? MS says they limited it to 4 physical cores / 4 HT cores. Do you see 4/8 or 6/12 graphs in task manager?
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
cbrunny
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,138
Default

Yep, task manager shows all 6 cores. I have the AMD Phenom X6 1055T, which only has six threads so I can't help you on the hyper threading question. But I don't see why it wouldn't work.

I run PS3 MS and it utilizes all six cores.
__________________
SteamID - cbskillz
cbrunny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
cbrunny
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,138
Default


Last edited by cbrunny; 02-11-2013 at 04:44 PM.
cbrunny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:57 PM   #8
smitbret
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pocatello, ID
Posts: 2,473
Default

EXCELLENT! Just what I was hoping to see. Got some new options.
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:29 PM   #9
Nothinman
Elite Member
 
Nothinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 30,672
Default

I thought SQL Server was the only thing MS limited it's licensing by core and everything else was by physical socket.

Personally, I wouldn't waste the money on any Windows licenses and would go the Linux route. Depending on your requirements, PS3 Media Server is a decent DLNA server that supports transcoding via multiple methods and is Java so can run on any OS.
__________________
http://www.debian.org
Nothinman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:52 PM   #10
smitbret
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pocatello, ID
Posts: 2,473
Default

I had originally thought about going with Linux based FreeNAS or UnRAID, but my choice of streaming software, Mezzmo, is Windows only. I've tried PS3 Media Server, TVersity, Plex, Twonky and Nero Home and just prefer Mezzmo enough that I will pay a ittle extra to keep using it.
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.