Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2013, 12:19 PM   #1
Dug
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 3,441
Default Help with failed RAID controller

We had 1 drive fail in a RAID 1 configuration.
Then the RAID controller went bad. (Confirmed after calling Dell)
Before the new raid controller comes in, is there a way to make a duplicate of the good drive.

I have a new hard drive that is the same.
I have an external USB hard drive caddy.
I've use clonezilla all the time to back up systems.

I'm just worried about what a different windows machine would do to the drive if I plugged it in without using the same controller.
__________________
Heatware
Dug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 01:04 PM   #2
bigi
Golden Member
 
bigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,408
Default

Nah... too much trouble

Set up your new array and restore your stuff from backup.
__________________
"I'm sick of being so healthy" - H.Simpson
bigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:39 PM   #3
heymrdj
Diamond Member
 
heymrdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,349
Default

Each Raid 1 disk normally works by itself. When my 8308elp failed i just unplugged one of the raid 1 disks and plugged it into the main board as a normal disk and stint to boot. In fact server is still running off of the one disk as I'm getting ready to build into a new server, didn't want to waste money on another old controller.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
What's up people's. PM me anytime.

Gecko45 himself shall ride to our rescue in his modified, modified-Shrike armed electric cart of Death, oblivious to any danger to his personnal safety (and pretty much everything else, as research as proven it is quite hard to drive while holding a ceramic trauma plate before your face). -Legend of the Mall Ninja
heymrdj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.