Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2013, 02:25 PM   #1
haas1mj
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
Default Thinking of going modular...

My current setup is below and i'm wondering if the current power supply I have is going to be enough if I start overclocking my video card. I am also adding two front intake fans and would like to focus on my cable management to get better airflow. Thanks.

Intel Core i5-2500K running at 4.5Ghz
Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
ASRock Z77 PRO3
16Gb G.SKILL Ripjaws Series DDR3 1600
MSI TwinFrozr 2Gb GTX 670 PE
Antec NEO ECO 520C 520W Continuous Power ATX12V
Antec 300 Case
ASUS VH242H Black 23.6" 5ms HDMI Full 1080P Widescreen LCD
haas1mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:11 PM   #2
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

Your system as is consumes only around 250W during gaming so there is absolutely nothing to worry about. 520C is rated for 480W on the +12V.

Improving cable management will have no noticeable effect on airflow unless your cables are literally blocking the intake fans. If you still want to improve cable management, going modular with only a 520W unit won't really help, you're already using most of the cables. Buying a better case would help.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 02-11-2013 at 04:15 PM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:23 PM   #3
haas1mj
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 30
Default

From what i've been reading on here I was thinking that I should be okay but just wanted to make sure. The sales people at Micro Center kept saying I needed a bigger one to power my 670. Which to me didnt make much sense because this generation of cards is more power efficient than the last. Thanks for the solid advice as usual!
haas1mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:02 PM   #4
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haas1mj View Post
From what i've been reading on here I was thinking that I should be okay but just wanted to make sure. The sales people at Micro Center kept saying I needed a bigger one to power my 670. Which to me didnt make much sense because this generation of cards is more power efficient than the last. Thanks for the solid advice as usual!
Micro Center has a bunch of Diabloteks and Inlands in stock and they need to move that inventory. Those PSUs can't deliver their stated wattage and they need to avoid having people complaining and returning the goods since their supposed 750 W PSU system crashing and doing weird stuff because the PSU is actually incapable of delivering that much power to their rigs. Every time you return something, the credit card company takes a chunk out of the company's money
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090

Last edited by Torn Mind; 02-11-2013 at 09:08 PM.
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 01:54 PM   #5
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

What PSU should i get for this build


Case: Apevia X-Trooper LED Light Mid-Tower Case
CPU: AMD FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No OC yet stock fan)
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
Memory: 8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3/1600MHz
Video: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660
Fans: Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System 120MM Radiator & Fan Dual Standard 120MM Fans Push-Pull
MONITOR: 24" Widescreen 1920x1080 Sceptre E246W-1080P
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 03:22 PM   #6
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haas1mj View Post
My current setup is below and i'm wondering if the current power supply I have is going to be enough if I start overclocking my video card. I am also adding two front intake fans and would like to focus on my cable management to get better airflow. Thanks.
Yes, current PSU more than sufficient. No, going modular won't help airflow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVet88 View Post
What PSU should i get for this build
This one.
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 05:47 PM   #7
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

ZAP im so upset hahaha. That deal is discontinued they have no more in stock that was a crazy deal thanks for the heads up. I was thinking of grabbing a corsair 600w 80plus bronze cert. Thanks once again for the response.
__________________
FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No O.C yet!)
Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw DDR3/1600MHz
MSI GTX 660 TF III (Unlocked Voltage)

ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:22 PM   #8
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,362
Default

Well, the CX500 is an option for $50AR. Less of a crazy deal, but still a solid unit at a fair price.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:47 PM   #9
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

Yea i have a CX430 but im not even going to do first boot with that. I just feel that it wont be enough. The plan is to go CX500 or CX600. Ive had a couple people tell me that the 430w will be fine i just dont trust it
__________________
FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No O.C yet!)
Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw DDR3/1600MHz
MSI GTX 660 TF III (Unlocked Voltage)

ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:35 PM   #10
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

At stock, the CX430 is mostly certainly enough, even with Bulldozer's poor power consumption control. Only thing is, you need a molex to 6 pin adapter to make it work with a 7870

http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1766/15/

Total system power consumption was 226 watts with the FX-4100 and a 6950(6xxx means older, which means more power hungry. x9xx means higher level), and this is "at the wall". After multiplying "at the wall" readings by the efficiency percentage, that nets you what is actually delivered to the motherboard/CPU, and that value is what determines how close to the PSU's max wattage you are.

Using the 226 watt value in the review, you multiply it with 87% (HX850 is 80 Plus Gold certified, so it is safe to assume that percentage), and you get 196 watts of power consumed by the components.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 07:39 PM   #11
ArmyVet88
Member
 
ArmyVet88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 100
Default

Maybe i will go first boot with it then and test it under full load. Thanks for the reply. i kind of hijacked the OP thread sorry
__________________
FX-4100 3.60 GHz (No O.C yet!)
Asetek 510LC Liquid Cooling System
GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3 AMD 970
8GB 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaw DDR3/1600MHz
MSI GTX 660 TF III (Unlocked Voltage)

ArmyVet88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:38 PM   #12
Rasterman
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Your system as is consumes only around 250W during gaming so there is absolutely nothing to worry about. 520C is rated for 480W on the +12V.

Improving cable management will have no noticeable effect on airflow unless your cables are literally blocking the intake fans. If you still want to improve cable management, going modular with only a 520W unit won't really help, you're already using most of the cables. Buying a better case would help.
I agree, spend the money on something you will notice, like a new video card, SSD, or maybe a CPU.
Rasterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.