Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 10:03 AM   #1
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Unhappy What is going on with MAC address?? Help!

Our home network system seems to be working fine except...

We have 4 computers on our home network. The only computer affected is my Asus ROG laptop. This started last night in the middle of a game; game froze and a BOD appeared, then ASUS logo and the following:

"Intel UNDI , PX-E 2,1 Build 2.1 (Build 082)"
Copy Intel Corp
Then a long string of numbers (which I copied down), GUID (More numbers/letters), DHCP ..........
This morning I started the computer and the same thing happened before the computer opened windows.
What is causing this and how do I fix it????

Wife of Runz
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:10 AM   #2
skyking
Lifer
 
skyking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 15,814
Default

PX-E boot agent. Somehow a bios setting got randomly changed, very weird.
Boot it up again and disable the network boot option in the bios.
__________________
Heat

skyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:39 AM   #3
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Default

Could this indicate a hardware/hard disk failure?
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:52 AM   #4
Fardringle
Diamond Member
 
Fardringle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 7,141
Default

Possibly a BIOS battery failure, but it wouldn't have anything to do with your hard disk.
__________________
"I did RC5, but I didn't flush." - Bill Clinton
"I invented distributed computing." - Al Gore
"I had a dream where every American would be free to run SETI@Home!" - Martin Luther King Jr.
"Greendale is a bodaciously small town, Lane... I can't even Find-A-Drug here!" - Charles De Mar (Better Off Dead)
"I did not have BOINC relations with that woman, Rosetta@Home!" - Bill Clinton
Fardringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:05 PM   #5
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Default

I disabled the PX-E in the bios. On restart I lost half the icons on the desktop, including four folders for the game Oblivian and mods.
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Default

Don't know if this is the right forum. I went into the bios again and enabled the PXE and all the Oblivian files and folders reappeared. As far as I know, Oblivian has no invasive DRM scheme.
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:14 PM   #7
skyking
Lifer
 
skyking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 15,814
Default

You need to post this in "the twilight zone"
__________________
Heat

skyking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:22 PM   #8
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,052
Default

What you see is nothing to do with the Network per-se

This Boot comes when the Boot on the HD is Quirky/Bad

Option 1. Something wrong with the BIOS.


Option 2. Your are drive is dying/corrupted.



__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 02-11-2013 at 10:27 AM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:13 AM   #9
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMDS View Post
What you see is nothing to do with the Network per-se

This Boot comes when the Boot on the HD is Quirky/Bad

Option 1. Something wrong with the BIOS.


Option 2. Your are drive is dying/corrupted.
This is it, your harddrive is dying/corrupted. Your system crashed because of a problem with the harddisk, and when you rebooted, the BIOS was un-able to find the harddrive, and/or the OS boot sector on it, so it went through its standard boot menu which looks like it includes PXE booting (this allows your system to boot an operating system thats loaded on a file share of a server).
I'd back up all the files and replace the drive sooner than later.
Grab an SSD if you can and image the drive across. I just did this with Acronis True Image (great program, auto sizes partitions and makes them bootable). SSD's make such a huge difference, especially compared to normal slow ass laptop drives.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:09 AM   #10
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawks View Post
This is it, your harddrive is dying/corrupted. Your system crashed because of a problem with the harddisk, and when you rebooted, the BIOS was un-able to find the harddrive, and/or the OS boot sector on it, so it went through its standard boot menu which looks like it includes PXE booting (this allows your system to boot an operating system thats loaded on a file share of a server).
I'd back up all the files and replace the drive sooner than later.
Grab an SSD if you can and image the drive across. I just did this with Acronis True Image (great program, auto sizes partitions and makes them bootable). SSD's make such a huge difference, especially compared to normal slow ass laptop drives.
Just to add on to this:

Your "Icons coming back" after turning PXE being turned back on is more likely caused by windows doing a disk check / recovery during the reboot than PXE itself. If you don't network boot, PXE will have no effect on the HDD as the firmware code won't even load if it is not a boot device.
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:20 PM   #11
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Default

Thanks for the help. I will back up ASAP. The odd thing is I only used this laptop for games, not everyday use. Also, one other question. After backup (to an external hard drive) would scan disk/file ck help or is the HD hopelessly corrupt? I never heard clicking noises or any other indication that the HD was failing...just suddenly that PXE message appeared.

Wife of Runz
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:34 PM   #12
imagoon
Diamond Member
 
imagoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 4,301
Default

Depends on what is failing. If the disk itself is good and the filesystem / disk structures are messed up then a check should clear it up, a worse case of a restore. If the disk is hosed them no it won't fix it.
imagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 02:18 PM   #13
dawks
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 5,019
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imagoon View Post
Depends on what is failing. If the disk itself is good and the filesystem / disk structures are messed up then a check should clear it up, a worse case of a restore. If the disk is hosed them no it won't fix it.
Yup, the file system can be corrupted, which a chkdsk can fix since its just a software problem.
But other issues are hardware related which means the drive is on its way out. Physical sectors on a disk can go bad (bits just can't be stored properly on the platters). Running a program like spinrite can help the drive determine where bad sectors are, and the drive can then 'check them out' of service, and bring spare sectors online.
Other hardware issues can be problems with the drive heads. And finally the drive motor itself.
Drives can fail for any reason (heat, over-use, under-use (dormant), vibration, etc) its more an art than a science of predicting when/why.
dawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 06:54 PM   #14
runzwithsizorz
Platinum Member
 
runzwithsizorz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,248
Default

Just an update. Backed up the computer, ran scn dsk/chkdsk and no problems, no bad sectors found. No weird noises...nada. The computer is now booting normally into Windows. I guess it's wait and see. Thanks for the help.

Wife of Runz
runzwithsizorz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:51 AM   #15
mammador
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,795
Default

A MAC address is fixed and only really is a "name" of a given NIC.

It could be that the firmware for the NIC is bad (in its EPROM or similar item).
__________________
Man is the measure of all things, the key is to find one's own measure.

thumbs up for all people like her
mammador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:37 PM   #16
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,538
Default

Did you buy this from someone? I recall folks were loading SLIC2.1 tables on intel nic bios to pretend to be OEM. Removal of the card, or disabling the bios would cause the o/s to become "not-genuine" or "not activated" which can affect functionality
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.