Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2013, 04:38 PM   #1
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Unhappy Black Screen/Computer Restart while gaming

Recently I have completely upgraded my pc, and installed a new motherboard, ram and PSU, and used my prior GPU and case.

Everything has been running smoothly, except for when I am playing certain games my computer makes this restarting sound and then proceeds to a black screen where I can still heard sound but my keyboard and mouse are non-responsive.

For example I have been playing dead space 2 and when I get near a certain point in a level, my screen will go blank, my computer makes a "restarting" sound and then continues to play the games ambient music while nothing responds. And even stranger, when I hit my power button the sound cuts out and then (of course) I have to hold it for a complete shutdown.
This has happened everytime I play dead space, this has also happened in Crysis 2 twice.

After looking at other forums around the internet I have found others with similar problems but not like this...

I am avoiding bringing my pc to a repair place because of $$ concerns, any help would be great thanks!

My specs are:
Windows 7 64-bit
Intel i5 Core i5-3350P LGA 1155 @ 3.1Ghz
AMD Radeon 7770 1gb
Corsair Builder Series 600w PSU
ASUS P8Z77-M Motherboard
Standard microATX Case
2 WD Harddrives @ 7200rpm
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 06:50 PM   #2
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,632
Default

type in the serch box. event then open it and under system go see what the problem report is.or control panel/administrative tools/event viewer/system
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 07:05 PM   #3
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,481
Default

If you aren't monitoring temps, you might want to install some monitoring software like HWMonitor or Speedfan to see if something is overheating.

When you upgraded your PC, did you do a clean Windows install?

It also wouldn't hurt to run a few sessions of Memtest86+ to test your memory.

Last edited by Steltek; 02-09-2013 at 07:09 PM.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:16 AM   #4
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I installed HWMonitor and my CPU runs at about 50C and GPU at 55C while playing dead space 2, with acouple max spikes near 60 but not over.

And I did use a clean install of windows 7 64-bit, it wasnt pirated and it seemed to install pretty smoothly like usual.

I have never used memtest so I am gonna give it a test here and see what comes up. Although I find it strange it only chooses to freeze on select games...
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:56 AM   #5
scragnoff
Member
 
scragnoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 44
Default

It could be the video card. Can you do a video card test with Kombustor?
scragnoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:03 PM   #6
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I did a test with Kombustor/KMark:

Score: P2046 (54 FPS)
Submitted by kingkarl on February 10 2013, 10:58 pm

API 3D: OpenGL 4

Graphics score: 3856 points (77 FPS)
PhysX score: 1045 points (52 FPS, CPU PhysX)
Combined score: 1319 points (26 FPS)

Duration: 130000 ms
Resolution: 1280 x 720
Anti-aliasing: X0
Window mode: fullscreen

Primary renderer: AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
OpenGL version: 4.2.12002 Compatibility Profile Context 9.12.0.0
Graphics drivers: 9.12.0.0 - Catalyst 13.1 12-19-2012

Number of GPUs: 1
GPU 0 - AMD Radeon HD series (1002-683d) - GPU clock: 1095 MHz - Mem clock: 1245 MHz - Max GPU temp: 59 °C - Max GPU load: 150 %


CPU: IntelR CoreTM i5-3350P CPU @ 3.10GHz
CPU speed: 3109 MHz
Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit build 7601 Service Pack 1

and I ran it acouple more times and my GPU temp hit about 63C, So what should I be looking for if there is a problem?

I also noticed that my GPU load was at 99% constantly, I dunno if thats bad or not?
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 04:58 PM   #7
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,481
Default

Maximizing the GPU load is what Kombustor is supposed to do, and I'd say that the GPU load temp is not out of line (especially if you aren't seeing anything higher when you are gaming).

I'm thinking either a memory problem or a graphics driver issue. I'd still run a Memtest86+ session to be sure about the memory. Are you running the most recent driver available? If so, you might try to remove it and reinstall the driver. You can also try to remove the most recent driver, and then step back one or two releases to see if it might be a driver glitch with that particular game.

Also, are you running the most recent UEFI BIOS available for your motherboard? There have been 8 UEFI BIOS updates released for this board since it was introduced (current BIOS is 1806 -- seven of the BIOS updates were posted to increase system stability), so if you are not it might be a good idea to update.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:26 PM   #8
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Thumbs up

Good news is that it seems to be working now!

I ran Memtest through two passes and it came up with no errors, and I re-installed the latest AMD graphic drivers, and I updated my bios to 1806.
I also cleaned my case of dust and pulled my HD Radeon 7770 out and put it back in.

After all of that I played through the level of dead space 2 and it didnt crash or restart my computer, Ill keep playing with it but it seems to be working!

If I encounter it crashing again, Im not sure what Ill have todo, but thanks for the help! Ill return if it persist...
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 02:49 AM   #9
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Unhappy Its Back...

So it has started it again, ironically I have been playing dead space 3 and now it is doing it again, just like before. I will be playing on a certain level and randomly my computer restarts, but all sound continues working, even in cutscenes the cut scene sound will keep going...

Anymore advice on this?
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:45 AM   #10
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,481
Default

You indicated that you cleaned the dust out of your case. When you had your video card out, did you happen to check inside the shroud on the card to make sure it didn't have any excessive dust buildup there?
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:21 AM   #11
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I didnt check the card too much but just when I pulled it out I didnt see much dust on it. Although I will check again if there is dust build up there...

I also noticed when I took my video card out that the heatsink/fan kinda wiggles alittle bit and isn't completely solid on there, I am beginning to think it is a defective card :/ Which doesn't sound like fun cause they are so expensive, and I bought it about 3 months ago so I think return is not an option.
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 11:37 AM   #12
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingkarl View Post
I didnt check the card too much but just when I pulled it out I didnt see much dust on it. Although I will check again if there is dust build up there...

I also noticed when I took my video card out that the heatsink/fan kinda wiggles alittle bit and isn't completely solid on there, I am beginning to think it is a defective card :/ Which doesn't sound like fun cause they are so expensive, and I bought it about 3 months ago so I think return is not an option.
Check and make sure the parts holding the fan/heatsink on the video card have a good solid connection. What you are describing could be a result of this looseness. Is the entire heatsink loose, or just a fan? If you can tighten the heatsink connection on your own, you should be ok. A slightly loose fan connection should not be a big issue, as long as the heatsink is on the card securely. Also, once you verify that the fan/heatsink connection is good, reapplying thermal compound would not be a bad idea.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:11 PM   #13
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

The heat sink appears to be faintly loose, Although it seems sturdy enough, and I am not sure how I would reapply the thermal compound. It is an XFX Card and I am not really sure how I would.

Although if it was the heatsink/fan, my heat would be wacky? I just ran dead space 3 and had my temp monitor up and it restarted when my CPU was at 42C and GPU at 51C, which I didnt think was overly hot...
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 12:21 PM   #14
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingkarl View Post
The heat sink appears to be faintly loose, Although it seems sturdy enough, and I am not sure how I would reapply the thermal compound. It is an XFX Card and I am not really sure how I would.

Although if it was the heatsink/fan, my heat would be wacky? I just ran dead space 3 and had my temp monitor up and it restarted when my CPU was at 42C and GPU at 51C, which I didnt think was overly hot...
Assuming the sensor is giving you accurate numbers, then your temps sound ok. Where are you seeing those temperatures?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:23 PM   #15
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I am using HWMonitor that Steltek advised that I use, and it seems to give pretty accurate numbers.

Although above this, I don't see why this only happens in Dead space games and in Crysis 2 occasionally. I have played so many other games to test this in the last 48 hours, like the first Crysis runs just fine with no errors, Borderlands 2 runs fine with no errors, It just seems odd that it happens only on certain occasions.

Plus on Dead Space 3 it crashes in the Exact same spot everytime, confusing.

So I did take my video card out and the dust was not built up near the fan/heatsink, nor anywhere else on the card, it is pretty dang clean.. hmm.
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:26 PM   #16
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingkarl View Post
I am using HWMonitor that Steltek advised that I use, and it seems to give pretty accurate numbers.

Although above this, I don't see why this only happens in Dead space games and in Crysis 2 occasionally. I have played so many other games to test this in the last 48 hours, like the first Crysis runs just fine with no errors, Borderlands 2 runs fine with no errors, It just seems odd that it happens only on certain occasions.

Plus on Dead Space 3 it crashes in the Exact same spot everytime, confusing.

So I did take my video card out and the dust was not built up near the fan/heatsink, nor anywhere else on the card, it is pretty dang clean.. hmm.
Good to hear everything is nice and clean. Your latest post sounds like software, specifically video drivers. Have you tried different versions of video drivers?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #17
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I have the latest drivers from ATI, But no I have not tried downgrading? Would you think that could help?
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 04:21 PM   #18
Steltek
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingkarl View Post
I have the latest drivers from ATI, But no I have not tried downgrading? Would you think that could help?
Give it a try - it can't hurt. Worst case, you can always reinstall the newer driver. However, I would uninstall the current driver and reboot in lieu of just installing the older driver over the top of the existing one.
Steltek is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 05:34 PM   #19
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I reinstalled them two years back, no difference. And then installed them as of last year and still no difference :/ ...

I don't know what todo, specifically the game cuts out right at this cut scene:

At 7:35 there is a cut scene shortly after and thats when my PC restarts...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=dL50O_WRrPM
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:11 PM   #20
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,509
Default

Its probably a glitch in the game since it happens in one particular spot. Try googling for others having the same problem. A quick search shows that DS3 has a chapter 3 crashing bug.
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:20 PM   #21
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

I have searched and been searching for crashes and bugs and anything that relates to my problem, and I have done everything I could, which is Why I am here...

And I did a quick search and could not find anything about DS3 Crashing bug? If so could you please post a link?
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #22
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingkarl View Post
I reinstalled them two years back, no difference. And then installed them as of last year and still no difference :/ ...

I don't know what todo, specifically the game cuts out right at this cut scene:

At 7:35 there is a cut scene shortly after and thats when my PC restarts...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=dL50O_WRrPM
Considering what all you have done, and that this always happens at the same scene, I agree it is probably a bug, as bononos mentioned. I was hoping it was just a driver bug, but that does not seem to be the case.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 06:29 PM   #23
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah that maybe true, that is the case with any new game, but previously when I first posted this forum, my problems still persist with Dead Space 2 and Crysis 2 at random points...
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 07:18 PM   #24
denis280
Platinum Member
 
denis280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shawinigan Québec Canada
Posts: 2,632
Default

Starting to sound like psu failure.under stress.
__________________
Motherboard+ram+cpu+hdd+psu.and it works
denis280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:33 PM   #25
Kingkarl
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah that is what I originally thought but thats why I bought a new one, and installed it and every has been working pretty well since.

Unless I got a bad PSU, but its a 600W Corsair and its... brand new! So I hope that is not the case.

Unless... My new motherboard is the problem.
Kingkarl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.