Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2013, 04:33 PM   #10901
waterjug
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fstime View Post
This game is trash, I finally quit about a week ago.

Boring itemization (just stack AS/CC/CD and primary attribute), complete shit drops, auction house, no socialization, discouragement of group play, no character customization or build diversity, AH bots and gold farming bots, and finally, shitty communication by Blizzard with the community.

Move to Path of Exile, it is amazing a game that is FREE is so much better than D3. I can only imagine what they could have done with the game if they had Blizzard's resources.

No AH gold based economy but a item based trading economy, an actual customization skill tree, great itemization with huge diversity potential, and the list goes on.

Bingo. Other than Civ 5 this was the most disappointing game I've ever played.
waterjug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 04:37 PM   #10902
waterjug
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 834
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smackababy View Post
Well, I'd say probably 60% of those people log in every month. And I don't use reddit and I still play quite often. Probably close to 1.75 million uniques a month is a good guess. I highly doubt Blizzard will ever release this information. But, let's be honest. Close to 2 million players per month is a success for any game.
I can't imagine it's anywhere near 1.75M per month logging in. I have 100+ people on my friends list and 85% of them haven't logged in for 2 months if not more. Unless this game sold 30 million copies I can't see the monthly player base being even 1M
waterjug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:03 PM   #10903
Dumac
Diamond Member
 
Dumac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterjug View Post
I can't imagine it's anywhere near 1.75M per month logging in. I have 100+ people on my friends list and 85% of them haven't logged in for 2 months if not more. Unless this game sold 30 million copies I can't see the monthly player base being even 1M
Well based on the reddit visitors dropping from 1.8mil to 400k (22%) of the original value, you could boldly assume the same of the overeall playerbase.

That would mean the game would have to have a peak of 8mil players to now be at 1.75mil. I'd heard various reports of peak players from 6mil to 10mil in June so I don't know what the real number is, but 8mil isn't unreasonable.

That is ignoring the fact that a lot of the subredditers on r/diablo still view the reddit without even playing anymore (like me).
__________________
Without a fairy, you're not even a real man!
Dumac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:32 PM   #10904
smackababy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 19,587
Default

My estimate was probably a bit high, but even around 1mil unique log ins a month is great.

The same "sold" 10 million copies and I think 1.5mil of those were from WoW yearly subscriptions. So, we are looking at 8.5 million people who intentionally purchased the game.
__________________
Heatware; eBay under uoislame
------------------------
"F the police, but whose stopping you from killing me?" - Chuck D
------------------------
XBL: the wrong panda
smackababy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:18 PM   #10905
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,838
Default

I'm a bit dissappointed in the game. I came back around Christams, and am still playing. There aren't any other modern overhead view action RPGs to consoider. POE is a non-starter in my eyes. The graphics look horrid, not being able to respec is a huge negative, and I'm not sure it is very polished.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:29 PM   #10906
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
I'm a bit dissappointed in the game. I came back around Christams, and am still playing. There aren't any other modern overhead view action RPGs to consoider. POE is a non-starter in my eyes. The graphics look horrid, not being able to respec is a huge negative, and I'm not sure it is very polished.
Have you actually played it? It's free so why not try it out. It's actually pretty damn good.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:41 PM   #10907
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,838
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badb0y View Post
Have you actually played it? It's free so why not try it out. It's actually pretty damn good.
No, due to the reasons I listed. The no-respec "feature" is an archaic design decsion.
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:06 AM   #10908
jsedlak
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 275
Default

I just got the IK chest piece... I can't believe people are buying this on the GAH for like 500mil. I guess I should put it up on the RMAH for like $50? I don't know... may just use it on my monk until I find something else.
jsedlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:51 AM   #10909
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsedlak View Post
I just got the IK chest piece... I can't believe people are buying this on the GAH for like 500mil. I guess I should put it up on the RMAH for like $50? I don't know... may just use it on my monk until I find something else.
What are your stats on it?

You do realize there are lots of IK chest pieces that sell for relatively cheap due to non-ideal stats right?
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:10 PM   #10910
badb0y
Diamond Member
 
badb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,798
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
No, due to the reasons I listed. The no-respec "feature" is an archaic design decsion.
They give you 22 points to respec and if you really want you can respec your whole tree using orb of regrets(expensive).

Either way I still don't understand the whole fuss about respeccing. Is it because it forces you to think or maybe you have to plan ahead? The good thing is there's a lot of freedom with what you want to do with your character.
__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.4 ghz with NH-D14 - GTX 780 SLI (Stock) - 12GB DDR3 1600 G.Skill Ripjaws RAM - SilverStone SG10 - NZXT Hale90 750W PSU -ASUS Maximus V Gene - Crucial MX100 512GB
Heatware: badboydiablo 23-0-0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil deGrasse Tyson
God is an ever-receding pocket of scientific ignorance.
badb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:39 PM   #10911
Schfifty Five
Lifer
 
Schfifty Five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badb0y View Post
They give you 22 points to respec and if you really want you can respec your whole tree using orb of regrets(expensive).

Either way I still don't understand the whole fuss about respeccing. Is it because it forces you to think or maybe you have to plan ahead? The good thing is there's a lot of freedom with what you want to do with your character.
Respecing is useful for those who like to try out different builds or to those who are new to the game and don't know what each skill does or how they work with other skills.
Schfifty Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:48 PM   #10912
silverpig
Lifer
 
silverpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 27,709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schfifty Five View Post
What are your stats on it?

You do realize there are lots of IK chest pieces that sell for relatively cheap due to non-ideal stats right?
This.

I found some IK gloves that I sold for 250M, and then bought another pair of IK gloves for 3M.

The ones I sold had 199 str, all the standard stats, and 9% IAS.

The ones I bought had low str, and 190 dex with no IAS.

My demon hunter is pretty happy.
silverpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 05:05 PM   #10913
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

The auction house is really messed up for me. Last night it seemed like all of my auctions wouldn't post, then out of nowhere all of the items that I had tried to post disappeared. I checked the AH and found that it allowed me to post 13 active auctions. I must have submitted them too quick and it wasn't able to reject them before it realized I was over 10. The display even said "Selling 13 of 10"

It's so buggy.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:25 PM   #10914
Imp
Lifer
 
Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyndru View Post
The auction house is really messed up for me. Last night it seemed like all of my auctions wouldn't post, then out of nowhere all of the items that I had tried to post disappeared. I checked the AH and found that it allowed me to post 13 active auctions. I must have submitted them too quick and it wasn't able to reject them before it realized I was over 10. The display even said "Selling 13 of 10"

It's so buggy.
Same. Weeks later and still f*cked. Feels like they took a few servers down to save on costs. Bet their real money sales are no longer performing as well with fewer people playing and massive deflation of gold.
Imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 11:35 PM   #10915
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imp View Post
Same. Weeks later and still f*cked. Feels like they took a few servers down to save on costs. Bet their real money sales are no longer performing as well with fewer people playing and massive deflation of gold.
Tonight I finally just vendored a lot of the stuff I was considering putting on auction. It's too frustrating to deal with. I haven't sold many high lvl items in a while anyhow, and I don't feel like farming lower areas to get low lvl items to sell.

It feels good to have a few pages of inventory (and a couple of mules) available again.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 07:27 AM   #10916
Jumpem
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 9,838
Default

I have a farming question.

Are you guys picking up all of the rares, gems, tomes, and gold that drop? Or are you going from group to group as quickly as possible, and picking up nothing but the occasional legendary item?
Jumpem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 09:02 AM   #10917
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
I have a farming question.

Are you guys picking up all of the rares, gems, tomes, and gold that drop? Or are you going from group to group as quickly as possible, and picking up nothing but the occasional legendary item?
I still pick up the rares, gems, tomes and gold. But I have all 5 classes going, and I still need a lot of upgrades and I'm trying to make money any way I can even if it means vendoring a ton of rares. I don't know if it would be more effecient to just keep grinding and relying on gold pickup, but I like taking breaks to town every now and then so it works for me.

I know a lot of people eventually stop picking up anything lover than lvl 63 rares or simply wait until legendaries drop. If your pickup radius is large enough you shouldn't even have to worry about picking up gold.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:05 PM   #10918
smackababy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 19,587
Default

I pick up rares, tomes, gems and gold only if I happen upon it. I don't go out of my way to pick up gold. I also don't pick up anything but iLvl 63 weapons. Armor is fine though.
__________________
Heatware; eBay under uoislame
------------------------
"F the police, but whose stopping you from killing me?" - Chuck D
------------------------
XBL: the wrong panda
smackababy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:18 PM   #10919
Imp
Lifer
 
Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 11,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jumpem View Post
I have a farming question.

Are you guys picking up all of the rares, gems, tomes, and gold that drop? Or are you going from group to group as quickly as possible, and picking up nothing but the occasional legendary item?
I pick up all magic and rare items, gems and tomes.

Tomes are good for upgrading gems. They go for $40k/pop, even topazes, when upgraded one level beyond flawless star (?).

Magic and rare items are about 1k gold a piece and over time, it adds up to a lot of gold. Reasonably good items cna sell for a couple hundred thousand gold on the AH when it's working...
Imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 02:00 PM   #10920
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

I guess they have been working on the AH for the past few days. I didn't even notice the breaking news message until just now when I logged in. Hopefully they can get this resolved. It worked great for me today, hopefully it will stay that way.

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/7811402624

Quote:
We're currently investigating issues with the gold and real-money auction house that are affecting transaction processing, load times, and general usability.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 07:45 PM   #10921
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Does anyone know if right clicking the NV buff icon disables it? I know it does for other buffs, I assume it does for the NV also.

I lost my 5 stacks of NV out of nowhere although it had 20 minutes left. I didn't leave an act, so I think it might be because I right clicked on it accidentally. I have my teleport on right click and I think I might have clicked too low on the screen.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:34 PM   #10922
rstrohkirch
Senior Member
 
rstrohkirch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 947
Default

Pickup radius is an important stat that a lot of people don't take advantage of. A +7 radius or more makes a huge difference on the amount of gold you'll pickup without trying.
rstrohkirch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:39 PM   #10923
smackababy
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 19,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyndru View Post
Does anyone know if right clicking the NV buff icon disables it? I know it does for other buffs, I assume it does for the NV also.

I lost my 5 stacks of NV out of nowhere although it had 20 minutes left. I didn't leave an act, so I think it might be because I right clicked on it accidentally. I have my teleport on right click and I think I might have clicked too low on the screen.
I don't think you can right click it away. I'd have to test it out, but I think I've tried it before.
__________________
Heatware; eBay under uoislame
------------------------
"F the police, but whose stopping you from killing me?" - Chuck D
------------------------
XBL: the wrong panda
smackababy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:45 AM   #10924
ch33zw1z
Lifer
 
ch33zw1z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ten Forward
Posts: 13,162
Default

If you accidentally swap a skill on the skill bar, that will lose the NV stacks for you..
__________________
Heatware

ch33zw1z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:27 PM   #10925
Wyndru
Diamond Member
 
Wyndru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 7,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ch33zw1z View Post
If you accidentally swap a skill on the skill bar, that will lose the NV stacks for you..
Oh yeah, I completely forgot about that, and I did switch a skill. Thanks for the reminder.
Wyndru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
beta, diablo iii

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.