Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2013, 02:26 PM   #1
raid123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default First HTPC Build

Hello, this is my first time building an HTPC and I wanted your opinions on the parts I've chosen. I'm not totally sure if I'm going in the right direction for what I want.

I would be using this for media playback(Blueray and DVD) and storage, probably playing some light gaming, and then the usual Netflix, Hulu, Pandora. In the end I want this to replace my cable tv. I will also want to hook up a surround sound system or sound bar to get more of that movie experience. Any suggestions/changes are welcomed. My budget is about $500-600 if that helps.


CPU: Intel Core i3-3220 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor
Motherboard: ASRock H77 Pro4-M Micro ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
Memory: G.Skill 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
Storage: Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB 3.5" 5900RPM Internal Hard Drive
Storage: Intel 330 Series 60GB 2.5" Solid State Disk
Case: Silverstone SST-GD05B-USB3.0 (Black) HTPC Case
Power Supply: SeaSonic S12II 380W 80 PLUS Bronze Certified ATX12V
Optical Drive: Lite-On IHBS112-04 Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Writer
raid123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 05:04 PM   #2
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,927
Default

Actually, those parts look right on. One thing you are forgetting is an OS... unless you are using freeware. Add $100 (give or take) for W7 or W8. ...and a remote, if you wanted one.

If you are planning on encoding video to your HDD, the i3 is a good idea. I also like the GD05B case, I almost went with that.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 05:20 PM   #3
TastesLikeChicken
Lifer
 
TastesLikeChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 4th fairway
Posts: 15,459
Default

If you plan on doing some light gaming you might want to spend a few bucks more to get the i3-3225. The HD4000, vs. the HD2500 GPU of the i3-3220, will be quite a bit better for gaming.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is probably not for you.
TastesLikeChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 05:52 PM   #4
raid123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, I was actually looking at the I3-3225 but wasn't sure if it was worth it, but I might take a second look and get that instead. Also I've been hearing different views on weather Windows 8 is a good enough OS for an HTPC. I'd rather go with Windows 8 unless W7 is that much better.

Any suggestions on a remote?

Last edited by raid123; 02-08-2013 at 06:07 PM.
raid123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:33 PM   #5
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

If you plan on W8 and want WMC you'll have to purchase WMC. I can't remember how much it's going for, I know for awhile you could get the license for free but that was only till the end of Jan.

I'm not using W8 on my htpc but it might be a good choice if your family will be using the htpc as well (ie when you're out of town or something). You can just put WMC or XBMC/whatever on the start page and they can just click it once the OS loads, so no navigation or anything. Aside from the start menu, it's pretty much the same as W7. I have W8 on my main rig and a laptop and W7 on everything else.

EDIT: Build looks good though. I got the same case and I love it.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 07:50 PM   #6
lucklessgorath
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 54
Default

I don't believe that you can get WMC for Windows 8 Core. You need to have Windows 8 Pro just to have the privilege to purchase WMC as an add-on. I see no reason that you would need any of the features of pro for an HTPC. I'd stick with Windows 7 Home for WMC. I'm sure the Netflix app is nice on Windows 8, but you can still use Netflix on Windows 7.
lucklessgorath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 11:22 PM   #7
weez82
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 282
Default

what do you consider "light" gaming? Intel HD4000 might not be enough. What games?
weez82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 09:55 AM   #8
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucklessgorath View Post
I don't believe that you can get WMC for Windows 8 Core. You need to have Windows 8 Pro just to have the privilege to purchase WMC as an add-on
I didn't know you had to have Pro. If this is the case, then yeah OP should prob just stick to W7 or linux.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:20 AM   #9
Charlie98
Diamond Member
 
Charlie98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 3,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weez82 View Post
what do you consider "light" gaming? Intel HD4000 might not be enough. What games?
Just as a point of reference, I was playing COD4 and MW2 on my 2500K's 3000HD graphics for a while, until I had the scratch to get my current GPU... it was playable if not spectacularly so. Anything less demanding should be OK at medium settings on 4000HD.
__________________
DESK: i5 2500K, Giga Z68MA-D2H-B3, 212+ P/P, M5Pro 256GB, 2TB Seagate, 2x 4GB Samsung RAM, EVGA 760SC ACX, Corsair TX750v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7
HTPC: Pentium G620, Giga B75M-D3H, Agility3 64GB, 2 x 3TB HDD, 2x 2GB Nanya RAM, Diamond HD6450, Corsair CX430v2, Fractal Define Mini, W7, WMC/MB
DESK3: Pentium G3220, Giga H81M-H, 840Pro 256GB, Team 2x 4GB RAM, EVGA 560Ti 448, Corsair CX430M, Fractal Arc Mini, W8.1
Charlie98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.