Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2012, 03:05 PM   #1
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default Is there a more updated QT Lite?

Hey guys,

I ran into a small issue today.
Trying to install a QT plugin for my browsers without actually having to deal with Quicktime.
I used to use QT Lite and RealAlt a while back, but I held off as I didn't need it until now.

Problem is the latest version of QT Lite is still 4.1.0, which is fairly outdated.
Upon attempting to install it, it gives me a warning prior to install saying that "QT Lite requires "Apple Application Support" version 1.4.1. You currently have version 2.1.7 installed, which might not be compatible."

This isn't so bad, except that it then goes on to say it can install a "lightweight" version to replace my current version... which doesn't sound like a good idea!

FWIW, I believe the version I have came along with a custom iTunes installer that stripped out most of the Apple crap.

Any ideas?
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 04:19 PM   #2
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Default

QT Lite development and Real Alternative development has stopped.

In fact, if you scan your Firefox for browser updates, it will report that you are using an extinct plugin for QT Lite which may be insecure and contain many vulnerabilities.

Best thing to do is bite the bullet and install the real $h!t
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:36 PM   #3
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,319
Default

Have you tried Quicktime Alternative? http://download.cnet.com/QuickTime-A...-10633500.html
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 05:52 PM   #4
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by pyonir View Post
Have you tried Quicktime Alternative? http://download.cnet.com/QuickTime-A...-10633500.html
are you blind d00d?

Quote:
Date added:
March 02, 2010
they're the same

QT Lite and QuickTime Alternative will allow you to play QuickTime files
(.mov, .qt, .3gp and other extensions) without having to install the
official QuickTime Player. It also supports QuickTime content that is
embedded in webpages.
The only difference between QT Lite and QuickTime Alternative is that
the latter will install Media Player Classic (revision 107) as well.
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 07:20 PM   #5
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Thanks guys, I know it was severely outdated, which was why I didn't want to proceed with the install.

However, I also do not want to install a ton of Apple stuff on my PC.

To that end, I tried searching around a bit, and it appears that the VLC media player comes with a plugin that will play QT files (among other formats) through their own browser plugin.
In a pinch, this seemed to work okay. At least I hope it's decently up-to-date.

I'll have to see about if I can remove VLC while retaining the browser plugin, though. I'm happy enough with my MPC setup.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 08:19 PM   #6
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkRogue View Post
Thanks guys, I know it was severely outdated, which was why I didn't want to proceed with the install.

However, I also do not want to install a ton of Apple stuff on my PC.

To that end, I tried searching around a bit, and it appears that the VLC media player comes with a plugin that will play QT files (among other formats) through their own browser plugin.
In a pinch, this seemed to work okay. At least I hope it's decently up-to-date.

I'll have to see about if I can remove VLC while retaining the browser plugin, though. I'm happy enough with my MPC setup.
VLC is absolute crap compared to MPC
+ madVR+ LAV man

I have reverted to installing the latest QuickTime and Real Player from the original developers and made sure to opt out of all email communication and to disable the startup task that starts for both and now I have the updated browser plugin + no nags whatsoever from the programs.

I think that would be your best bet too
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:31 PM   #7
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

lol, I do have MPC+madVR+LAV. That's why I was already happy with it.
I don't need VLC for anything, but I'll take it as an alternative to having to install crap by Apple. :/
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:35 PM   #8
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkRogue View Post
lol, I do have MPC+madVR+LAV. That's why I was already happy with it.
I don't need VLC for anything, but I'll take it as an alternative to having to install crap by Apple. :/
While iTunes can seriously damage your PC due to it installing the Bonjour Service (which I consider to be a virus that goes undetected by AV software due to the stuff it sends to Apple) but QuickTime installs no bloat. All you have to do is to disable the qttask.exe from startup and you'll never hear about it but you will ensure you have the latest plugin for your browser with all the latest security patches
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:58 PM   #9
DarkRogue
Golden Member
 
DarkRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,217
Default

Yes, I know iTunes is pretty bad by itself as well, but I don't have the Bonjour service.

But as I mentioned earlier, I used a custom iTunes installer.
Specifically, the one from here: http://www.ajuaonline.com/custom-installers/itunes/

Among its changes are:
Removed Bonjour service.
Removed Apple Software Update.
Removed iTunes Helper.

But yeah, I remember disabling qttask a long time ago when I installed the vanilla iTunes program.
__________________
~Sakura~ Antec P182 | Seasonic X-650 | ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe | i7-3770k @4.6GHz
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 | Gigabyte GTX670 OC 2GB | Crucial M4 256GB
Samsung SH-S203B | Audioengine A5 | NEC LCD2490WUXi-BK-SV
~Ayu~ IBM T60 | 15" SXGA+ | T5500 @0.95v | ATI X1300 | 2x2GB | 7K320 | Atheros ABG | NMB
DarkRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:37 AM   #10
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

I use to use QT lite also. Since then though Iv found absolutely no need for it. If you dont want to say thats fine, but if you dont mind what do you need such a plugin for anymore?

I havn't tried recent files but i have an old .mov trailer on here that seems to work perfectly, all i have installed is MPC, ffdshow tryouts, and Haali

..sorry im not into the latest and greatest so if you dont mind me asking... what are the LAV filters for? Since ffdshow decodes everything iv ever seen, would i be right in assuming LAV is just for modern CPU's to Decode at higher quality/bitrate then ffdshow?
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:37 AM   #11
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolancer View Post
I use to use QT lite also. Since then though Iv found absolutely no need for it. If you dont want to say thats fine, but if you dont mind what do you need such a plugin for anymore?

I havn't tried recent files but i have an old .mov trailer on here that seems to work perfectly, all i have installed is MPC, ffdshow tryouts, and Haali

..sorry im not into the latest and greatest so if you dont mind me asking... what are the LAV filters for? Since ffdshow decodes everything iv ever seen, would i be right in assuming LAV is just for modern CPU's to Decode at higher quality/bitrate then ffdshow?

LAV uses hardware acceleration for decoding rather than software acceleration.

It has a mode called the CUVID which is basically designed to work with nVIDIA GPUs to give superior quality and performance. couple that with madVR and you got a definite superb quality

If you need help on how to set them up let me know and ill make a guide for you
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:12 PM   #12
pyonir
Lifer
 
pyonir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 40,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by berryracer View Post
The only difference between QT Lite and QuickTime Alternative is that
the latter will install Media Player Classic (revision 107) as well.
So, technically, by your own admission, they aren't the same. But you asking if someone else is blind given your "help" around here is completely laughable.

That said, I didn't know they were one in the same, so, I guess I am blind. Funny I can still use a computer and read your mostly useless posts. Sometimes I wish I was actually blind.
__________________
"To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable." Oscar Wilde, "The Picture of Dorian Gray"

FunTrivia - Yes, I realize it's a referral, but I'd appreciate it. I get a few (useless) points if you sign up.
pyonir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:57 AM   #13
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Which websites are you guys visiting that you still need Quicktime plugins?


Anyway, what I would do is install some old QT Lite, then get the latest official Quicktime installer, extract the .dll files and replace the ones made by the old QT Lite with the new ones.
IIRC, they go into C \Program Files (x86)\QT Lite\plugins\

Alternatively, just skip QT Lite altogether and extract the Quicktime dlls. But I'm afraid the plugin info must be written into the registry or something like that.


Regarding the issue with iTunes: I have no idea. But just in case you didn't know, there are alternative ways for copying files to iPhones/iPods, you don't necessarily need iTunes itself.
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:02 AM   #14
jolancer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 469
Default

berryracer - The offer is appreciated but no need Thx. Im only using an Atom Netbook no top notch image quality here .Thx for the info though
jolancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:13 PM   #15
flapdrol
Junior Member
 
flapdrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

Reading this thread I decided to make one, based on all the work of others
It's a winrar-sfx file and you can look inside to see how it works,
It installs the original 4.1.0 (which is Quicktime 769), looks for the installpath and extracts the updatefiles from Quicktime773 to it.
You can downloasd it at
http://home.xmsnet.nl/pangolin/Quick...lternative.rar
flapdrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:32 PM   #16
Evander
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewhat View Post
Which websites are you guys visiting that you still need Quicktime plugins?
I wanted to watch the new Star Trek trailer the other day and it needed quicktime
http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/p...kintodarkness/
Evander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:26 AM   #17
thewhat
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evander View Post
apple.com
It figures.

You could've watched it on Youtube, though.
thewhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 05:01 AM   #18
flapdrol
Junior Member
 
flapdrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

deleted

Last edited by flapdrol; 12-28-2012 at 07:07 AM.
flapdrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 01:18 PM   #19
ilnot1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default Just what I was looking for

Quote:
Originally Posted by flapdrol View Post
Reading this thread I decided to make one, based on all the work of others
It's a winrar-sfx file and you can look inside to see how it works,
It installs the original 4.1.0 (which is Quicktime 769), looks for the installpath and extracts the updatefiles from Quicktime773 to it.
You can downloasd it at
http://home.xmsnet.nl/pangolin/Quick...lternative.rar
Thanks for the effort flapdrol. I ran each file through Virus Total online and everything checks out. I installed it but it doesn't quite work as it should for me. It installs QT-lite 4.10 but then just extracts the newest plugins to the folder where the .exe is located not the browser folder. So all I had to do was copy (and overwrite) the nine files it spit out (npqtplugin.dll et. al.) to C\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\plugins. FireFox 18.0.2 now says it has the latest 7.7.3 version and I can still use the play and download functions built into QT-lite 4.10. Thanks again.

Last edited by ilnot1; 02-08-2013 at 01:31 PM.
ilnot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:59 AM   #20
flapdrol
Junior Member
 
flapdrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

That is odd or you must have downloaded it right away, because the first version was only a few hours online.
Then I updated it and it asks you for the pluginfolder of your browser.
If you have more browsers, you can copy the files you mention manually or you could install again and then choose another path.
flapdrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:58 AM   #21
ilnot1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I re-downloaded and now it works just like you said, asking to browse to where the plugin folder is.

QuickTime just updated to ver. 7.74.80.86, any chance of a new update pack?



EDIT: Just checked the one I newly downloaded and it is 774 already, wow. Thanks.

Last edited by ilnot1; 05-26-2013 at 12:02 PM.
ilnot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:25 PM   #22
flapdrol
Junior Member
 
flapdrol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

I didn't mention it, because it isnt tested very much.
It doens't work with a freshly installed Firefox for example, but I think here is Firefox to blame.
But I am happy it works for you and you figured out it was 774
flapdrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 06:40 AM   #23
libertytrek
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Found this thread after searching for an update for QTLite...

Any chance for a Lite version of this?

If not, I understand, and thanks for packaging an update!
libertytrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:22 AM   #24
Octopuss
Golden Member
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,277
Default

Just install LAV filters and don't bother with x years old thing.
__________________
I lost all of my patience on internet forums.

English grammar for mentally challenged:
where ≠ were; there ≠ their ≠ they are; your ≠ you are
A sentence starts with a capital letter and ends with ONE full stop!
Octopuss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 07:56 AM   #25
berryracer
Golden Member
 
berryracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Dubai
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopuss View Post
Just install LAV filters and don't bother with x years old thing.
True!

MPC + LAV + madVR is all you need
__________________
Alienware 18 | i7 4810MQ @ 4 GHz | Dual Radeon R9 M290X Crossfire | 32 GB Kingston HyperX 1866 MHz RAM
Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD + Samsung 840 EVO mSATA 1TB SSD | Windows 7 Professional
berryracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.