Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2013, 06:05 AM   #1
lokesh jaddu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Unhappy What does it mean???

Hello everyone...
A few weeks back i have posted a thread for some help on my first build..
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2296840

Due to some problem i couldn't place the order though.. and now when i was ready to place the order and was going through all the items once, i saw a comment under the psu saying.,

"No 12vdc [p4 molex] for processor voltage regulator...
be advised this unit/model doesn't comes with 12vdc p4 molex so be sure that ur motherboard doesn't has that capabilities.think this model is primarily intended to use with lower versions of processors like atom p3,p4 systems.."
Link: http://www.flipkart.com/corsair-vs35...8-9d6f740b4d0f

So what does it mean my cpu+mobo wouldn'nt work on this psu or what??

CPU: http://www.flipkart.com/intel-i3-322...rch&query=3220

MOBO: http://www.flipkart.com/asrock-h77-p...%20motherboard

I went through the mobo manual then i found something which i think is related to this.
Here is the link for the mobo manual
http://download.asrock.com/manual/H77%20Pro4MVP.pdf
Its on page 36 and it says..
"Though this motherboard provides 24-pin ATX power connector,
it can still work if you adopt a traditional 20-pin ATX power supply.
To use the 20-pin ATX power supply, please plug your
power supply along with Pin 1 and Pin 13."
which is confusing me alot...
So please help me out.. Sorry if i sound like an idiot with an irrelevant doubt.. I am being so curious as it is my first build which i am planning it all myself against my father and dont want to screw it up which may bring severe results on me..
Everyone out there please help me out..

Thank You people..
lokesh jaddu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:02 AM   #2
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14,984
Default

I would recommend a 24 pin power supply. Dont trust an adapter. I think this is something you might need to check at the Corsair website. They should have some specs on their website. So I guess your are buying this because your location has 220v power?

On newer motheboard you have to have 2 power connectors. One is a standard 24 pin power connector and the other is a smaller 4 pin power module or sometimes 2 or more pins. Originally this extra 4 pin power plug was required for Intel P4's when they first came out. Since then most motherboards have started using them.
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.

Last edited by piasabird; 02-06-2013 at 09:05 AM.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:14 PM   #3
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by piasabird View Post
I would recommend a 24 pin power supply. Dont trust an adapter. I think this is something you might need to check at the Corsair website. They should have some specs on their website. So I guess your are buying this because your location has 220v power?
I don't know what that guy on flipkart has been smoking, but the VS350 is compatible with ATX12V 2.31. Therefore it HAS to have have a 4-pin (P4) plug. Its a requirement of the standard...

http://www.corsair.com/en/power-supp...er-supply.html

Even Atom boards use that 4-pin actually.
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:10 AM   #4
lokesh jaddu
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
I don't know what that guy on flipkart has been smoking, but the VS350 is compatible with ATX12V 2.31. Therefore it HAS to have have a 4-pin (P4) plug. Its a requirement of the standard...

http://www.corsair.com/en/power-supp...er-supply.html

Even Atom boards use that 4-pin actually.
ohk but.. yesterday after some googling i found a website with the specs of the corsair vs350 psu and it too states that it just has a 20pin mobo connector here is the link..

http://www.onyougo.com/corsair-vs350...cs_pi1874499e2
lokesh jaddu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:30 AM   #5
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokesh jaddu View Post
ohk but.. yesterday after some googling i found a website with the specs of the corsair vs350 psu and it too states that it just has a 20pin mobo connector here is the link..

http://www.onyougo.com/corsair-vs350...cs_pi1874499e2
If you want 100% certainty, a Corsair CX430 is a very good choice. If you can afford it of course...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:07 AM   #6
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,311
Default

Interesting, the picture shows a 24 or 20+4 pin adapter. If there is a mixup, Corsair should straighten this out.

__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:53 AM   #7
piasabird
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14,984
Default

It is quite possible the website is just giving you a bogous warning.
__________________
Asus Memo Pad 7 HD. Quad Core Tablet.
piasabird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:06 PM   #8
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20,619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokesh jaddu View Post
ohk but.. yesterday after some googling i found a website with the specs of the corsair vs350 psu and it too states that it just has a 20pin mobo connector here is the link..

http://www.onyougo.com/corsair-vs350...cs_pi1874499e2
The Corsair product page clearly shows a 24-pin ATX connector. I would trust that over what some random reseller lists.
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.