Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2013, 03:15 PM   #1
episodic
Lifer
 
episodic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lifer
Posts: 11,084
Default Just checking - any good freeware screen recorders?

Need something like camtasia - but free. Last I looked, there were not many good free ones. Been a while - anything come up?
episodic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:28 PM   #2
p4ck3tl055
Member
 
p4ck3tl055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lexington, KY. USA
Posts: 49
Default

I've used Camstudio before. Don't expect it to be Camtasia, but it does work and is free.

(Camstudio doesn't have the ability to edit the captured videos directly, but it does a fairly good job of capturing the screen and can capture your voice at the same time if needed.)
p4ck3tl055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:47 AM   #3
AnitaPeterson
Diamond Member
 
AnitaPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 5,314
Default

Thank you for the heads-up!
__________________
May you live in interesting times!
AnitaPeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:21 AM   #4
Lorthreth
Member
 
Lorthreth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 82
Default

Expression Encoder 4?
The recently released free version, unlimited capture, editing, effects but only VC-1.

Last edited by Lorthreth; 02-07-2013 at 11:27 AM.
Lorthreth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:52 PM   #5
blckgrffn
Diamond Member
 
blckgrffn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 6,639
Default

Searching is a good thing, I guess!

How do I capture the screen in Expression? I am not finding the interface very intuitive...
__________________
Crunch/Fold for the TeAm! http://forums.anandtech.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15

3930k @ 4.2 - GA-UP4 - 2x MSI TF3 7950 - 32GB EL RAM - Seasonic X650 - 840 250GB - U2913WM

Last edited by blckgrffn; 02-11-2013 at 03:59 PM.
blckgrffn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.