Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2013, 11:15 PM   #1
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default Radeon 6870 and my aching head

So I hate to be that guy who asks for help on his very first post, but desperation>pride right about now. I bought a 6870, and installed it to find that I can hear windows booting, but I get nuthin in the way of video. I have swapped cards, manufacturers, monitors, and on and on. I have RMAed a few times. But that is not why I am here.

I am needing to upgrade, and since I am, I want to make sure I get a setup that will dance with this card. If anyone is running a 6870, please tell me what kind of mainboard and processor you have.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:16 PM   #2
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Can you please list system specs
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:32 PM   #3
VulgarDisplay
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,934
Default

Plug in monitor and turn it on.
VulgarDisplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:40 PM   #4
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

sure! AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core, Biostar TA790GX A2+, Sapphire 4850 512MB DDR3, 4 gigs Crucial DDR2 5-5-5-18. I am planning to upgrade from tyhis setup though. I can only conclude that the card is not compatible with the system I am trying to put it in, so I want to upgrade to a board that likes this card.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
zebrax2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 828
Default

Have you tried using a different cable? Also try using VGA instead of DVI or vise versa
zebrax2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 11:49 PM   #6
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zebrax2 View Post
Have you tried using a different cable? Also try using VGA instead of DVI or vise versa
Yessir. I have tried both old and new style DVI, HDMI, and HDMI to DVI. I have tried anything and everything that I could think of and what has been suggested, except trying a new motherboard.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 12:55 AM   #7
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 15,062
Default

If you get different HD6870s, it could be a motherboard BIOS compatibility issue. Did you flash your motherboard with the latest BIOS? Also, have you tried re-installing windows?

What's your budget for upgrading and your main system uses? Do you keep your system for a long time? Do you plan on overclocking? Do you have a Fry's or MicroCenter near you?
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:24 AM   #8
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RussianSensation View Post
If you get different HD6870s, it could be a motherboard BIOS compatibility issue. Did you flash your motherboard with the latest BIOS? Also, have you tried re-installing windows?

What's your budget for upgrading and your main system uses? Do you keep your system for a long time? Do you plan on overclocking? Do you have a Fry's or MicroCenter near you?
I agree with your suggestion of compatibility issues. I initially had an XFX card that I sent back to Newegg, then bought the Sapphire. I RMA'ed a card to them, and they sent me another, so there were 3 cards, all with the same issue. I did flash the bios. I did a full reformat with a fresh Windows install. I keep stuff as long is it satisfactorily runs what I am interested in playing or doing. Once I see performance issues, or system requirements are creeping up to the point that I might have issues, I upgrade. Budget is around 500-600.00 for board, processor and memory. Less is better of course. Thanks for taking the time to help me out!
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:03 AM   #9
RussianSensation
Elite Member
 
RussianSensation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 15,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowell2013 View Post
Budget is around 500-600.00 for board, processor and memory. Less is better of course.
CPU:

Core i5 3570K = $230 - $15 off coupon EMCXVXR22 until Feb 11 = $215

^ On the CPU side, you could upgrade to i7 3770K if you do video encoding/rendering/serious multi-tasking. If you do gaming while streaming with xsplit, FX8350 could be a good option. Otherwise stick to i5/i7s.

Motherboard:

GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD4H = $165
^ On the motherboard side you could go down if you want to say Asrock Extreme 4 or 6 (tons of features for the price). Alternatively, you could step up if you need more features like Thunderbolt (Gigabyte UP4-TH). If you are into serious hardcore overclocking, maybe spend more for MSI Z77 Power or ASRock Z77 OC Formula. Although, I'd personally rather downgrade to Asrock Extreme 6 and put the $ into a 128GB SSD or towards an i7 3770K than spend > $200 on a mobo. Alternatively you can get a $150-160 board and a $40 Thermalright True Spirit 140 that would help you MUCH more than a $200 board and a stock Intel heatsink. Just make sure the 173mm clearance isn't a problem in your case. There are plenty of other CPU coolers I could recommend. If you aren't overclocking, you can save $ on getting a non-K series i5 and skip the after-market cooler. I would personally get the K series CPU since overclocking is so simple. Later you could learn it

Memory:

Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 1.35V = $84

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 = $99 - $20 off with coupon EMCXVXW78, ends Feb 7th.

^ Again if you don't do Adobe Photoshop or know that you require more than 8GB of RAM, you can cut the price in half by going with 2x 4GB sticks and take that $40 savings towards an SSD. An SSD is really a much more important upgrade than 8GB --> 16GB of RAM. But 16GB fits into your budget still.

Only caveat is Intel's next generation Haswell CPUs will launch around June 2-5th. I am not recommending you to wait but just letting you know that the 3000 series Intel CPUs (Ivy Bridge) are based on the 2-year-old Sandy Bridge architecture with minor improvements. So if you spend $500-600 now, I am just letting you know that the "next thing" from Intel is coming in June 2013 so that you are aware of buying near the end of this CPU generation. I obviously don't think it's worth waiting for though since you'd be without a computer!
__________________
i5 2500k | Asus P8P67 Rev.3 | Sapphire Dual-X HD7970 1150/1800 1.174V CFX | G.Skill Sniper 8GB DDR3-1600 1.5V
SeaSonic Platinum 1000W | OCZ Vertex 3 120GB + HITACHI 7K1000.B 1TB | Windows 7
Westinghouse 37" 1080P | X-Fi Platinum | Logitech Z5300E 5.1

Last edited by RussianSensation; 02-06-2013 at 03:11 AM.
RussianSensation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:36 AM   #10
mkmitch
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 107
Default

I am running a 6870 2gb with MSI z68 GD55 board and i5 2500k cpu.
mkmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:02 AM   #11
Tweak155
Diamond Member
 
Tweak155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 9,165
Default

8gb of ram should be plenty

I have my 6870 shoved into a PC with an MSI mobo (forget model #), 1x4gb DDR3 1600, 240ssd and an E7300 (C2D FTW!). I previously had it in a setup with I7 920, 12gb mem (3x4 ddr3 1600), 256ssd and a Gigabyte mobo. Worked fine in both systems.

Your setup still seems decent, but yeah the 6870 would be a nice step up.

One thing hit me - are you using a 64bit OS? Having 4gb of ram and a 1gb video card could cause some headaches on a 32bit win xp setup if that's what you're using.
__________________
Organo Gold Coffee

Heatware 92-0-0
Tweak155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:06 AM   #12
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,622
Default

could your monitors back light be dead?
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:16 AM   #13
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,162
Default

It sounds like a simple misconfiguration which can be fixed by plugging into different output on the video card. Did you try both the DVI ports?

And if your motherboard has any video-out, go into BIOS and kill it (look for labels such as IGP, Quicksync, onboard video, etc.)
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:58 AM   #14
KingFatty
Platinum Member
 
KingFatty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2,683
Default

Hmm if you see an issue, and tried three different video cards and all three did not fix that issue, I would think the issue is not caused by the video card but instead by the motherboard?

Maybe the PCIe slot is messed up on your motherboard? Does it have a different slot you could try?
KingFatty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:04 PM   #15
djshortsleeve
Member
 
djshortsleeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 123
Default

SEE MY SIG

As far as your issue, upon updating my driver since 12.8 I believe, when the update completes my monitor is black, but my system appears to be running fine. I reboot and everything is normal. I am not sure why this occurs. Could be some sort of BIOS conflict.
__________________
Core i5 2500k, ASUS P8P67 Pro, 8GB Corsair Vengeance (2 x 4GB), Crucial C300 128 GB SATA III SSD, MSI TF GTX 780, Thermaltake Dokker
ASUS Nexus 7
HTPC - A8-5600K, ASRock Extreme4-M, Gskill Ripjaws X DDR3-2133 8GB, OCZ Solid 3 SSD, Win8, IN WIN case
djshortsleeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:17 PM   #16
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
could your monitors back light be dead?
No my old radon 4850 works well. I just can't put the 6870 in it.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:18 PM   #17
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lopri View Post
It sounds like a simple misconfiguration which can be fixed by plugging into different output on the video card. Did you try both the DVI ports?

And if your motherboard has any video-out, go into BIOS and kill it (look for labels such as IGP, Quicksync, onboard video, etc.)

Yessir i have done all of that.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:20 PM   #18
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingFatty View Post
Hmm if you see an issue, and tried three different video cards and all three did not fix that issue, I would think the issue is not caused by the video card but instead by the motherboard?

Maybe the PCIe slot is messed up on your motherboard? Does it have a different slot you could try?
I have tried both slots.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:33 PM   #19
Soundmanred
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Thrace, Türkiye
Posts: 10,696
Default

Stupid question - you are plugging in the power to the card correct?
__________________
Nothing like doing a little meth and defending the honor of lions on the internet. NOTHING.
Soundmanred is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:32 PM   #20
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soundmanred View Post
Stupid question - you are plugging in the power to the card correct?
Yes. It is running. The computer will boot to windows. I can type in my password and I can hear when it reaches the desktop, just can't see anything. When I shut down and reinstall my old card, all is well. Just weird.
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:10 AM   #21
Mongo6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

I have the XFX Radeon hd 6870. I'm running it with a Asus m5a97 r2.0 with an AMD FX-4300 vishera. With my build I can run BF3 on ultra with 70 fps constant and crysis 3 on medium perfectly fine.
Mongo6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 11:24 PM   #22
Lowell2013
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo6 View Post
I have the XFX Radeon hd 6870. I'm running it with a Asus m5a97 r2.0 with an AMD FX-4300 vishera. With my build I can run BF3 on ultra with 70 fps constant and crysis 3 on medium perfectly fine.
I like the sound of that. Thanks!
Lowell2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.