Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Security

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
suavedude
Junior Member
 
suavedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default Best firewall.

Hi,
I thought I might sample opinions about the most effective paid and free firewall softwares out there.
So what d'y'll think?
I currently use Zonealarm. It is quite effective, but I'm getting irritated with it's memory consumption.
suavedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:44 AM   #2
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,051
Default

I use Comodo firewall. Seems it has very low memory usage.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:06 AM   #3
blankslate
Diamond Member
 
blankslate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Never caught dead in the South
Posts: 5,177
Default

I use Comodo Firewall as well.

The installer also includes an AV engine that you can tell it not to include when it installs the firewall (at least when I downloaded it). Make sure that it only installs the firewall components if this is still the case.
__________________
"Using the bible to support your opinion is like using a Krispy Kreme menu to pass a Biology test. " ~ Random Youtube commentor

Dropkick Murphys - Workers Song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQfGTDyjVSE
blankslate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Cancer12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 510
Default

Do I need a separate firewall program besides windows firewall on a server?
Cancer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:38 PM   #5
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,363
Default

+1 For Comodo!
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:55 PM   #6
seepy83
Platinum Member
 
seepy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cancer12 View Post
Do I need a separate firewall program besides windows firewall on a server?
That's probably too vague of a question to answer. It really depends on what the server is doing, what kind of data resides on it, etc. The quick answer is that a server should basically always be behind a good hardware firewall, and whether or not you need to run a software firewall (or the Windows firewall) on the server depends on the architecture and security posture of the local network and other hosts on that network.
seepy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 12:10 AM   #7
Cancer12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 510
Default

Say Server Essentials 2012, single server, file server and domain controller.
Cancer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:14 AM   #8
seepy83
Platinum Member
 
seepy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cancer12 View Post
Say Server Essentials 2012, single server, file server and domain controller.
And what does the rest of the network look like? Is this home/personal use, or business? Do you have a firewall at the edge of the network?
seepy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:57 PM   #9
suavedude
Junior Member
 
suavedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

It seems Zonealarm is "Oldschool," and has passed it's "Sell by" date.
I'll give Comodo a try and report back.
suavedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:14 PM   #10
Cancer12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 510
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seepy83 View Post
And what does the rest of the network look like? Is this home/personal use, or business? Do you have a firewall at the edge of the network?
Business, router with firewall at gateway.
Cancer12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:13 AM   #11
George P Burdell
Lifer
 
George P Burdell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,171
Default

Avoid Comodo Firewall 6 for the time being, as this new version has a few bugs in it. Stick to the 5.x versions for now.
George P Burdell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 01:19 PM   #12
IlllI
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,838
Default

i will never touch a comodo product ever again after reading their untrustworthy practices

http://forums.comodo.com/general-dis...-t39564.0.html
IlllI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 10:50 PM   #13
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,561
Default

Are there any other free alternatives to Comodo that is comparable in quality? I used to use Outpost before switching over to Defender.
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:31 PM   #14
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,363
Default

http://www.privacyware.com/personal_firewall.html
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:21 PM   #15
dominikjames
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I uninstalled Zone Alarm years ago because of the constant pop-up nags.now i am using the Comodo Firewall .It is really good and safe .
  • Fast and hassle-free online experience
  • Blocks all Internet attacks
  • Monitors in/out connections
  • Manages traffic on your PC
  • Secures all connections when you are online.
  • Try this link to http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/
dominikjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:48 PM   #16
blankslate
Diamond Member
 
blankslate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Never caught dead in the South
Posts: 5,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by George P Burdell View Post
Avoid Comodo Firewall 6 for the time being, as this new version has a few bugs in it. Stick to the 5.x versions for now.
I experienced this when I finally did a factory restore to a laptop. v6 doesn't play nice with the AV I was using.

So I finally gave the Windows firewall another look. You can get windows 7 Firewall control if you like to be notified when a new program is asking for internet access.

I've the built in firewall against port scanners and it seems fine.

If you become familiar with wf.msc firewall configuration tool then it's pretty flexible as far as configuring firewall rules go.

http://www.t1shopper.com/tools/port-scan/
https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?rh1dkyd2

I've also tried checking it versus a couple of port scanners and it passed those tests.

So if you don't have enterprise needs and have a modern router that does it's own stateful packet inspection of incoming data between your computer and the modem, then the built in Firewall for windows is probably good enough, for the average use.

~edit~

I haven't yet tested the Windows Firewall on a public hotspot yet and I am wary of connecting to one regardless of the software firewall I am using.
__________________
"Using the bible to support your opinion is like using a Krispy Kreme menu to pass a Biology test. " ~ Random Youtube commentor

Dropkick Murphys - Workers Song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQfGTDyjVSE

Last edited by blankslate; 01-28-2013 at 02:51 PM.
blankslate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:02 PM   #17
R0H1T
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,021
Default

Outpost 8 is the best in biz as far as paid products are concerned, then for free stuff there aren't very many alternatives so Comodo 6 is your only choice AFAIK !
R0H1T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 07:14 AM   #18
djDoubleP
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Comodo FTW!
djDoubleP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 09:19 AM   #19
Macgruber
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 295
Default

comodo is really cool

but how the HECk do you get rid of its popup advertisements lol
Macgruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:11 PM   #20
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,363
Default

I have Comodo and don't see pop ups. Maybe that's the new version.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:10 PM   #21
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,051
Default

It's a small popup at the lower right screen just similar to the Avast ones that pop from time to time.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 02:38 AM   #22
Scooby Doo
Senior Member
 
Scooby Doo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 792
Default

What about the Windows Firewall Control? It manages the built-in windows firewall. Been using it for a couple or so years now.
__________________
Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
i5 3570K with DH14
G.Skill 2x8GB 1600
Corsair HX750
Cheappie Nvidia 610 :-(
Antec 902
Scooby Doo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 09:31 PM   #23
John Connor
Diamond Member
 
John Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Somewhere with an encrypted radio mocking the NSA
Posts: 7,363
Default

The problem with lame Windows firewall is that it won't block things like gratuitous ARP frames, won't protect the ARP cache, won't anylize the protocol's. Plus malware can get by it. Use Comodo.
John Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:41 PM   #24
redbleed
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scooby Doo View Post
What about the Windows Firewall Control? It manages the built-in windows firewall. Been using it for a couple or so years now.
same
redbleed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 05:02 PM   #25
camoxiong
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 58
Default

zonealarm, i have use it for several years now
camoxiong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.