Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2013, 01:57 PM   #1226
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,759
Default

Thanks for the notes, Destrekor! Big patch. Fortunately it includes the one thing I've really been waiting for:

*Added music to the credits screen Music should start up when the player opens the credits screen.

Woohoo!

Seriously, though, will be fun to get in and check all this out tonight... assuming we can. I had no problems dl'ing the patch, but I don't have time to play any until tonight.
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 02:47 PM   #1227
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markbnj View Post
Thanks for the notes, Destrekor! Big patch. Fortunately it includes the one thing I've really been waiting for:

*Added music to the credits screen Music should start up when the player opens the credits screen.

Woohoo!

Seriously, though, will be fun to get in and check all this out tonight... assuming we can. I had no problems dl'ing the patch, but I don't have time to play any until tonight.
servers are up, so far I'm digging the changes, I have to get used to the new warpgate location though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:04 PM   #1228
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

hmm, I wonder if I should be THAT guy and get the AF-4 smg for my infiltrator, slap on a suppressor and troll the hell out of the major bases
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:17 PM   #1229
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,033
Default

The patch notes said there's been some performance improvements and optimizations. Would anyone care to report if their game is running better after the patch?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4GHz | MSI TwinFrozr 7870 1050/1200
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:08 PM   #1230
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
The patch notes said there's been some performance improvements and optimizations. Would anyone care to report if their game is running better after the patch?
mine is actually running a little worse in some places I think, but I'll have to test it a bit more before I know for sure.

edit: the servers were pretty laggy though, that might be the reason for my loss of performance.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:09 PM   #1231
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broheim View Post
mine is actually running a little worse in some places I think, but I'll have to test it a bit more before I know for sure.
Were you cpu or gpu limited before?
__________________
...and the more we drink, the more we sing Calon Lan.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:17 PM   #1232
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshBloke View Post
Were you cpu or gpu limited before?
my HD7950 seemed to hit 100% at times but I was mostly CPU limited I guess.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:21 PM   #1233
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broheim View Post
my HD7950 seemed to hit 100% at times but I was mostly CPU limited I guess.
Ahhh. I was hoping that they might have put some cpu optimisation in but I guess not.
__________________
...and the more we drink, the more we sing Calon Lan.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:39 PM   #1234
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshBloke View Post
Ahhh. I was hoping that they might have put some cpu optimisation in but I guess not.
I can't say anything definitively, I'll have to do a bit of benchmarking, I'll probably wait until tomorrow to do that.

the game feels a bit different though, performance wise, hard to really describe it. What I understood prior to the patch was that they were focusing on optimizations for lower end rigs which I can understand since I never really saw my fps dip under 60 so it's not like the game is broken for me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:41 PM   #1235
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broheim View Post
I can't say anything definitively, I'll have to do a bit of benchmarking, I'll probably wait until tomorrow to do that.

the game feels a bit different though, performance wise, hard to really describe it. What I understood prior to the patch was that they were focusing on optimizations for lower end rigs which I can understand since I never really saw my fps dip under 60 so it's not like the game is broken for me.
I'm happy with your subjective opinion really. It's an impossible game to accurately benchmark so "game play feel" is going to be as accurate a metric as any other.
__________________
...and the more we drink, the more we sing Calon Lan.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:46 PM   #1236
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,759
Default

Played for about a half an hour or so before I got disconnected. Just impressions, but, I would say they lowered the recoil on the NC starter LMG, at least. It seems significantly easier to hold on target. Also, the new map appears to be basically a radar of where the enemy are at.
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #1237
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshBloke View Post
I'm happy with your subjective opinion really. It's an impossible game to accurately benchmark so "game play feel" is going to be as accurate a metric as any other.
yeah it is pretty hard to gauge performance because it's such an unpredictable game. I guess only time will tell if there's been any improvements.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markbnj View Post
Played for about a half an hour or so before I got disconnected. Just impressions, but, I would say they lowered the recoil on the NC starter LMG, at least. It seems significantly easier to hold on target. Also, the new map appears to be basically a radar of where the enemy are at.
the GD-22 felt different as well, I was guarding a flag when three vanuu came waltzing through the door guns blazing, I figured i was dead but nine rounds later I had taken them all out with headshots, there's nothing about it in the patch notes but it was just different somehow, maybe it was just the fact that they changed the sound (I think).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:50 PM   #1238
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,360
Default

I would say performance is somewhat worse. I have in the past been down in the mid 30's but today I was down in the 20's with the same settings. When you get CPU limited (the main problem) then it just bogs down and no amount of lower settings will make it playable.
__________________
i7 3930k @4.4, 2xMSI GTX 680, 16GB Corsair 2133 RAM, Crucial m4 500GB, Soundblaster Z
Custom watercooled by 2x MCR 320 and 1 MCR 480
Zowie Evo CL EC2, Corsair K70, Benq XL2411T
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:01 PM   #1239
maniacalpha1-1
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,081
Default

Are any of you folks doing triple screen on Planetside 2? If so, how is it working? Both from a framerates standpoint as well as does the widescreen view look good, show more to the sides, etc.
__________________
Join the Planetside 2 Reddit at http://www.reddit.com/r/Planetside/
and PSU IRC Chat at http://www.planetside-universe.com/girchat.php
maniacalpha1-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:05 PM   #1240
WelshBloke
Lifer
 
WelshBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 15,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrightCandle View Post
I would say performance is somewhat worse. I have in the past been down in the mid 30's but today I was down in the 20's with the same settings. When you get CPU limited (the main problem) then it just bogs down and no amount of lower settings will make it playable.
I'm hoping frame rates are down just because of an increased population logging in to check out the changes.

Won't get to check it out for myself till tomorrow.
__________________
...and the more we drink, the more we sing Calon Lan.
WelshBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:25 PM   #1241
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniacalpha1-1 View Post
Are any of you folks doing triple screen on Planetside 2? If so, how is it working? Both from a framerates standpoint as well as does the widescreen view look good, show more to the sides, etc.
When a single monitor is down to 20s on medium I don't even try surround. Its the sort of game that would benefit greatly from the extra view but it just doesn't run well enough for surround to be viable.
__________________
i7 3930k @4.4, 2xMSI GTX 680, 16GB Corsair 2133 RAM, Crucial m4 500GB, Soundblaster Z
Custom watercooled by 2x MCR 320 and 1 MCR 480
Zowie Evo CL EC2, Corsair K70, Benq XL2411T
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:31 PM   #1242
maniacalpha1-1
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrightCandle View Post
When a single monitor is down to 20s on medium I don't even try surround. Its the sort of game that would benefit greatly from the extra view but it just doesn't run well enough for surround to be viable.
I'm guessing you are currently at 2560 X 1600/1440/etc? Right now I'm only at 1080p, and, it's hit or miss, but it seems that I generally get 50-70 FPS while others with similar systems are hurting bad. I'm using a 560ti and a i5 3570. Granted, performance today is poopy due to the patch.
__________________
Join the Planetside 2 Reddit at http://www.reddit.com/r/Planetside/
and PSU IRC Chat at http://www.planetside-universe.com/girchat.php
maniacalpha1-1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:59 PM   #1243
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,333
Default

Performance is worse, they broadcasted a message during gameplay saying they are looking into it.
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:08 PM   #1244
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaheadcase View Post
Performance is worse, they broadcasted a message during gameplay saying they are looking into it.
They're bringing the servers down for an update. I didn't think performance was terrible so far tonight, but it definitely wasn't any better, and by the time they announced the restart it was beginning to feel a little stuttery. I got disconnected twice tonight, and locked once, fwiw.
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:53 PM   #1245
destrekor
Lifer
 
destrekor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: It's turtles all the way down!
Posts: 23,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Markbnj View Post
They're bringing the servers down for an update. I didn't think performance was terrible so far tonight, but it definitely wasn't any better, and by the time they announced the restart it was beginning to feel a little stuttery. I got disconnected twice tonight, and locked once, fwiw.
Server performance seemed worse tonight, but my game seemed to be performing better.

But that is difficult to really determine - I had some FPS drops that were terrible, but they seemed random and, in voice, other people were complaining about it at roughly the same time, so it is likely server-end.

Since all servers are down for, most likely, at least another hour, I likely won't get to test until Monday. But, one thing I'll try is deleting the current useroptions.cfg file, letting the game make a new one, see how different it looks (I've heard this could be a cause for performance issues for some).
I've always had a strange issue that requires my game/launcher to Run as Admin to even utilize the config file so my personal methods won't necessarily work for everyone, at least not step-by-step approaches.
But try deleting that file (just rename to .bak instead of .cfg in case things get screwy) - I've heard the new file will have tweaked default settings and perhaps new line items in the config file. This may only affect someone who has previously edited the config file itself. I've done it extensively, though I don't suspect I've had such issues. Could be wrong.

I hadn't run non-limited FPS in so long, I can't really get a good feel until the servers are consistent and I see how much or how little my FPS drops during major battles.

I'm running mostly Ultra settings in the config file, and more often than not I see the FPS bouncing around the limiter (limit = 59 fps). Before the patch, I often had dips down to low 40s, mid 30s, during large battles.

It's odd, but it seems when the server cooperates, the game feels a tad bit smoother. Still seeing weird lag-based issues, like characters frozen stiff but gliding around/floating, or what have you, but overall the game seemed to feel more fluid.

I didn't get to check out much of the actual changes, I was focused mostly on following the outfit and watching the system performance differences - the server cut out on me (hot fix) before I could focus on anything else for a few moments. Definitely ran into a few of the small base redesigns, and the differences leave me feeling like I just ran into a completely alien setting. It's weird how, once you've adjusted to the cookie cutter designs found everywhere, some decent changes to that cookie cutter's shape just changes everything.
Yet at the same rate, it didn't seem to actually change it significantly. Again, I never even saw anything other than small outposts - none of the towers or tech labs, for instance. It'll be a little before I can get a taste/feel for those changes.
__________________
"Spaceman + Goosemaster + Nemesis 1 =
Well if chicken curtain up with how glue general of should the sternum." - Jeff7
BUY MY STUFF! [Wacom Create, Bionic, G13, Nook Color] MY STUFF, YOU WANT TO BUY IT!
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety,
deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
destrekor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:20 AM   #1246
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

picked up the AF-4 SMG... holy crap that thing is good, it'll probably be nerfed soon but until then, NC doesn't have the suckiest guns
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:28 AM   #1247
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,033
Default

So the general consensus is, the game's performance has actually gotten worse? Interesting. I haven't played today after installing the patch, so I can't comment for myself. But that's unfortunate to hear.

Granted, the performance I've been getting isn't too terrible... I haven't measured the framerate, but if I had to guess, I probably get in the 40's most of the time, but in intense fights it dips into the 20's (even down to the teens, if there's enough chaos going on). Still playable, but it feels like it should be way better.

The game is poorly CPU-optimized and the devs have acknolwedged that. Just wish they'd do something about it already.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.4GHz | MSI TwinFrozr 7870 1050/1200
MSI 990FXA-GD80 V2 | G.SKILL 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:36 AM   #1248
Broheim
Diamond Member
 
Broheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: with my auntie and uncle in Bel Air
Posts: 4,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
So the general consensus is, the game's performance has actually gotten worse? Interesting. I haven't played today after installing the patch, so I can't comment for myself. But that's unfortunate to hear.

Granted, the performance I've been getting isn't too terrible... I haven't measured the framerate, but if I had to guess, I probably get in the 40's most of the time, but in intense fights it dips into the 20's (even down to the teens, if there's enough chaos going on). Still playable, but it feels like it should be way better.

The game is poorly CPU-optimized and the devs have acknolwedged that. Just wish they'd do something about it already.
there was a smaller update today and it seems the servers have been sorted out, the game felt rather snappy to me so it seems like they fixed it, I didn't feel any fps dips at all not even with over a hundred players from all factions fighting over the Crossroads watchtower...

edit: the fps is completely out of whack as a lib gunner, there's a lot of stuttering. The rendering itself also stutters sometimes when using jetpacks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by free ipod View Post
It's Diffiult Process but you handle easily. I am Appriciate with your Perforamances...

Last edited by Broheim; 02-03-2013 at 07:50 AM.
Broheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:23 AM   #1249
imaheadcase
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,333
Default

Yah its back to "normal" for me. I get some stutter like you though in certain situations. Flying in reaver when i shot a mass of dumbfire rockets it stuttered for a second.
imaheadcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:11 PM   #1250
Markbnj
Moderator
Programming
 
Markbnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 11,759
Default

I think it's still a mess. The game was very stuttery this afternoon, and I ran into a number of other oddities like AA guns that fired but emitted no projectiles and did no damage. I can also confirm that spawn-camping with Liberators still works great .
__________________
Everytime I try to tell you, the words just come out wrong

**
Some meaningless scribbling of no account

The 4th Realm

Arts and Letters Daily - Get some culture
Markbnj is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
free to play, planetside 2

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.