Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > *nix Software

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2013, 07:38 PM   #1
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default so what did ubuntu load

got a friend's laptop with a borked install of vista. I installed Ubuntu 12.10 and intially it saw wireless networks, then it wanted to install a boatload of updates and poof wireless goes away. BTW its a HP Pavillion dv4 with a broadcom wireless nic.

at first we thought it was the hard drive was bad in the computer but after i got it I figure it was not the hard drive, just a bad install of vista. Load ubuntu to see how it would run and to check the hard drive. She doesn't have the install disks. They mainly use the computer for Internet stuff. If it keeps running well she may get the recovery disks from hp, or if we can get wireless working stick with Ubuntu
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
lxskllr
Lifer
 
lxskllr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 37,980
Default

Is networking enabled?

lxskllr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:57 PM   #3
postmortemIA
Diamond Member
 
postmortemIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 6,456
Default

broadcom chipsets used to need firmware extraction "b43-fwcutter" in order to get them to work. not sure if it still holds true
__________________
D1. Win7 x64 i7-3770 on Z77, HD7850, 2707WFP, 840, X-Fi D2. Win7 x64 E8400 on P35
L1. OSX 10.9 rMBP 13 L2. Vista x86 E1505
M. Galaxy S4

postmortemIA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:50 AM   #4
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

networking is enablded, but shows no wireless networking
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:25 AM   #5
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,213
Default

This may help: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Wi...Driver/bcm43xx
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:48 AM   #6
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

Thanks Biodoc, will look more into that tonight.
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:49 AM   #7
jae
Senior Member
 
jae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Chicago Heights
Posts: 963
Default

If you haven't gotten it working and your friend isn't stuck on using Unity desktop, I believe Linux Mint (an derivative of Ubuntu) comes with broadcomm drivers out of the box.
__________________
Lenovo Thinkpad Edge 14 | AMD Turion II @ 2.3GHz | 4GB Ram | 320GB HDD | LINUX [DEAD]
eMachine | AMD Athlon II @ 2.8GHz | 2GB Ram | 500GB HDD | Win7
AMD Athlon64 @ 1.8GHz |Gigabyte GA-K8NF9 Ultra | 1GB Ram | 750GB HDD | FreeNAS [STILL KICKING!!!]
jae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:18 PM   #8
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

What I will do if I don't get it running tonight, I will give it to her and let her run it with a network cable and see how it works for her. and her kids. If they like it then we will do some more exploring, if not then we will look at other options.
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:17 PM   #9
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

Thanks for the help, got it working. Followed the link Biodoc left
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:55 AM   #10
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

Well sort of. If I manual uninstall all the drivers and then install all the right driver it works, but on reboot it resets it. I tried to blacklist the bad driver but it didn't work. I gave the computer back they are going to try it out. If it works for them then I will try and make a permenant fix.
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:32 AM   #11
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,380
Default

If they like it and want to keep using the laptop try this. It worked for me when Ubuntu was giving me crap about my broadcom wifi adapter.
You will need a wired connection for this.

1. Open a terminal (ctrl+alt+t or hit the 'super-key' (the one with the windows logo on it) and type 'terminal' and press enter).
2. Enter
sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer

3. Enter your password (note your keystrokes won't register) and hit enter

Now b43 should install, your wireless should work and you should be able to boot without any problems.
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:01 PM   #12
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

I did do that then I had to

sudo modprobe -r b43 bcma
sudo modprobe -r brcmsmac bcma
sudo modprobe -r wl

Then

sudo modprobe b43

And it worked until I rebooted

I did this but it didn't do anything

echo "blacklist drivername" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-broadcom-wireless.conf
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:13 PM   #13
bbhaag
Golden Member
 
bbhaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,380
Default

Instead of trying the b43 over and over have you tried to manually install the Broadcom STA package?
Also when you type inxi -F into the terminal what does it list under network?
bbhaag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:23 PM   #14
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

No I have not, that would be something to try. I do not have the computer right now to try and type inxi -f . If I get it back i will try
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #15
biodoc
Diamond Member
 
biodoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,213
Default

You could add b43 to a line in the /etc/modules file. It should then be loaded at boot time.
__________________
Crunch for TeAm Anandtech!!

Q9550, GTX460, Linux
1090T, GTX570, Linux
2600K, GTX660Ti, Linux
3930K, GTX780Ti, Linux, Win8 dual boot
biodoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:06 PM   #16
todpod
Golden Member
 
todpod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,219
Default

I will try that, thanks for the help
todpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.