Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2013, 01:07 PM   #1
whatever61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default DVI to HDMI will allow me higher resolution?

Bought Dell UltraSharp U2713HM, trying to connect to my laptop and use it with the max. resolution, which is 2560 x 1440.
Problem is that I don't have DVI nor DisplayPort in my laptop.
HDMI supports max. 1920x1080 and with the regular VGA I managed to achieve 2048 x something (don't remember already =) ).

My question is simple, if I will buy HDMI => DVI or DVI => HDMI adapter will I be able to get the 2560 x 1440 resolution?
I mean I will connect the HDMI part to my laptop and the DVI to the monitor (or should I do the other way around?)

My video card supports the resolution.
My laptop has GeForce 620M with HD4000.

If yes, then any adapter will do?

P.S. - I tried to add custom resolutions, but it didn't work.

Thanks!
whatever61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:30 PM   #2
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,207
Default

No.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:32 PM   #3
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever61 View Post
Bought Dell UltraSharp U2713HM, trying to connect to my laptop and use it with the max. resolution, which is 2560 x 1440.
Problem is that I don't have DVI nor DisplayPort in my laptop.
HDMI supports max. 1920x1080 and with the regular VGA I managed to achieve 2048 x something (don't remember already =) ).

My question is simple, if I will buy HDMI => DVI or DVI => HDMI adapter will I be able to get the 2560 x 1440 resolution?
I mean I will connect the HDMI part to my laptop and the DVI to the monitor (or should I do the other way around?)

My video card supports the resolution.
My laptop has GeForce 620M with HD4000.

If yes, then any adapter will do?

P.S. - I tried to add custom resolutions, but it didn't work.

Thanks!
The above No answer is correct. To expand:

HDMI won't work for higher than 1080p even with adapter. The issue is 99% of all HDMI connectors aren't 1.4, *no* TVs are HDMI 1.4, and there aren't any monitors on the market with 1.4 HDMI, it's pretty ridiculous. Basically HDMI = 1080p period end of story, nothing you can do. You need to use displayport, but I suspect your model doesn't have a DP.

There are some ultrabooks that *only* have HDMI out and I've talked to a few friends in this same situation - they cannot get higher than 1080p no matter what. This is pretty much inexcusable because it allows only the macbooks and very few ultrabooks capable of higher than 1080p. (because they have displayport/thunderbolt out)

Luckily, most 2013 model ultrabooks will have displayport instead of the crap HDMI - If you're still able to return your ultrabook, look for one with displayport. Macbooks also work if you're into that stuff.

Last edited by blackened23; 02-01-2013 at 01:36 PM.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:50 PM   #4
whatever61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackened23 View Post
The above No answer is correct. To expand:

HDMI won't work for higher than 1080p even with adapter. The issue is 99% of all HDMI connectors aren't 1.4, *no* TVs are HDMI 1.4, and there aren't any monitors on the market with 1.4 HDMI, it's pretty ridiculous. Basically HDMI = 1080p period end of story, nothing you can do. You need to use displayport, but I suspect your model doesn't have a DP.

There are some ultrabooks that *only* have HDMI out and I've talked to a few friends in this same situation - they cannot get higher than 1080p no matter what. This is pretty much inexcusable because it allows only the macbooks and very few ultrabooks capable of higher than 1080p. (because they have displayport/thunderbolt out)

Luckily, most 2013 model ultrabooks will have displayport instead of the crap HDMI - If you're still able to return your ultrabook, look for one with displayport. Macbooks also work if you're into that stuff.

Thanks for the response.

I bought a new monitor, not a new laptop (especially no one was talking about ultrabooks) =)

When I will get a new laptop, I will make sure it has DVI or DisplayPort.

What about the regular VGA port? I managed to get to a higher resolution there. Maybe something possible to do about this?
whatever61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:58 PM   #5
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever61 View Post
Thanks for the response.

I bought a new monitor, not a new laptop (especially no one was talking about ultrabooks) =)

When I will get a new laptop, I will make sure it has DVI or DisplayPort.

What about the regular VGA port? I managed to get to a higher resolution there. Maybe something possible to do about this?
Modern day laptop/ultrabooks aren't likely to have DVI any longer (due to port size -- too large for ultrabook specifications); maybe full size laptops.

From what I remember, VGA is limited to 2048*1536.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:08 PM   #6
Cadarin
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nome, AK
Posts: 29
Default

You might be able to get it to display the higher resolution with a lower refresh rate. Try setting a custom resolution again with 35hz to see if it works, then if it does you can try raising it to 40 and maybe 50hz. Not a perfect solution, but some people on this thread thought it was worth it: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1479962
Cadarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:11 PM   #7
whatever61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cadarin View Post
You might be able to get it to display the higher resolution with a lower refresh rate. Try setting a custom resolution again with 35hz to see if it works, then if it does you can try raising it to 40 and maybe 50hz. Not a perfect solution, but some people on this thread thought it was worth it: http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1479962
I've read about it..

However, when I try setting it to 35hz, it tells me that's not a valid resolution.
If I do same resolution but with 59hz it will accept it (but just won't work later on).

I'm doing it in the Intel Graphic cards options.
whatever61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dvi, hdmi

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.