Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
hoorah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 552
Default Is a SB Audigy 2 an upgrade?

Hey all,

Recently had a decent find at a recycling center that I use to drop off old eletronics (wife gets mad when I come back with more than I dropped off).

It was a dell dimension 8400 that sacrified itself to be a nice RAM upgrade for my mother's PC and donated its copper heatpipe cooler for a project passively cooled video card. It also happened to have a SB Audigy 2 audio card.

I don't know much about modern audio cards, I've always just used onboard sound. Would this be an upgrade for my HTPC? Any higher audio quality? If I remember correctly there was some issue where, around the transition from XP to Vista, the SB Live 5.1 (that I have several of sitting in a closet) would not work at all with Windows 7, the drivers were incompatible. Not sure if thats the case with the audigy 2.

Is it worth messing around with? Right now I have HTPC audio going over HDMI to the TV, but for music/movie nights, I switch it to the analog signal which goes into my ancient 5.1 reciever.
__________________
Main: CyberpowerPC i7-3770K / 16GB / ATI7850 / Win 8.1
HTPC x 5: Dual Core / 4GB / HDHRprimeCC + OTA / WMC + Mediabrowser
Server: i5-2300 / 8GB / WS2012 R2 Essentials
NAS: Dlink DNS 323 NAS - 2x1TB
Portable: HP dv2700 / Win7
hoorah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:51 PM   #2
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,376
Default

I haven't used an Audigy SC in years, but from what I remember, Creative's drivers were complete garbage. Only way to find out if it's an improvement for your setup is to plug it in and give it a whirl. I've got a spare Audigy Platinum that's been sitting in a box for at least 3 years now.
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:01 PM   #3
crashtestdummy
Platinum Member
 
crashtestdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoorah View Post
Hey all,

Recently had a decent find at a recycling center that I use to drop off old eletronics (wife gets mad when I come back with more than I dropped off).

It was a dell dimension 8400 that sacrified itself to be a nice RAM upgrade for my mother's PC and donated its copper heatpipe cooler for a project passively cooled video card. It also happened to have a SB Audigy 2 audio card.

I don't know much about modern audio cards, I've always just used onboard sound. Would this be an upgrade for my HTPC? Any higher audio quality? If I remember correctly there was some issue where, around the transition from XP to Vista, the SB Live 5.1 (that I have several of sitting in a closet) would not work at all with Windows 7, the drivers were incompatible. Not sure if thats the case with the audigy 2.

Is it worth messing around with? Right now I have HTPC audio going over HDMI to the TV, but for music/movie nights, I switch it to the analog signal which goes into my ancient 5.1 reciever.
How old is the computer you're using? Most likely, it's not going to make much of a difference. The DAC (digital-to-analog converter) might be better when you're going out to the receiver, but that's really about it. As above, you can just plug it in and give it a shot.
crashtestdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 10:18 AM   #4
hoorah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 552
Default

Well, the computer its going into is an AM2/AM3 (can't remember) Athlon XII 250 (in my sig). However, in thinking about it, I realized that I moved that system over to a nice new Silverstream low-profile case. Thus - I couldn't even put the card in if I wanted to. I win the DURRR award.

I guess the only other thing to do with it would be to plug it into my desktop. I use analog audio on the desktop to send sound/record from a headset. Not sure if it would be noticeable there. I don't game all that much anymore so the project will probably be moved from the back burner to the never pile.

Thanks for the help guys! If I do put the card in, I will report back how it works.
__________________
Main: CyberpowerPC i7-3770K / 16GB / ATI7850 / Win 8.1
HTPC x 5: Dual Core / 4GB / HDHRprimeCC + OTA / WMC + Mediabrowser
Server: i5-2300 / 8GB / WS2012 R2 Essentials
NAS: Dlink DNS 323 NAS - 2x1TB
Portable: HP dv2700 / Win7
hoorah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:57 PM   #5
Zaap
Diamond Member
 
Zaap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoorah View Post
However, in thinking about it, I realized that I moved that system over to a nice new Silverstream low-profile case. Thus - I couldn't even put the card in if I wanted to. I win the DURRR award.
I had that issue once when a client had me build a system to a half-height spec, but then needed a full sized PCI card. Just an FYI, I used one of these to adapt a PCI slot so that the card I needed could still be used:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-32-Bits-...item35bf0f27ea


Granted, it took some serious fiddling to 'mount' the card so it was usable, but it did solve the problem.
__________________
Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 2600K | 16GB 1600 | HD6870 1GB | OSX 10.9.2 + Win 7 x64
Zaap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.