Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 11:17 PM   #1
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Unhappy Display getting corrupted on high load

Hi,

I recently upgraded my pc with new PSU (Corsair GS 600), CPU (I5 3570), motherboard (Gigabyte B75),ram (8gb ddr3) and SSD. I used my existing gpu which is GeForce 9800 and old hdds. My system runs just fine for hours when I am doing any normal computing. However when I am doing any cpu/gpu intensive thing like gaming, after few minutes my screens gets corrupted. I.e sometime the screen gets very grainy, at other times it gets corrupted completely with random static image on screen.
This is the screenshot of one such instance.

In the first case I can restart my system gracefully from start menu, in the second case I cannot even use ctr-alt-del. There is no other way but to reboot it via reset button.

Since there are a lot of changes that I have made to my system configuration I am unable to judge what could be the problem point. However I believe that its not a GPU issue, as it was running just fine on my previous hardware. How to converge to the faulty hardware ? Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
Varun
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:26 PM   #2
blackened23
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,556
Default

Did you check GPU temps and fan settings (using MSI afterburner or something similar)

Seems like artifacts related to high temps. You may need to remove the shroud and try to get all of the dust out.
blackened23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:52 PM   #3
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I used CPUID [http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html] to moniter temperature for my cpu and gpu. Both stay under 60 deg c on load.

You mentioned this might be due to high temperature. Were you talking about cpu temperature or gpu temperature ?

Also since most of the components are new, there is no dust currently. What exactly is the shroud ?
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:03 AM   #4
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,294
Default

Check your Vram temps.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:59 AM   #5
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaydip View Post
Check your Vram temps.
How do you check vram temp ? Can it be done via some software ?

And if it is running hot, how to cool it ?
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:09 AM   #6
Jaydip
Diamond Member
 
Jaydip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,294
Default

Download HWiNFO from http://www.hwinfo.com/

First if you have oced your gpu memory tone it down a bit.
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit || i7 4770K @ 4.2 with CM V6-GT || MSI Z87 GD 65||MSI Gaming N780 TF 3GD5/OC GeForce GTX 780|| Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1600 || WD Cavier Black 1TB FAEX X2|| HAF-X || Corsair TX750 V2 ||AL MX 5021E || DELL U2713HM||SideWinder X4||Razer DA
Jaydip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 05:33 AM   #7
biostud
Lifer
 
biostud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 13,276
Default

looks like memory corruption
__________________
i7-5820K@4.4Ghz + H100i| 16GB DDR4-2133Mhz | Asrock X99X Killer | Samsung EVO 750GB | 3TB HDD | Corsair AX860 | XFX 7990 | Corsair 550D | Achieva Shimian 2560x1440
Lappy: HP ProBook 6360B | i5-2410M | 256GB Crucial M4 | 4GB |
Sound: Cambridge Audio DacMagic | NAD-T750 | Dali Mentor Menuet | B&W ASW608
Camera: Nikon D5100 | Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 + Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 + 85mm f/1.8G | Nissin Di600 | Phone: Lumia 920
biostud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:24 AM   #8
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

So i installed the above software and monitored my gpu temps at load. Although the temps never exceeded 62-63 deg C ,one anomaly that i noticed was that my gpu fan was never going beyond 35% of its speed. So I have updated my drivers and also installed fan controlling utility, hopefully it should not occur again. Would regress more and update in some time.
Thanks for the advice.
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:05 AM   #9
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Hi,

Sorry for the long delay but was unable to spend time on my system. So after the above steps the problem did not go away. I then removed the GPU from my system and played the heavy games for hours without running into any trouble, which confirms that its my GPU that is at fault.
However the problem is occurring at pretty low temperatures. Every time my gpu touches 52-55 deg C the problem occurs. Previously it easily used to go till 80-85 deg C without any problems. fyi I have never OCed my Gpu.
Is there anything that I can do to fix it ?
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:35 AM   #10
Tommy1983
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 21
Default

Most likely its damaged hardware and then there isnt much you can do. Have you tried gaming with the fan set to max? If the problem still occurs you could try and lower the memory speed of your gpu. Either way its a sinking ship that needs to be replaced
Tommy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:40 AM   #11
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

"Have you tried gaming with the fan set to max? "

Yes I do that often, but that just delays it for a while.. Will try and lower my gpu mem speed as well and see if it helps. If it doesnt, than will buy a new one
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:20 AM   #12
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Thumbs up Problem solved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy1983 View Post
Most likely its damaged hardware and then there isnt much you can do. Have you tried gaming with the fan set to max? If the problem still occurs you could try and lower the memory speed of your gpu. Either way its a sinking ship that needs to be replaced
Wow.. that solved it. I lowered the memory speed of my gpu from 1000 mhz to 960 mhz and regressed quite a lot. Earlier games that were crashing on medium graphics settings are now playing for hours at high settings.

Thanks Tommy1983 for the invaluable suggestion.. I guess my GPU upgrade can wait for some more time
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:26 AM   #13
CA19100
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biostud View Post
looks like memory corruption
That's pretty much exactly what mine looked like when a RAM module failed on me. I thought it was the video card, but no -- just the memory. MemTest86+ discovered it very quickly, and replacing the failed RAM fixed the video issue. Definitely give it a shot:

http://www.memtest.org/
CA19100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:26 AM   #14
varun7pathak
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CA19100 View Post
That's pretty much exactly what mine looked like when a RAM module failed on me. I thought it was the video card, but no -- just the memory. MemTest86+ discovered it very quickly, and replacing the failed RAM fixed the video issue. Definitely give it a shot:
Thanks for pointing that out. I will definitely try it.

Last edited by varun7pathak; 02-28-2013 at 02:35 AM.
varun7pathak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.