Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 12:23 PM   #26
Ventanni
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 825
Default

I recently upgraded from a Core2 Duo E6750 @ 3.2ghz to my 3770k that I had been running since 2007, and although the 3770k was a huge upgrade, I was never unable to run any game on the Core 2. In fact, I felt like it was more of a vanity thing than anything.

WoW ran a lot faster on the 3770k though, that's for sure.

For combined CPU/GPU power, Deus Ex 3 was the *only* game than ran faster and more smoothly on my laptop than it did the Core 2 @ 3.2ghz.
__________________
Desktop: Core i7 3770k, 8GB, Geforce 560 Ti
HTPC: Core2 Q6600, 4GB, Geforce 285
Ventanni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:18 PM   #27
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Just an update. I just bought a Core 2 Duo E6550 to replace the Pentium D 915. Do you think it could handle a GTX 460
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:28 PM   #28
lyssword
Diamond Member
 
lyssword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,458
Default

Yes, you'll see big jump from 440 to 460 with resolution/eye candy. And going from 915 to e6550 you will notice quite a big difference, at least double the fps.
__________________
heat
cs:s id = -warrior
lyssword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:29 PM   #29
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lyssword View Post
Yes, you'll see big jump from 440 to 460 with resolution/eye candy. And going from 915 to e6550 you will notice quite a big difference, at least double the fps.
ok thx
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:39 AM   #30
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,311
Default

You have had quite an adventure with that HTPC rig. From the Celeron D to the E6550. I wouldn't be surprised if you get a Core 2 Quad sometime in the future.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:53 AM   #31
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
You have had quite an adventure with that HTPC rig. From the Celeron D to the E6550. I wouldn't be surprised if you get a Core 2 Quad sometime in the future.
It was actually like this

Celeron D 331 --> Pentium D 915 --> Core 2 Duo E6550

&

8400 GS --> HD 5450 --> GT 440


I actually thought about that but not right now gpu will come first
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:58 AM   #32
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,225
Default

The highest core 2 duo is about like a pentium g620 (dual core SB Pentium at 2.6Ghz).

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/54?vs=406
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:16 PM   #33
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferzerp View Post
The highest core 2 duo is about like a pentium g620 (dual core SB Pentium at 2.6Ghz).

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/54?vs=406
nice
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:02 PM   #34
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferzerp View Post
The highest core 2 duo is about like a pentium g620 (dual core SB Pentium at 2.6Ghz).

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/54?vs=406
it's actually a little bit faster,
and the e8xxx can be overclocked (the e8600 runs at 3.3ghz, but you can run any good e8xxx at 4GHz I think, with great cooling and MB)
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:35 PM   #35
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
It was actually like this
Celeron D 331 --> Pentium D 915 --> Core 2 Duo E6550
&
8400 GS --> HD 5450 --> GT 440

I actually thought about that but not right now gpu will come first
I remember your Pentium D upgrade. I posted in the thread where you said you bought one.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
it's actually a little bit faster,
and the e8xxx can be overclocked (the e8600 runs at 3.3ghz, but you can run any good e8xxx at 4GHz I think, with great cooling and MB)
Increasing the clockspeed by .166666 seems to increase the Sysmark overall score by 9 with the E8xxx chips. So, with an E8400 clocked a 4 GHz, the Sysmark score could be around 255. That particular benchmark score would be better than an i5-2400.

The E6550 is more like the Pentium G620T

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/61?vs=407
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 01:42 PM   #36
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
I remember your Pentium D upgrade. I posted in the thread where you said you bought one.

Increasing the clockspeed by .166666 seems to increase the Sysmark overall score by 9 with the E8xxx chips. So, with an E8400 clocked a 4 GHz, the Sysmark score could be around 255. That particular benchmark score would be better than an i5-2400.

The E6550 is more like the Pentium G620T

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/61?vs=407
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:08 PM   #37
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
it's actually a little bit faster,
and the e8xxx can be overclocked (the e8600 runs at 3.3ghz, but you can run any good e8xxx at 4GHz I think, with great cooling and MB)
A bit, but that was the closest current proc I could find given AT Bench, and 5 spare minutes.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:27 PM   #38
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

so could it run BF3 multiplayer 32 or less
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 05:43 PM   #39
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
so could it run BF3 multiplayer 32 or less

No clue. I refuse to support Origin at all, and that's the only way to get that game.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:10 PM   #40
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ferzerp View Post
No clue. I refuse to support Origin at all, and that's the only way to get that game.
what do you have against Origin ?
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:13 PM   #41
purplehippo
Elite Member
 
purplehippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Bartlesville, OK
Posts: 45,308
Default

__________________
HEAT
Don't Bump
When you are right no one remembers, when you are wrong no one forgets.
purplehippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:54 PM   #42
Ferzerp
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: B̿̄ͬͮͦ͐̐̂̌̂͛̓̃̔̈́̓
Posts: 5,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
what do you have against Origin ?

I don't trust EA to not make things unavailable down the road, and they also severely restricted their Steam releases (like BF3) once they started that. I trust Steam.

(I also pass on everything that has SolidShield aka tages, SecuRom, etc, no matter how badly I want to play it. If the publisher removes it, I then give them my money, but never before).

Last edited by Ferzerp; 01-31-2013 at 06:57 PM.
Ferzerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:25 PM   #43
crashtech
Platinum Member
 
crashtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 2,775
Default

I upgraded my old HTPC with a Xeon E3120, it worked fine and I believe it is just about the fastest dual core LGA 775 CPU available. Although Anand does not seem to have Xeons in the database, the E3120 comes in about 13% faster than the E8600 in the Passmark CPU test, and about 17% faster than the G620.
crashtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:24 PM   #44
FalseChristian
Diamond Member
 
FalseChristian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oshawa, ON, CA
Posts: 3,305
Default

What about an i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz?
__________________
Core i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz (45x100) 1.350v-Asus P8Z68-V/Gen3 (BIOS 3402)-16GB Kingston VR DDR3-1333Mhz @ 1600MHz 1.65v-2 EVGA GTX 760 2GB (1212/7600) ACX-750w Cooler Master GXII-RealTek on-board sound-Intel Onboard 1Gb Ethernet-Rogers Cable Internet 6.6MB/second-2TB Seagate 7200 SATA 6 HD-3TB SeaGate USB 3.0 EHD-22" Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW 1680x1050 67Htz-Windows 7 HP 64-bit SP1
FalseChristian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 09:50 PM   #45
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FalseChristian View Post
What about an i5 2500K @ 4.5GHz?
what about it
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:37 PM   #46
dragantoe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 604
Default

you put this thread in the wrong spot, this isn't 2009

You're not a mod. I however am.
-ViRGE
__________________
Rig; Xeon L5639 @ 4ghz
x58 Sabertooth
8gb 2000 mhz RAM
force gt ssd
GTX 660 ti sli (1 asus dcu2, 1 evga sc)
modded HAF XB

Last edited by ViRGE; 02-06-2013 at 01:57 PM.
dragantoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:38 PM   #47
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,416
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashtech View Post
I upgraded my old HTPC with a Xeon E3120, it worked fine and I believe it is just about the fastest dual core LGA 775 CPU available. Although Anand does not seem to have Xeons in the database, the E3120 comes in about 13% faster than the E8600 in the Passmark CPU test, and about 17% faster than the G620.
something is wrong

E3120 = 3.16GHz
e8600 = 3.33GHz

the rest is the same,
E3120 = e8500.
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 10:55 PM   #48
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragantoe View Post
you put this thread in the wrong spot, this isn't 2009
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:17 PM   #49
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragantoe View Post
you put this thread in the wrong spot, this isn't 2009
Do you have a link to the 2009 sub-forum?
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:25 AM   #50
crashtech
Platinum Member
 
crashtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 2,775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPBHM View Post
something is wrong

E3120 = 3.16GHz
e8600 = 3.33GHz

the rest is the same,
E3120 = e8500.
Maybe you are right. There was only one sample of the E3120 score, though other Xeons seem to outscore their supposedly equivalent, standard counterparts fairly consistently. I figured there might be some cherry picking going on, but who knows.
crashtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.