Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Merchandise and Shopping > Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2013, 08:17 PM   #276
13Gigatons
Diamond Member
 
13Gigatons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 5,127
Default

Last day....and I'm goooooooing tooooooooooooo skiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiip it.

Hope Windows 9 is better.
__________________
●●Win7 Upgrade **Matrix**●●
13Gigatons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 08:26 PM   #277
sze5003
Diamond Member
 
sze5003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 7,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
The real pain isn't now, its months from now when some project is due and the OS takes a nose dive, and you get to try and remember all the hoops to jump through to re install like installing a previous version again first for upgrade only keys.

BTW I DO pin it on MS, their quasi hokey security, total lack of meaningful error messages if incorrect options are selected, and both the need to do a clean install and having that blocked if you use an upgrade key.
You can clean install and do the registry change plus re arm from cmd prompt and it will be activated. You should select keep nothing if you don't want install errors.
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Gen3| Core i5 2500k @4.2Ghz-Hyper212 EVO| 8GB Corsair Vengence 1600 | 1TB Seagate 7200 rpm | 256GB Samsung 830 |128GB Crucial M4 | Saphire VaporX 7970Ghz 3GB | NZXT Phantom 410 | 750W Corsair Enthusiast
sze5003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:03 PM   #278
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13Gigatons View Post
Last day....and I'm goooooooing tooooooooooooo skiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiip it.

Hope Windows 9 is better.
I was going to skip it as well, but I caved. $78 for two licenses isnt bad, and if I buy now I can update the PVR to MCE for free. I'll just keep the other license handy in case I want to update my gaming machine down the road.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:11 PM   #279
Fanatical Meat
Diamond Member
 
Fanatical Meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olds Basement
Posts: 3,471
Default

First post from windows 8 pro. So far I kind of like it although I have been using a windows phone 7 for a bit.
Fanatical Meat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:11 PM   #280
Fanatical Meat
Diamond Member
 
Fanatical Meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olds Basement
Posts: 3,471
Default

Now I'm off to get my media center code...
Fanatical Meat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:27 PM   #281
nickbits
Diamond Member
 
nickbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanatical Meat View Post
Now I'm off to get my media center code...
Here you go.

24393-V74YQ-Y76N7-HQTBH-PWCM3
97K3G-WCJTN-KP79P-P6QQQ-MDTB3

I have more if someone needs one but they quit working in 1/2 hr I think
nickbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:04 AM   #282
mikeford
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 4,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sze5003 View Post
You can clean install and do the registry change plus re arm from cmd prompt and it will be activated. You should select keep nothing if you don't want install errors.
Ah, that would be my first go round, selected keep nothing, install went smoothly, but with no error message or notice it showed windows 8 was not activated, and would not accept my "upgrade" key at that point. I tried a few things with no success, then rebooted from the Win8 install DVD and got the message "something like install already in progress, remove install media and boot to windows then run install from windows" and oddly enough that worked.

*** I say oddly as when I selected "install and keep nothing" I thoughtfully clicked the option to format the drive first to be sure it was a single full partition, so the upgrade only installed Win8 on a freshly formatted drive, wouldn't accept my upgrade key, but then cheerfully installed again over the first win8 install and worked fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbits View Post
Here you go.

24393-V74YQ-Y76N7-HQTBH-PWCM3
97K3G-WCJTN-KP79P-P6QQQ-MDTB3

I have more if someone needs one but they quit working in 1/2 hr I think
I am fairly certain you must request the free WMC key prior to midnight 1/31/13 from an activated Win8 install, and the key is linked to that specific install, but you can do the install any time. I am doing one right now.

Last night I finished my son's Win8 install just after midnight and activated, then went to the request free WMC site and put in the email associated with that install, but I don't have a WMC key from that request yet, takes up to 3 days. Since its MS taking up to 3 days to give me the key, how can they put a time limit on activation? or manage reinstalls months from now?
mikeford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:16 AM   #283
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickbits View Post
Here you go.

24393-V74YQ-Y76N7-HQTBH-PWCM3
97K3G-WCJTN-KP79P-P6QQQ-MDTB3

I have more if someone needs one but they quit working in 1/2 hr I think
Thanks! I used the one in bold since my key hasn't been emailed yet and I didnt know if it would be good in 1-3 days later. I'll post mine when I get it in case it can still be used.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:19 AM   #284
Fanatical Meat
Diamond Member
 
Fanatical Meat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Olds Basement
Posts: 3,471
Default

Just took this one thanks

24393-V74YQ-Y76N7-HQTBH-PWCM3
Fanatical Meat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:06 AM   #285
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9,060
Default

Man, this is like the same MCE that was in Windows 7. I'm surprised they are charging for this.

EDIT: I want my money back...
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs

Last edited by Childs; 02-01-2013 at 01:41 AM.
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:00 AM   #286
jlee
Lifer
 
jlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: AZ
Posts: 44,763
Default

I got a MCE key for my laptop but ordered a copy of Win8 for my desktop as well and they wouldn't give me a key. Oh well. I got one license for $14.99 (with MCE) and one for $39.99 (without), so I guess I'm set for a while - not sure if I'll end up running 8 or not, but it's nice to have the option.
__________________
Heat Tacoma MR2 LX450
jlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 09:31 AM   #287
Crow550
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,259
Default

You have to enter the WMC key by the 1st or it expires.

I was thinking they would have added features like Blu-Ray playback which is why they are charging $9 for it. Sadly I see nothing new and they removed the always on top setting.

I'd use something like XBMC if it had native DVR support. Last time I looked WMC was the best simple option. Unless there is one I missed?

Last edited by Crow550; 02-01-2013 at 09:35 AM.
Crow550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:09 AM   #288
darkewaffle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 7,494
Default

Blu-ray licensing would make it cost way more than $9 I'd wager. Plus I get the impression it's a feature they're trying to get away from, not really expand.
__________________
heat ebay
oppa gangnam style
darkewaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:25 AM   #289
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,903
Default

ugh totally forgot to get my last license
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:39 AM   #290
nickbits
Diamond Member
 
nickbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeford View Post
I am fairly certain you must request the free WMC key prior to midnight 1/31/13 from an activated Win8 install, and the key is linked to that specific install, but you can do the install any time. I am doing one right now.
You didn't need to request from win8.. all you needed was a unique IP and email and you could get it. I got several from my phone since I could get new IPs easily.

I got a follow up email for each key stating "This promotion ends on January 31, 2013; your product key must be activated no later than February 1, 2013. "

So maybe they can still be used today.

Here are the last of my keys:
VJJ9D-MKPX6-3N46G-C66DJ-33TB3
MCGMB-V4GHH-67KVJ-NWTX8-4VRFQ
9FG79-T2YFY-3MC2N-MHQVB-3GJY3
TKB7F-HRQ63-NVG8K-6PT8X-C7GB3
nickbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:07 PM   #291
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,400
Default

lol @ posting media center keys. Given the KMS hack, you guys are basically giving away free copies of windows 8.

Anyway... if you still have any of the promo codes laying around from the upgrade offer... guess what:

Quote:
Shopping cart
Promo code: applyApply
Windows 8 Pro $199.99

Edit shopping cart

Subtotal $199.99
Promo code: **-****-****-****-GFX ($185.00)
Tax $0.00
Total $14.99
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:34 PM   #292
PokerGuy
Lifer
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkewaffle View Post
WMC is a "big feature"? Only about ~1.5% of users ever had it open for more than 10 minutes.
With regard to WMC, apparently you're not familiar with cablecard. If you use a cablecard so you don't have to use the crappy box from the cable company (which also saves money), WMC is the only game in town. Without it, no cable card.

It might not be a big feature for everyone (or even for most), but certainly for me it is. Why should I pay a ton of money to upgrade to a new OS that lacks features that were there previously and doesn't bring much of anything new to the table? Metro is utter crap.

Quote:
Win7 has no "must have" feature aside from the fact that WinXP was finally reaching EOL.
Actually, Win 7 brought lots of features. Well, Vista technically brought them, but win 7 was essentially vista done correctly. Also, Win 7 didn't take away stuff you had in prior versions (like Aero, WMC and so forth).

At $40, one could justify getting win 8 for some of the under the hood improvements and things like storage spaces. Now that the price is more like $200 for the pro version (oh, and that's without WMC), you'd have to have your head examined if you consider paying that.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:40 PM   #293
PokerGuy
Lifer
 
PokerGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunnyD View Post
lol @ posting media center keys. Given the KMS hack, you guys are basically giving away free copies of windows 8.

Anyway... if you still have any of the promo codes laying around from the upgrade offer... guess what:
The KMS hack loophole has been closed if I remember correctly. It will let you apply the WMC code, appear to be activated, but then become unactivated again. There are still ways to do it, but not as easily as it was before.

Looks like MS has adopted Intel's "tick-tock" method, but they've modified it to mean "tick" is good, "tock" is crap. Then the next "tick" does all the things the previous "tock" should have done.
PokerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:30 PM   #294
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 9,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow550 View Post
I was thinking they would have added features like Blu-Ray playback which is why they are charging $9 for it. Sadly I see nothing new and they removed the always on top setting.
Yeah, I dont get it at all. I at least expected a refreshed UI to go with the Metro theme or something. But no, they couldnt even be bothered to update the icon, so it looks pathetic when pinned to that home screen. If anything, it was a total hassle because the upgrade to 8 wiped out my channel settings and I had to go through the long channel scan.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:45 PM   #295
chucky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicagoland, IL USA
Posts: 7,870
Default

Checking out the Windows 8 Get Started page...Micro$oft is now wanting $200 for Win 8 Pro Upgrade?!?! Are they insane?!?!

I foresee Win 8 sales plummeting...
__________________
Tyan = No Support
Chuck's K6-3+
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:03 PM   #296
SunnyD
Belgian Waffler
 
SunnyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Waffle House
Posts: 31,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerGuy View Post
The KMS hack loophole has been closed if I remember correctly.
I stand corrected.
__________________
It's a long story... and trust me, no, you really don't have time.
Need VPN? Cheap hosting? I can do that.
SunnyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:36 PM   #297
Basilisk
Senior Member
 
Basilisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerGuy View Post
Now that the price is more like $200 for the pro version (oh, and that's without WMC), you'd have to have your head examined if you consider paying that.
Actually, now that I've loaded W8+WMC I need my head examined.

In the past 24 hours I've spent considerably over two hours on the phone with MS, mostly on hold. When they finally answered last night, the department that handled WMC download problems had closed. When I called back this morning, they repeatedly argued that the Free WMC plan was now dead and I should pay even though (a) I couldn't download it yesterday because their register-to-get-the-ProductKey page failed, indicating I'd have to call MS (as many others over the past several weeks have had to), but (b) MS was under-staffed and didn't answer before the required staff left.

Why did I wait so long to try and download it? At first I was anxious about the problems that might ensue, and then I wanted to install my 256GB SSD first. The latter took a couple of days to get working because the MS back-up and restore utilities simply would not work [with several failure modes] and I had to try three other packages before I could get a copy that circumvented MS anti-copying strategies. Sigh. Wasted hours with each attempt. [EaseUS finally got it close enough that DiskPart could complete the task.]

Last night, downloading W8, I was impaled on the dread "we can't install until you provide additional drivers but we won't tell you -which- drivers are needed" issue (reported by many on the web). The only work-around was to open the computer and pull hardware. (I could finally get past the msg after disconnecting my RAID array and two other drives.) Ignoring that tedious hell, this was the slowest installation process I've experienced since those days when we did it off floppy disks... and here I was dumb enough to think the install would FLY with my new Samsung SSD. It made me think of the way Adobe products load: each time you think it can't really take this long just to load! Even just getting WMC to "use old settings" took 20 minutes!

Now I have a computer which seems to run W8 and I've finally figured out how to turn the computer off(!! not obvious), how to view my hard-drives and how to run many of the old programs. The learning curve for W8 is a PITA; I've gotta find some walk-through / introduction that makes sense of their omissions and subterranean relocation of system tools.

There's a lot to learn to cope with or work-around. Their presentation of s/w pkgs seems ponderous and I'll have to figure out some way to group tools in more accessible collections. Sigh... the old Start Menu worked better for me.
__________________
Socrates is said to have advised, "By all means marry; if you get a good wife, you'll be happy. If you get a bad one, you'll become a philosopher." ... There's the question of which came first: philosophizing or being ill-tempered. Would being married to a philosopher turn a woman into a shrew?[WotD - Anu Garg]
Basilisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:48 PM   #298
Basilisk
Senior Member
 
Basilisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PokerGuy View Post
If you use a cablecard so you don't have to use the crappy box from the cable company (which also saves money), WMC is the only game in town. Without it, no cable card.
Amen, brother. The good news is my Centon quad-stream appears (with one test) to be supported. We've lost the (to me unused) ability to have remote computers stream CC channels [the protocols used are no longer supported in W8], but WMC seemed little changed.

WMC's a lot saner than any DVR I've used (mostly SciAtl), so it's a shame the cable companies have made CC so difficult to access, keeping their staffs incorrectly or un-informed about them. 'Took 5 weeks to get my CC because of ComCast miss-statements with no internal follow-through [repeated "we'll mail it to you" -- no... they didn't and couldn't). Not that WMC couldn't be improved with fairly minor changes.
__________________
Socrates is said to have advised, "By all means marry; if you get a good wife, you'll be happy. If you get a bad one, you'll become a philosopher." ... There's the question of which came first: philosophizing or being ill-tempered. Would being married to a philosopher turn a woman into a shrew?[WotD - Anu Garg]
Basilisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:51 PM   #299
gill77
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

I need some help from those smarter than I.

I paid, downloaded and have my product code. I discovered my USB drive was MIA so I brought one from work.

Long story short is my machine got rebooted before it could be transferred. Can the download be found or can I re-download without paying the $199.

Thank you in advance.

Gill
gill77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 03:29 PM   #300
Lucifer Lost
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Basilisk View Post
've gotta find some walk-through / introduction that makes sense of their omissions and subterranean relocation of system tools.
Right click in the bottom left hand corner for system tools. Quicker than in 7.

And if you still can't find what you are looking for, just start typing in what you are looking for when you are on the Start Window. It will dynamically start searching for you.

It's easier to do almost everything in 8 once you learn a couple things.
Lucifer Lost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.