Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2013, 10:48 PM   #1
tomhanser
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 60
Default Dell Optiplex 960 RAM Error Message

Everything was fine with this Optiplex 960 I bought surplused, in perfect condition. I installed Windows 7, ran updates and away we go.

I hit the power button this morning and before Windows even starts, I get this error message:

"MIXING ECC AND NON-ECC DIMMs IS NOT SUPPORTED BY THIS PLATFORM."

System lights ONE and THREE are on, indicating a memory problem.

But nothing was changed, system or memory-wise. I've never even messed with the RAM since I bought it last week.

All four DIMM slots are filled, with a total of 4GB. These are Samsung 1GB sticks, all identical.

I was planning on adding more RAM, anyway, but maybe I should pull all four sticks out and start with two matching pairs? What happened here?

I can't even run the Dell diagnostics to test the memory - this error message halts the system. What if I pulled the CMOS battery? Would that clear this error message?

Anyone?

Thank you.
tomhanser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:26 AM   #2
tomhanser
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Update: I've tried different RAM sticks from another Dell machine, and I still get the same error message.

How do I go about clearing this error message?

Thank you.
tomhanser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:35 AM   #3
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,750
Default

I'm guessing that the CMOS battery is old and failing, and it corrupted the CMOS settings. Try replacing the battery, and doing a CMOS settings clear (usually a jumper on the motherboard). If there is no jumper, then remove the battery and unplug the PC and wait 24hr.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:47 AM   #4
Blain
Lifer
 
Blain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: SW Indiana
Posts: 23,107
Default

Maybe one of your MB DIMM slots has failed.
__________________
USA...
Too many delicate hothouse flowers
Blain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:51 AM   #5
tomhanser
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 60
Default

Fixed it.

I reset the CMOS and I can now boot normally. Sheesh! What a headache.

Thanks, everyone.
tomhanser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.