Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
MightyMalus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 292
Default AMD Bolton D4 chipset only has PCI-e 4x support?

Quote:
The higher end Bolton D4 will come with RAID 0/1/5 and 10 support coupled with only PCI-e 4x support. On the other hand, the good news for graphics fanatics that this comes with support for dual CrossFire graphics which will allow you to match your discrete graphics card with the Richlandís APU graphics.
This is old rumors, but I personally find this rather weak. Why even bother buying a dGPU for an APU when it would be much worse than the same dGPU on a cheap CPU?

Am I missing something here?
MightyMalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:51 AM   #2
inf64
Platinum Member
 
inf64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,059
Default

Same rumor calls Richland a 28nm chip... Disregard.
__________________
ShintaiDK:"There will be no APU in PS4 and Xbox720."
ShintaiDK:"No quadchannel either.[in Kaveri]"
CHADBOGA:"Because he[OBR] is a great man."
inf64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:59 AM   #3
Insert_Nickname
Golden Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,902
Default

They properly mean the available PCIe lanes from the chipset. The APU itself provides the standard issue PCIe x16 for the graphics card...
Insert_Nickname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 11:03 AM   #4
MightyMalus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
They properly mean the available PCIe lanes from the chipset. The APU itself provides the standard issue PCIe x16 for the graphics card...
What is the purpose of the PCIe lanes from the chipset?
*not very tech savvy here*
MightyMalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 11:26 AM   #5
Jimzz
Diamond Member
 
Jimzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 3,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MightyMalus View Post
What is the purpose of the PCIe lanes from the chipset?
*not very tech savvy here*

Those can be used for ethernet, sound, etc... Most only use 1x lane so 4 lanes you can put a good deal of stuff on it.
Jimzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 11:31 AM   #6
Vectronic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 489
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insert_Nickname View Post
They properly mean the available PCIe lanes from the chipset. The APU itself provides the standard issue PCIe x16 for the graphics card...
This.

PCI-E lanes are 1 to 4x... so a x16 socket would be 4x4x, most boards come with 8 lanes of "up to" 4x per lane, that's why you can have 2 or 3 x16 sockets on a board, where they will run @ x16 with only one slot in use, but x8 with two slots in use, etc.
Vectronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:42 PM   #7
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,047
Default

PCIe x4 for a PCH aint bad. Intels got PCIe x8 via the PCH. Dont think anyone would notice if it was reduced to x4.
__________________
APUSilicon.com=AMD advocates shill site.
ShintaiDK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:36 PM   #8
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,994
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShintaiDK View Post
PCIe x4 for a PCH aint bad. Intels got PCIe x8 via the PCH. Dont think anyone would notice if it was reduced to x4.
Are you sure about that? I thought that Intel had x8 PCI-E between the CPU and the PCH, and the PCH had 4 x1 2.0 ports off of it.

My reasoning is this, if Intel really had x8 off of the PCH like you claim, then we would be seeing Crossfire 1155 boards with x16 PCI-E 3.0 (off of the CPU), and then a second x8 PCI-E 2.0 slot (off of the PCH). Since nearly every board I'ver seen, without a PLX chip is x16/x4, I think that you are incorrect.

Or maybe the PCH has one x4, and four x1, and those are used for the onboard sound and LAN chips.

Edit: For comparison, my 990FX/SB950 board, has two x16 PCI-E 2.0 slots, another x4 slot, and an x1 slot or two, along with onboard LAN, sound, and Marvell SATA6G.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec

Last edited by VirtualLarry; 01-30-2013 at 02:42 PM.
VirtualLarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,782
Default

I use a pciE-X1 Nvidia 9300 gpu card, and the thing flies, it is no slower than an X16 for a card of this level. You really need to get up around HD7870 levels before pciE-X4 becomes a limiting factor. (Aside from mechanical limitations of course.)

According to this article, one Radeon HD7970 put forth the following scores:
At 1920x1200:
PCIe 1.1 x4: 31.5FPS
PCIe 3.0 x4: 33.4FPS
PCIe 3.0 x8: 33.9FPS
PCIe 3.0 x16: 33.9FPS
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:10 PM   #10
SPBHM
Platinum Member
 
SPBHM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sm625 View Post
I use a pciE-X1 Nvidia 9300 gpu card, and the thing flies, it is no slower than an X16 for a card of this level. You really need to get up around HD7870 levels before pciE-X4 becomes a limiting factor. (Aside from mechanical limitations of course.)

According to this article, one Radeon HD7970 put forth the following scores:
At 1920x1200:
PCIe 1.1 x4: 31.5FPS
PCIe 3.0 x4: 33.4FPS
PCIe 3.0 x8: 33.9FPS
PCIe 3.0 x16: 33.9FPS

well, don't forget about CPU vs PCH PCIE differences, probably lower latency for the CPU,

also I think Intel at least, uses DMI at PCIE 4x 2.0 speed between the CPU and the PCH, so loading more things and a graphics card could be worse.


and not every game/cards needs the same amount of bandwidth


http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ce,2887-6.html
SPBHM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:39 PM   #11
ShintaiDK
Lifer
 
ShintaiDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualLarry View Post
Are you sure about that? I thought that Intel had x8 PCI-E between the CPU and the PCH, and the PCH had 4 x1 2.0 ports off of it.
I assumed it was about the PCIe lanes extending from the PCH, Intel got 8 lanes here. Not the link between the PCH and CPU. But yes, both AMD and Intel uses the same PCIe x4 link types between CPU and PCH. Just with each propertary modifications.

ICH/SB southbridge chips are attached the same way, just to a northbridge chip.

Nobody would use the x8 slot for crossfire, since it needs to pass and share the x4 to the CPU.
__________________
APUSilicon.com=AMD advocates shill site.

Last edited by ShintaiDK; 01-30-2013 at 04:45 PM.
ShintaiDK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.