Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 11:00 AM   #201
RaistlinZ
Diamond Member
 
RaistlinZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 6,913
Default

Aren't the 13.2's supposed to drop this week?
__________________
i7-4770K @ 4.5GHz l ASUS Z87-Pro V Edition l MSI Gaming 970 SLI (1300/1900) l Seasonic X-750 Gold l 16GB PC1866 CAS9 l 2X240 GB Seagate 600 SSD l 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 l Corsair H110 l HAF-XB l Dell U3011

Heat: 43-0-0
RaistlinZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:05 AM   #202
Homeles
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,585
Default

By definition, 13.2 designates a February release. The "13" stands for the year 2013, the "2" stands for the second month.

To quote David Baumman:
Quote:
Target for the driver Scott tested is still next week, we're just adding a different fix in that before release.
To me, the launch date seems a bit ambiguous. He said this on the 18th over at Beyond3D.

Last edited by Homeles; 01-24-2013 at 11:19 AM.
Homeles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:47 PM   #203
raasco
Platinum Member
 
raasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Above the bridge
Posts: 2,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstoop View Post
Do you sometimes just get a black screen that still has the windows cursor on it? That drives me nuts :/ It seems to only happen if specific programs are running the background though, I haven't had time to sit down and really pin down whats causing it, but i've been seeing it at work too where we're using business class video cards and *definitely* not the latest drivers.
Yes. It happens without any programs running in the background.
__________________
i5 2500K | MSI 7950 TF3 | 840 EVO 500GB SSD | Seasonic x750 | Corsair 600T
raasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:55 PM   #204
DiogoDX
Senior Member
 
DiogoDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homeles View Post
By definition, 13.2 designates a February release. The "13" stands for the year 2013, the "2" stands for the second month.

To quote David Baumman:

To me, the launch date seems a bit ambiguous. He said this on the 18th over at Beyond3D.
This nomenclature is used only for official drivers. Betas may arrive before such as 12.11 beta arrived in October.
DiogoDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:50 PM   #205
Red Hawk
Platinum Member
 
Red Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstoop View Post
Do you sometimes just get a black screen that still has the windows cursor on it? That drives me nuts :/ It seems to only happen if specific programs are running the background though, I haven't had time to sit down and really pin down whats causing it, but i've been seeing it at work too where we're using business class video cards and *definitely* not the latest drivers.
That's happened to me before.

Anyone else getting interface corruption in Firefox?
__________________
Desktop: Thermaltake V-4 Black case | Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 | Core i5 2500k @ 4 GHz | MSI R9-270X @ 1120 MHz | 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM 1333 MHz | 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & Western Digital 500 GB HDD | Antec 650w PSU | Acer 1080p 60 Hz 24'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Laptop: ASUS K52Jr-X5 | Core i3-350m @ 2.26 GHz| Mobility Radeon HD 5470 1 GB @ 750 MHz 4 GB DDR3 RAM | 90 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD | 1366x768 15.6'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Red Hawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:19 AM   #206
Dstoop
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Hawk View Post
That's happened to me before.

Anyone else getting interface corruption in Firefox?
No interface corruption in firefox, but the black screen issue seems to only happen on the last few PCs I purchased at work. All of them have AMD 5450's in them and since they're barely three months old, they probably have later drivers on them.

My money is on another AMD driver bug, at least this one is pretty benign.
Dstoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:40 AM   #207
pwoz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Hawk View Post
Anyone else getting interface corruption in Firefox?
I have gotten this. I also get weird issues on jigzone.com with the new drivers, but only in Firefox. When I drag the pieces around they leave a trail of bits. Hard to do a puzzle like that. Seems fine otherwise, though.
pwoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:51 AM   #208
Falcan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Default

When I try to update to the 13.1 Drivers from 12.10, the installer says everything went ok, but when I reboot the drivers are not detected. Anyone else had this problem? I tried a few different times and then had to go back to 12.10.
Falcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:02 PM   #209
Spideyknight
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcan View Post
When I try to update to the 13.1 Drivers from 12.10, the installer says everything went ok, but when I reboot the drivers are not detected. Anyone else had this problem? I tried a few different times and then had to go back to 12.10.
A similar thing happens to me. Says Stand VGA, instead of Radeon 7900 series. I assumed it was due to a BIOS issue since I updated my BIOS yesterday and I hadn't had the problem before. I have a ASUS Z77 Sabertooth mobo with a radeon hd 7970 ghz edition. Updating from BIOS 1504 to 1805. It's a brand new system so I didn't have any drivers on there prior to installing the 13.1 drivers.
Spideyknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:04 PM   #210
DiogoDX
Senior Member
 
DiogoDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 328
Default

New beta:

Quote:
AMD Catalyst 13.2 Beta 3 is now available, and includes the following updates:

Improves performance up to 15% in high MSAA cases for the Crysis 3 beta release
Significantly improves latency performance in Skyrim, Boderlands 2, and Guild Wars 2
Improves single GPU performance up to 50% for DmC Devil May Cry
Improves CrossFire performance up to 10% for Crysis 2
Resolves Texture flickering seen in DirectX9.0c applications.
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...etaDriver.aspx
DiogoDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:08 PM   #211
Dstoop
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Resolves Texture flickering seen in DirectX9.0c applications.
Hey look, exactly what we've been waiting for, and what we've had multiple threads about. I'm excited to give them a shot tonight. I'd love to know what they narrowed down to be the cause.
Dstoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:15 PM   #212
jackstar7
Diamond Member
 
jackstar7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4,339
Default

Added Beta link (and credit) to OP.
__________________
ASUS P8Z77-WS + 3770K@4.1@1.07v + 4x4GB 1833 + Sapphire 7990+7970 Tri-fire + 2x512gbM4 + X-Fi Forte
in an FT02 w/AP182s and an X-1250w + X270OC+XL2720T + Realforce 87U-Silent
want: Free or G-sync 3440x1440 flanked by my Overlord and another 1440p, and graphics cards that can handle it all
jackstar7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:37 PM   #213
buklau
Member
 
buklau's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 100
Default

I will install the latest 13.2 beta3 when I get off work today. Hopefully that will resolve dx9.0c flicker problems. *finger-crossed
__________________
Core i5 4690k @ 4.6ghz 1.293v Delid Hyper 212 EVO (Lapped to 2000 grid) MX-2 l Asrock Z97 Extreme4 l 16GB Samsung 30nm 2200 10-11-11-33 2t 1.470v l 60GB Corsair Force 3 SSD l 2TB Toshiba DT01ACA200 7200RPM HD l EVGA GTX970 1452/7880 1.2V Arctic Cooling Mono Plus MX-2 l LG DVDRW l FSP Aurum 80 Plus Gold 400w l Antec 300 stock fans @ low speed with anti-vibration mod
buklau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:40 PM   #214
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 4,029
Default

Anyone know if you're supposed to run any CAPs along with these? (the new 13.2 beta 3's)
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:06 PM   #215
DiogoDX
Senior Member
 
DiogoDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTDEW View Post
Anyone know if you're supposed to run any CAPs along with these? (the new 13.2 beta 3's)
None.
Quote:
New CAP embedded in driver. Do not use 12.11CAP2.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1354904/o...#post_19166825
DiogoDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:16 PM   #216
MTDEW
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Central PA
Posts: 4,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiogoDX View Post
TY
Just saw Thrack's post.
MTDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:03 PM   #217
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,627
Default

Installed the driver and played Skyrim for about 10 minutes without a limiter.... Game seemed very smooth. Guess after over a year they finally fixed it...
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:20 PM   #218
Face2Face
Diamond Member
 
Face2Face's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: AnandTech
Posts: 3,074
Default

Can't wait to count out your coin... I mean give these a try on Skyrim and GTA 4.
__________________
3570K @ 4.8GHz - Z77X-UD4H - 16GB Samsung 1866MHz - GTX 780 Lightning + NZXT Kraken G10 - QX2710 1440p @ 96Hz
Face2Face is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:39 PM   #219
Black Octagon
Senior Member
 
Black Octagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: European Union
Posts: 904
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaheadache View Post
Installed the driver and played Skyrim for about 10 minutes without a limiter.... Game seemed very smooth. Guess after over a year they finally fixed it...
Without a limiter you say? Does that mean that you are running Crossfire?
__________________
Asrock Extreme3 Z68 | i5-2500k @ 4.6Ghz | 8GB Corsair Vengeance | Sapphire HD7970 @ 1250/1750 | Crucial M4 128GB | CM Hyper Evo 212 | Overlord Tempest X270OC @ 120Hz
Black Octagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:56 PM   #220
lavaheadache
Diamond Member
 
lavaheadache's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cape Cod MA
Posts: 6,627
Default

I haven't updated my sig in a while. I'm only only a single 7970
__________________
Video Card Specialist

wtb 9800 XT

Heat 144-0-0 heatware 1 percentile
lavaheadache is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:31 PM   #221
Red Hawk
Platinum Member
 
Red Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiogoDX View Post
Yes!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstoop View Post
Hey look, exactly what we've been waiting for, and what we've had multiple threads about. I'm excited to give them a shot tonight. I'd love to know what they narrowed down to be the cause.
Exactly. I'm excited to try these out, given that they claim to specifically address DX9 flickering. Don't let me down, AMD!

The stuttering fix should be nice also; I was playing Skyrim the other day and I could feel the stuttering ever so slightly.
__________________
Desktop: Thermaltake V-4 Black case | Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 | Core i5 2500k @ 4 GHz | MSI R9-270X @ 1120 MHz | 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM 1333 MHz | 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & Western Digital 500 GB HDD | Antec 650w PSU | Acer 1080p 60 Hz 24'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Laptop: ASUS K52Jr-X5 | Core i3-350m @ 2.26 GHz| Mobility Radeon HD 5470 1 GB @ 750 MHz 4 GB DDR3 RAM | 90 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD | 1366x768 15.6'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Red Hawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:45 PM   #222
Dankk
Diamond Member
 
Dankk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mormonville, Utah
Posts: 5,293
Default

Regarding installation procedure: Is it safe to simply install 13.2 beta on top of 13.1?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 4.2GHz | HIS Radeon iPower IceQ X R9 290X
MSI 990FXA-GD80 (V2) | G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD | Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB HD
SeaSonic M12II Bronze 620W PSU

Steam
Dankk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:54 PM   #223
Red Hawk
Platinum Member
 
Red Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LessThanDan View Post
Regarding installation procedure: Is it safe to simply install 13.2 beta on top of 13.1?
IIRC last time I tried installing a beta over a WHQL driver (a year or two ago) it didn't detect the beta drivers as being new. I've done clean installs of beta drivers ever since.

First impression: texture flickering in Mass Effect 2 appears reduced. There's still some noticeable flickering, but ME2 has always had a z-fighting issue in certain areas even when I played it on a 5770 and a 9800 GT; the 7000 series flickering issue seemed to amplify it. I have yet to test other areas.
__________________
Desktop: Thermaltake V-4 Black case | Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 | Core i5 2500k @ 4 GHz | MSI R9-270X @ 1120 MHz | 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM 1333 MHz | 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & Western Digital 500 GB HDD | Antec 650w PSU | Acer 1080p 60 Hz 24'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Laptop: ASUS K52Jr-X5 | Core i3-350m @ 2.26 GHz| Mobility Radeon HD 5470 1 GB @ 750 MHz 4 GB DDR3 RAM | 90 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD | 1366x768 15.6'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Red Hawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:38 PM   #224
Rvenger
VC&G Moderator
 
Rvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 5,331
Default

Does this driver have the memory rewrite?
__________________
i7-5820k @ 4.2ghz 1.19v - Corsair H100i - ASRock X99 Extreme 3 - 16gb Crucial DDR4 2133 - Nvidia Reference GTX 970 SLI - 2 x 240gb PNY Optima SSDs in Raid 0 - 3tb Seagate 7200.14 HDD - Rosewill HIVE 850 Modular PSU - Phanteks Enthoo Pro

Athlon 860K - Corsair H60 - Asus A78-E - 8gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz - Powercolor HD7870 MYST - 80gb Intel X25-M - 1tb Seagate HDD - NZXT Hale82 850w - Fractal Design Node 804
Rvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:19 PM   #225
Red Hawk
Platinum Member
 
Red Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rvenger View Post
Does this driver have the memory rewrite?
Does not appear so.
__________________
Desktop: Thermaltake V-4 Black case | Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 | Core i5 2500k @ 4 GHz | MSI R9-270X @ 1120 MHz | 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 RAM 1333 MHz | 120GB OCZ Vertex 3 SSD & Western Digital 500 GB HDD | Antec 650w PSU | Acer 1080p 60 Hz 24'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Laptop: ASUS K52Jr-X5 | Core i3-350m @ 2.26 GHz| Mobility Radeon HD 5470 1 GB @ 750 MHz 4 GB DDR3 RAM | 90 GB OCZ Agility 3 SSD | 1366x768 15.6'' | Windows 8.1 Professional
Red Hawk is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.