Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 06:41 PM   #1
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default Mini-ITX Gaming Rig - would this build work?

Graphics Card: 2GB Powercolor HD 7870 $225 <- overkill for my current graphics needs but a lot of people have recommended I get 7870 instead of 7770
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570 $202
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI $120
RAM: 8GB Kit 1600 Kingston HyperX Black 1.5V $50
HDD : WD Blue 1TB $74 <- if the shop sells the later version, I will get that one instead
SSD : Samsung 830 128GB $98
External DVD-RW: LG External Slim DVD Writer $30
PSU: Silverstone ST45SF-SFX 450W $83
Case: Silverstone FT03 Mini Silver $139
OS: OEM 64 bit Windows 8 Home Premium $99

Total not including OS: $1021

Uses: Gaming (mostly Sims 3), Internet browsing/streaming, social networking, word processing. I’d like to be able to run Sims 3 with all expansions on max settings. I may be trying out other games but don't have any particular ones in mind right now, except maybe Skyrim. I do however own some copies of MMORPGs as I have played them in the past.

Do I want to..
Overclock: No
SLI/Crossfire: No
Wifi: Yes I do want, but I can use USB
Bluetooth: Same as Wifi
Multi-monitor: No

Current Monitor Size: 1680x1050 pixels. I don't really play full-screen, normally just have games in a 1280x1024 window or even smaller.
Location: Sydney, Australia

I will probably be using mods to load straight to desktop and to add a very functional start menu button so the Windows 8 UI will probably not be an issue.

How does that sound? Am I missing anything? What would the bottleneck in this build be, or is it completely balanced? I'd like to hear your opinions

Last edited by ilikebeeef; 01-28-2013 at 06:44 PM. Reason: avoiding the D: emoticon appearing
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:03 PM   #2
OVerLoRDI
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5,323
Default

Should be a good little box. Make sure the GPU isn't too big for the case, same with the PSU.
__________________
TROOPER: Caselabs M8, i5 3570k, 16gb DDR3, 2x7970, X-1050
TARDIS: 750D, i5 2550k, 8gb DDR3, 7970, AX850, 8TB storage
CUBE: INWIN BQS656, Celeron something?, 4gb RAM, 32gb SSD
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=73710
OVerLoRDI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:50 PM   #3
Zap
Super Moderator
Off Topic
Elite Member
 
Zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Somewhere Gillbot can't find me
Posts: 22,378
Default

PSU is SFX, which is exactly what the case takes.

Card specified is 9.5" long, which will fit.

Why external optical drive? Unable to find a slot load internal?
__________________
The best way to future-proof is to save money and spend it on future products. (Ken g6)

SSD turns duds into studs. (JBT)
Zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:15 AM   #4
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zap View Post
PSU is SFX, which is exactly what the case takes.

Card specified is 9.5" long, which will fit.

Why external optical drive? Unable to find a slot load internal?
I chose to go external since I pretty much never use the internal optical drive on my current computer, so I was thinking that I could link up the external to the computer, say, during Windows installation, then when I don't need it, I put it away so it doesn't just sit there idly, using power and generating unneeded heat. Also would be portable (so I can use it on other computers as well, for example an ultrabook) and would make the desktop lighter if I need to carry it around.
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:22 AM   #5
PatwrikM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikebeeef View Post
Graphics Card: 2GB Powercolor HD 7870 $225 <- overkill for my current graphics needs but a lot of people have recommended I get 7870 instead of 7770
Processor: Intel Core i5-3570 $202
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H77N-WIFI $120
RAM: 8GB Kit 1600 Kingston HyperX Black 1.5V $50
HDD : WD Blue 1TB $74 <- if the shop sells the later version, I will get that one instead
SSD : Samsung 830 128GB $98
External DVD-RW: LG External Slim DVD Writer $30
PSU: Silverstone ST45SF-SFX 450W $83
Case: Silverstone FT03 Mini Silver $139
OS: OEM 64 bit Windows 8 Home Premium $99

I'be built a similar system but opted for some different hardware.

I am running a 3570k but with a Asrock z77e itx.
Got a powercolor tahiti LE 7870 -- great bank for the buck, able to run all the latest games at 1080p on ultra.
Case - opted for the bitfenix prodigy.


Whatever route you go, the system you have specced out should do fine for what you play.
PatwrikM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatwrikM View Post
I'be built a similar system but opted for some different hardware.

I am running a 3570k but with a Asrock z77e itx.
Got a powercolor tahiti LE 7870 -- great bank for the buck, able to run all the latest games at 1080p on ultra.
Case - opted for the bitfenix prodigy.


Whatever route you go, the system you have specced out should do fine for what you play.
Did/do you intend to overclock?
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:53 PM   #7
PatwrikM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Yah, I have my 3570k OC'ed to a stable 4.5ghz.

The nice thing about the bitfenix prodigy is the amount of space for cooling
PatwrikM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 02:20 PM   #8
AkumaX
Lifer
 
AkumaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 12,521
Default

consider getting samsung low profile ram?
__________________
............................
HeetWear
(o_
(o_ (o_ / /
(/)_ (\)_ V_/_
AkumaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:12 PM   #9
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatwrikM View Post
Yah, I have my 3570k OC'ed to a stable 4.5ghz.

The nice thing about the bitfenix prodigy is the amount of space for cooling
Yeah I agree. The Bitfenix Prodigy does definitely have more expandability than the FT03-Mini. Its style is decent as well. However it seems a bit big to me.. it's wider than my current computer which is a BTX.. And the length of the FT03-Mini got me as well :x lol it's about half the length of most cases, so I can just put it on the table next to the monitor without anything sticking out forward. Just seems really cool to me. I also like silver colour, which Bitfenix Prodigy doesn't have. I don't intend to overclock so I think I'm going to stick to stock cooling anyway. Or if I do in the far future, the FT03-Mini does have a radiator cooling option. Probably the main functional difference for me between the two cases is that Bitfenix Prodigy can house all graphics cards whereas the FT03-Mini has a 10" length restriction.

Why do you OC? Do you do any incredibly CPU-intensive things?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkumaX View Post
consider getting samsung low profile ram?
No I haven't considered Samsung RAM, since PCDIY doesn't sell it. Why, is it better in any way than the Kingston HyperX?

Last edited by ilikebeeef; 01-30-2013 at 07:18 PM.
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:14 PM   #10
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina State University
Posts: 13,779
Default

The Samsung low profile ram is low profile, meaning no ram clearance problems. Second it overclocks nicely.
__________________
Intel i5 4430, MSI B85M-P33, Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x, 6GB ram, Intel 530 128gb SSD, WD 160gb HDD, Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD, Windows 7, NZXT Vulcan, Dell E2414H, ROCCAT Kova+ Max, TG3 BL82
Mid 2014 13" Macbook Pro, Intel Core i5-4278U 2.6Ghz, Intel Iris 5100 GPU, 8GB ram, 128gb SSD
iPhone 6 16gb CDMA
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:37 PM   #11
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
The Samsung low profile ram is low profile, meaning no ram clearance problems. Second it overclocks nicely.
http://www.samsung.com/global/busine...dram/catalogue which one of these is the most suitable for my build? I can't really tell from looking at the tables.

Or am I looking at the wrong place lol. The pictures don't seem quite right.

Edit: Hmm can't find 8G Samsung 1600 being sold in Sydney..

Last edited by ilikebeeef; 01-30-2013 at 10:17 PM.
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:16 PM   #12
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Hey guys, problem.. I think Powercolor has changed their 7870 model? It seems to have become very hard for me to find a "right" graphics card for the case, PCDIY says their supplier only has "PowerColor AX7870-2GBD5-2DHPPV3E http://www.powercolor.com/global/pro...res.asp?id=430 in stock for $255", which is quite a bit more than the $225 I was going for.. and they are also unable to get the AMD reference 7870 model AND EVGA products ._.

They have Gainward GTX 660 though on their price list for $225. Is that a suitable card for the case?
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:05 AM   #13
mirno
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 7
Default

There are some special 7870 models. They got a 7950 chip (Thaiti). Like the Sapphire 7870 XT (Thaiti). You should check for those! Really recommeded. Like the same price as regular 7870 models and a lot faster
mirno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 06:09 PM   #14
ilikebeeef
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mirno View Post
There are some special 7870 models. They got a 7950 chip (Thaiti). Like the Sapphire 7870 XT (Thaiti). You should check for those! Really recommeded. Like the same price as regular 7870 models and a lot faster
Hey. These ones are too long for the case I chose. But anyway, I "committed to buy" this EVGA GTX 660 Superclocked Edition from a U.S. seller from eBay for $234 including shipping.. In Sydney, cheapest is $260 without shipping and are deposit to order. Furthermore, EVGA warranty does cover the product still.
ilikebeeef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.