Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
antef
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 326
Default Has anyone had success with wireless printers? Always shows as offline

I hate printers, didn't own one for a long time, but was forced to buy one last year. This experience isn't helping my hatred of them. It's a Canon PIXMA MG5220, using it over WiFi. Every time I turn it on, it always shows offline in Windows. The printer on its LCD screen will you tell its connected and show you the IP. When I try to access this IP over a web browser, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't - but regardless, it will show as offline in Control Panel either way. The only way to fix it is to remove and re-add the printer. Even then it sometimes won't find it, but usually does after a few tries.

I have a Verizon router so it doesn't have very easy static IP settings, but I did try checking "static lease type" and it hasn't helped. I don't know whether to blame the printer, my router, or Windows, and searching hasn't brought up anything. Does anyone know of any solutions for this? Thanks.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | 4x4 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD 7950 | Crucial m4 128 GB | Samsung SpinPoint 500 GB | Seasonic G Series 450W | SilverStone PS07 | Win 8.1 Pro
antef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:15 AM   #2
el-Capitan
Senior Member
 
el-Capitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 461
Default

I have a wireless HP. It is a terrible printer with worse software (I feel your hate), but since I put it on a static IP (via the printer setup, not the router) I have never had issues 'finding' it.

Pick an address beyond your router's DHCP range.
__________________
Games : Fractal Define Mini | i5-2500k@4.4 | Hyper 212+ | 6950 2GB | P8Z77-M | 8GB 1333 | Xonar DX | 840 EVO 250GB | 2TB WDC Black | Seasonic 620W | Win 8.1 WMC
HTPC : Moneual Moncaso 312S | i3-2105 | Shuriken | Z68MA-D2H-B3 | 8GB 1333 | 2x120GB SSD RAID 0 | BD-ROM | Ceton infiniTV 4 | OCZ 500W | Win 8.1 WMC
Server : Fractal Node 304 | Pentium G3220 | Asrock B85M-ITX | 8GB 1333 | Crucial 120GB SSD | 3x 2TB RAID 5 | Seasonic 330W | WS2012E.R2
el-Capitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:32 AM   #3
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 6,983
Default

I have had good luck with my last 2 wireless printers, both HP. Never had a problem connecting to them.
I have just heard too many complaints about printers from other manufacturers (not all connection-related though).

Does the printer have an Ethernet port? You could try connecting it the the router and see if it installs. That would somewhat limit the cause of your issues.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:22 PM   #4
bruceb
Diamond Member
 
bruceb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Wayne, New Jersey
Posts: 7,150
Default

I have an HP7410 setup via USB to my main computer and it also has a built in Wi-Fi card. What you need to do is be sure that all computers that want to use the Wi-Fi printer and the printer itself, is in the same Workgroup. And don't forget to put your WI-FI SSID and Password into the printer Wi-Fi configuration. Never had any issues with it.
bruceb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:22 AM   #5
antef
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks...a static IP is probably what is needed here (I'm not sure why when other devices don't have this sort of problem). Since I can't figure out how to do that on Verizon's router it must be done via the printer as was suggested. I found the option to do it, set the IP to something outside DHCP range, set the subnet mask to 255.255.255.0, and set the default gateway to my router's IP. The printer says it now has that IP, and it also shows up in my router's device list with the new IP, but when I try a connectivity test on the router page it fails, and I can't access the printer's web page through a browser either. Why might it not be seeing it despite having an IP? I've never set up any workgroups or homegroups. I feel like this might do the trick if I can figure this out.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | 4x4 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD 7950 | Crucial m4 128 GB | Samsung SpinPoint 500 GB | Seasonic G Series 450W | SilverStone PS07 | Win 8.1 Pro
antef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:20 AM   #6
smitbret
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pocatello, ID
Posts: 2,343
Default

Probably has less to do with the printer and more to do with your network. I've had an Epson Artisan 835 that has been connected wirelessly for almost 2 years and it's never dropped its connection with any PCs.
smitbret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:14 PM   #7
BrightCandle
Diamond Member
 
BrightCandle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,498
Default

I have no issues with my Lexmark S605. It runs in some low power mode but everytime I send it a document it wakes up and gets going. I did make its IP static in the router but before I did so it happily worked for weeks so it wasn't necessary. Its actually been a good printer other than how long it takes to get to its first page, but Lexmark are out of the market now.
__________________
i7 3930k @4.4, 2xMSI GTX 680, 16GB Corsair 2133 RAM, Crucial m4 500GB, Soundblaster Z
Custom watercooled by 2x MCR 320 and 1 MCR 480
Zowie Evo CL EC2, Corsair K70, Asus Rog Swift PG278Q
BrightCandle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:40 PM   #8
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,424
Default

I have a Brother MFC420CN inkjet, with ethernet, connected to my LAN, and I've very rarely ever had an issue. Generally, any issues that I've had, can be fixed by a quick power-cycle of the printer.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:45 PM   #9
antef
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks for all the replies and help. I managed to set a static IP on the printer last time but I was still unable to connect. Today I power cycled the router and after that I was able to connect to it at the new static IP. I turned it off and back on again and it was still good and I was able to print a test page. So, it would be nice if this has now fixed the problem. The only weird thing is, when I turned the printer off, it still showed as online in Control Panel. So the status is still not getting updated there properly, but I don't care as long as it prints when it's on.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | 4x4 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD 7950 | Crucial m4 128 GB | Samsung SpinPoint 500 GB | Seasonic G Series 450W | SilverStone PS07 | Win 8.1 Pro
antef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:59 PM   #10
destrekor
Lifer
 
destrekor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: It's turtles all the way down!
Posts: 23,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antef View Post
Thanks for all the replies and help. I managed to set a static IP on the printer last time but I was still unable to connect. Today I power cycled the router and after that I was able to connect to it at the new static IP. I turned it off and back on again and it was still good and I was able to print a test page. So, it would be nice if this has now fixed the problem. The only weird thing is, when I turned the printer off, it still showed as online in Control Panel. So the status is still not getting updated there properly, but I don't care as long as it prints when it's on.
Try printing to it - perhaps it'll wake up the printer and still work.

Or, did you "turn it off" by flipping the I/O power switch (presumably on the back, if that printer has one).


I was just going to state that my Epson WF Pro 4530 (connected through WiFi) hasn't given me any connectivity problems.
__________________
"Spaceman + Goosemaster + Nemesis 1 =
Well if chicken curtain up with how glue general of should the sternum." - Jeff7
BUY MY STUFF! [Wacom Create, Bionic, G13, Nook Color] MY STUFF, YOU WANT TO BUY IT!
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety,
deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
destrekor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:37 AM   #11
funboy6942
Lifer
 
funboy6942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dyer, TN.
Posts: 13,649
Default

Epson Workforce 840, on 4 different computers and have had no problems at all.
funboy6942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:56 PM   #12
Spades45
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el-Capitan View Post
I have a wireless HP. It is a terrible printer with worse software (I feel your hate), but since I put it on a static IP (via the printer setup, not the router) I have never had issues 'finding' it.

Pick an address beyond your router's DHCP range.
this should work, these things are just really finicky. i have a hp all in one
Spades45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:45 PM   #13
Jabrono
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 33
Default

I've been using an MX870 wirelessly for a couple of years.

Initially I had issues but resolved them all by giving the printer a static IP in my router - zero connectivity problems since.
Jabrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:15 PM   #14
gsaldivar
Diamond Member
 
gsaldivar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 8,631
Default

Many wireless printers are capable of accepting print jobs over Ethernet or Wi-fi, but not both at the same time. If your printer is connected to a wired network, disconnecting the Ethernet cable might prevent the printer from "losing" the wireless connection and might make wireless printing more reliable.

Good luck.
__________________
150,000 people are imprisoned in North Korea's brutal prison camps. From birth to death, entire generations are kept in absolute misery behind an electric fence. Please take a few minutes of your day to hear their story, and use your own voice to speak out for those who don't have one.
gsaldivar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:01 PM   #15
lakedude
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,410
Default

Epson NX430 works perfectly on wireless for scanning or printing @ our house. Pretty sure it is set up with a static IP...
lakedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:53 AM   #16
antef
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 326
Default

Thanks guys, I think I'm good now. I turned it on the other day and it still had the static IP and I was able to print and scan. In the past I've never had much luck setting static IPs from devices instead of on the router, but in this case it worked great, so thanks el-Capitan for that suggestion. It did initially show offline still when I turned it on, and even told me it was offline in a pop-up when I tried to print, but as destrekor mentioned, after a few moments it came online and the print went through. Very glad to have this working, hopefully it will continue to, thanks for the help!
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | 4x4 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 | PowerColor PCS+ Radeon HD 7950 | Crucial m4 128 GB | Samsung SpinPoint 500 GB | Seasonic G Series 450W | SilverStone PS07 | Win 8.1 Pro
antef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.