Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 07:26 PM   #1
LongN3ck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default Power Supply Calculator

this should probably be sticky'd

http://support.asus.com/powersupply.aspx
LongN3ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:09 AM   #2
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

What for? There are plenty of PSU calculators out there that are not stickied. I don't see how this Asus calculator is any better, in fact it seems to have fewer options than Thermaltake's calculator, for instance. It seems to overestimate the needed wattage to compensate for bad quality units, just like all the other calculators.

Also, wattage isn't everything. What's more important is the amount of amps on the +12V rail(s), the number of connectors needed for your graphics card, and the quality and reliability of the unit.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 01-26-2013 at 03:12 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:03 AM   #3
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,713
Default

The PSU calculator is slightly flawed. I matched the my specs and the calculator churns out a 400W requirement. Definitely could do with less but I find it fair as most PSUs that I purchase is a minimum of 500W. What's flawed is when I add in a single HD7970 and the wattage shoots up to 700W. You certainly do not need that much for a HD7970, realistically 550-600W is plenty.

The hilarious part is that the calculator allows me to account for two Core i5 3570Ks. I'd wish.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:20 AM   #4
GeeKayCee
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 6
Default

The Asus one is one of the worst ones, for certain. Gave a system that runs fine on 520W PSU an 800W as recommended, instead. Hmm, come comes? Aha... Asus makes PSU as well. Make your conclusions, gentelmen.
GeeKayCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:07 AM   #5
mikeymikec
Diamond Member
 
mikeymikec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 4,332
Default

PSU calculators (all the ones I've seen) are fatally flawed. The only way of making them vaguely accurate would be to make a short list of decent PSUs / brands of PSU and run the tests using those, and have a disclaimer of "if you're not using a PSU on this list, you may as well be using a ouija board to calculate the answer to your question".
mikeymikec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:26 PM   #6
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

XD said my pc requires 700W when it doesn't even break 600W barely 550W

Last edited by Durvelle27; 01-26-2013 at 12:31 PM.
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:34 PM   #7
LongN3ck
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 20
Default

fair points. perhaps a list of all the calculators, since a majority of posts here seem to be about needed wattage.
LongN3ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:42 PM   #8
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,930
Default

None of the calculators are useful enough to be stickied. All of them estimate (or should I say overestimate) the PSU wattage, none of them calculate actual peak power consumption. Perhaps instead there should be a sticky with information about how to judge how much power your system uses, how to decide the PSU wattage needed, and whether a particular PSU is worth buying or not.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 01:14 PM   #9
zeeshanaayan07
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Some time we can't use it without electricity
zeeshanaayan07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:37 PM   #10
Phynaz
Diamond Member
 
Phynaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,658
Default

Lol, that calculator added 200 watts for an HD7850 card, which is a 105w card.

It says I need a 550w supply for my system, which draws 200w from the wall when fully loaded.
Phynaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:21 PM   #11
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,561
Default

An i3/i5 pc with a 7850 won't take more than 200-220W peak while gaming, (more in furmark). The online calculators overestimate the power requirements alot.
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:28 PM   #12
Vectronic
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 489
Default

ASUS: 400W
Thermaltake: 356W

Actual PSU: 750W
Peak usage: about 270W (hypothetical since I actually haven't measured)

Result: power usage calculators fail, but are accurate enough in my case, re-confirmed my over-powered PSU. (cheap, matched color scheme, don't care)

Edit: MSI's calculator is pretty close (assuming "stock").
Power-On's isn't... though it doesn't have my CPU/GPU either, but it's way off.

Last edited by Vectronic; 02-05-2013 at 07:39 PM.
Vectronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.