Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > PC Gaming

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 09:39 AM   #11351
TheNiceGuy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,383
Default

Hello again all
I have the original BF3 DVD, I think its just basic. An reccommendations on which expansions to get, if any? I don't even know what expansions are available. For my locale, I think popular = better for server selection. I also only play large player (32)full hardcore servers on BFBC, as I enjoy that style.
Thanks again for your help
.
__________________
-B75M R2.0 -i5-3550 -R7870 Twin Frozr III OC (2GB)
-DDR3 PC3-12800 4GBx2=8GB (W3U1600HQ-4G) "CFD ELIXIR"
-SEAGATE Barracuda 120GB (7200.7 8M SATAII NCQ)
-SEAGATE Barracuda 320GB (7200.10 16M SATAII NCQ)
-Corega 22" LCD 1,6801,050 60hz (CG-L22WDG)
-OCZ EvoStream 600W -Windows 7/64
TheNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:56 AM   #11352
darkewaffle
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: pa
Posts: 7,420
Default

Personally I'd wait for the "premium" edition to go on sale, you can pick up all the DLC for like ~30$ which to me is well worth it.
__________________
heat ebay
oppa gangnam style
darkewaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:58 AM   #11353
GullyFoyle
Diamond Member
 
GullyFoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Steeler Country
Posts: 4,285
Default

Just buy Premium, it contains all the expansions. It's $50 from Origin. If you can buy it from Greenmangaming, there is a code for 20% off, making it $40. The code is on their front page.
__________________
Go to he11, OPEC!
Heatware 54-0-0
BF2 Stats | BFBC2 Stats | BF3 Stats

My Rig: Intel core i5 3570k@4.2GHz | asrock z77 extreme4 | Noctua NH-D14 cpu Cooler | eVGA GTX 760 2 Gb w/ACX cooling | 8 GB Ram | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB ssd | 3.5 TB HD online., antec true power new 550W PS
GullyFoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:15 AM   #11354
Remobz
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GullyFoyle View Post
Just buy Premium, it contains all the expansions. It's $50 from Origin. If you can buy it from Greenmangaming, there is a code for 20% off, making it $40. The code is on their front page.
I never played a single game of BF3 yet. Just bought the Premium last week but I need to find the money and upgrade a few more parts for my new gaming system. Lots of set backs messed me up financially

I been trying to play this damn game since it came out and I am still waiting to play it.

Maybe sometime this year once I get a gaming system completed....argh!!!
Remobz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:38 PM   #11355
chucky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicagoland, IL USA
Posts: 7,819
Default

Played a few rounds of Hardcore last night. I think that's it for me, no return to Normal. Hardcore is much more realistic, although, I must admit, playing recon, it's way harder to find people w/o 3D spotting. I'll take that tradeoff though.

Jets are still OP, and need to be seriously fixed, but, at least in Hardcore w/ no 3D spot, they aren't insane like in Normal.

For those frustrated with the rediculousness of Normal, try Hardcore. You won't regret it!

Chuck
__________________
Tyan = No Support
Chuck's K6-3+
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:05 PM   #11356
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

BF3 recorded at 1080P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXpsn9PVris
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:23 PM   #11357
TheNiceGuy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,383
Default

Does voice chat work properly for all players as standard, as it did in BF2? I never got it working properly in BFBC. That was a big drawback.
__________________
-B75M R2.0 -i5-3550 -R7870 Twin Frozr III OC (2GB)
-DDR3 PC3-12800 4GBx2=8GB (W3U1600HQ-4G) "CFD ELIXIR"
-SEAGATE Barracuda 120GB (7200.7 8M SATAII NCQ)
-SEAGATE Barracuda 320GB (7200.10 16M SATAII NCQ)
-Corega 22" LCD 1,6801,050 60hz (CG-L22WDG)
-OCZ EvoStream 600W -Windows 7/64
TheNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:04 PM   #11358
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,853
Default

nope
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:26 PM   #11359
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chucky2 View Post
Played a few rounds of Hardcore last night. I think that's it for me, no return to Normal. Hardcore is much more realistic, although, I must admit, playing recon, it's way harder to find people w/o 3D spotting. I'll take that tradeoff though.

Jets are still OP, and need to be seriously fixed, but, at least in Hardcore w/ no 3D spot, they aren't insane like in Normal.

For those frustrated with the rediculousness of Normal, try Hardcore. You won't regret it!

Chuck
I think this weekend i'll try to find a nice HC Oman and get to a nice high spot. I bet there is at least the potential to get more kills with the sniper rounds often killing in one shot. Spotting isn't a big issue on that map. Its pretty open.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:49 AM   #11360
TheNiceGuy
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
nope
Thats too bad. chat really made BF2 for me. That really sucks they couldnt add an option for it.
__________________
-B75M R2.0 -i5-3550 -R7870 Twin Frozr III OC (2GB)
-DDR3 PC3-12800 4GBx2=8GB (W3U1600HQ-4G) "CFD ELIXIR"
-SEAGATE Barracuda 120GB (7200.7 8M SATAII NCQ)
-SEAGATE Barracuda 320GB (7200.10 16M SATAII NCQ)
-Corega 22" LCD 1,6801,050 60hz (CG-L22WDG)
-OCZ EvoStream 600W -Windows 7/64
TheNiceGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:56 AM   #11361
1b0b1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Guys, I need your expertise on this one.

As you can see from my sig, I have a gtx680 lightning and an i7 3770k which I overclocked to 4.4Ghz. The monitor that I play on is a samsung 23" 1920x1080 , 2ms, 3d, 120hz. However, I feel like there is something weird going on. Even with those 2 components, I am still unable to play BF3 on ultra settings (vsync off), it feels sluggish and not smooth, and the worst part is, my fps is actually higher than 60 almost all the time, how can this happen ? this is my first problem.

My second problem is, if something intense happens, like explosions and you know the rest, my fps drops below 30 during that scene and then go back to 60+. Is this normal ? I understand that BF3 multiplayer is a cpu dependent game but is it safe to consider that my CPU with its current settings is the bottleneck ?

My third and last problem, I know that recording takes drops the FPS but wait, I am using fraps, installed and recording to a second HDD. Since I am unable to play on ultra smoothly, even without fraps, I selected the Auto settings and my fps was like 110+ all the time. However, the moment i start recording my fps drops like 40-50 instantly, and no, I haven't selected the lock frame while recording option under fraps.

Besides all of this, I've used MSI afterburner to monitor the GPU temps and usage while gaming. I have to say that everything looks good, temps are between high 50's and 63c. Usage is 99% almost all the time and the clock speed is reaching its maximum for this card which is 1241mhz or something.

I would really appreciate if you guys could help me sort those problems out, it is really annoying.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770K @4.4Ghz (1.208v~1.224v) / CM Hyper 212 EVO / Asrock Z77 Extreme4 / MSI GTX 680 Lightning / WD Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM 64 MB / Corsair Force GT 240 GB / Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) / Corsair TX850M Watt / Samsung S23A950D, 1920x1080, 23", 120hz, 3D, 2ms / NZXT Phantom 410 Gun Metal
1b0b1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:08 AM   #11362
1b0b1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
what did you use for recording/rendering.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770K @4.4Ghz (1.208v~1.224v) / CM Hyper 212 EVO / Asrock Z77 Extreme4 / MSI GTX 680 Lightning / WD Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM 64 MB / Corsair Force GT 240 GB / Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) / Corsair TX850M Watt / Samsung S23A950D, 1920x1080, 23", 120hz, 3D, 2ms / NZXT Phantom 410 Gun Metal
1b0b1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:39 AM   #11363
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1b0b1 View Post
what did you use for recording/rendering.
Fraps
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:17 AM   #11364
1b0b1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durvelle27 View Post
Fraps
A little more details would be great though , like what settings, fps locked ? what did you use to render the video and which format... thanks anyways
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770K @4.4Ghz (1.208v~1.224v) / CM Hyper 212 EVO / Asrock Z77 Extreme4 / MSI GTX 680 Lightning / WD Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM 64 MB / Corsair Force GT 240 GB / Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) / Corsair TX850M Watt / Samsung S23A950D, 1920x1080, 23", 120hz, 3D, 2ms / NZXT Phantom 410 Gun Metal
1b0b1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:23 AM   #11365
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1b0b1 View Post
A little more details would be great though , like what settings, fps locked ? what did you use to render the video and which format... thanks anyways
Fraps

Video Capture settings:

30 FPS as YouTube can't handle anything above that

Full-Size


Sound Capture Settings:

Record Win7 sound - Stereo as YouTube doesn't support multichannel

I do not lock frame-rate while recording
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 10:34 AM   #11366
sigurros81
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,380
Default

New info on final expansion "End Game". New Air Superiority mode for all you air junkies. I'd go ahead and call it what it really is, Jet Superiority mode. Haha, kidding, but I do get raped by jets a lot these days.

http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/a...lefield-3.aspx
sigurros81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:17 AM   #11367
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1b0b1 View Post
Guys, I need your expertise on this one.

As you can see from my sig, I have a gtx680 lightning and an i7 3770k which I overclocked to 4.4Ghz. The monitor that I play on is a samsung 23" 1920x1080 , 2ms, 3d, 120hz. However, I feel like there is something weird going on. Even with those 2 components, I am still unable to play BF3 on ultra settings (vsync off), it feels sluggish and not smooth, and the worst part is, my fps is actually higher than 60 almost all the time, how can this happen ? this is my first problem.

My second problem is, if something intense happens, like explosions and you know the rest, my fps drops below 30 during that scene and then go back to 60+. Is this normal ? I understand that BF3 multiplayer is a cpu dependent game but is it safe to consider that my CPU with its current settings is the bottleneck ?

My third and last problem, I know that recording takes drops the FPS but wait, I am using fraps, installed and recording to a second HDD. Since I am unable to play on ultra smoothly, even without fraps, I selected the Auto settings and my fps was like 110+ all the time. However, the moment i start recording my fps drops like 40-50 instantly, and no, I haven't selected the lock frame while recording option under fraps.

Besides all of this, I've used MSI afterburner to monitor the GPU temps and usage while gaming. I have to say that everything looks good, temps are between high 50's and 63c. Usage is 99% almost all the time and the clock speed is reaching its maximum for this card which is 1241mhz or something.

I would really appreciate if you guys could help me sort those problems out, it is really annoying.
Your problem is difficult to pin down since much of the problem is perceived rather than measurable (at least i don't know how to measure it, maybe someone else does). You mention that it doesn't feel smooth, yet your FPS is high. Sometimes I notice little jitters or shakes when I pan around in BF3. Its not always there, but this is a perceived stuttering that I notice despite high FPS. Its not always like that though.
Dips into the lower 30's with a single card can be expected, but below that seems a little odd. Your CPU is not bottlenecking your single 680 I am pretty certain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigurros81 View Post
New info on final expansion "End Game". New Air Superiority mode for all you air junkies. I'd go ahead and call it what it really is, Jet Superiority mode. Haha, kidding, but I do get raped by jets a lot these days.

http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/a...lefield-3.aspx
So....oh crap then? This could be BAD for snipers. Why can't those buzzards just let me snipe in peace? They might as well have called it, "Rip off sniper's head and s**t down his neck mode".
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1

Last edited by moonbogg; 01-29-2013 at 11:21 AM.
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:10 PM   #11368
chucky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicagoland, IL USA
Posts: 7,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigurros81 View Post
New info on final expansion "End Game". New Air Superiority mode for all you air junkies. I'd go ahead and call it what it really is, Jet Superiority mode. Haha, kidding, but I do get raped by jets a lot these days.

http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/a...lefield-3.aspx
They're re-releasing the same game they have now?
__________________
Tyan = No Support
Chuck's K6-3+
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:12 PM   #11369
1b0b1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
Your problem is difficult to pin down since much of the problem is perceived rather than measurable (at least i don't know how to measure it, maybe someone else does). You mention that it doesn't feel smooth, yet your FPS is high. Sometimes I notice little jitters or shakes when I pan around in BF3. Its not always there, but this is a perceived stuttering that I notice despite high FPS. Its not always like that though.
Dips into the lower 30's with a single card can be expected, but below that seems a little odd. Your CPU is not bottlenecking your single 680 I am pretty certain.

I tried every possible solution with no luck.
thanks anyways
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770K @4.4Ghz (1.208v~1.224v) / CM Hyper 212 EVO / Asrock Z77 Extreme4 / MSI GTX 680 Lightning / WD Caviar Black 1 TB 7200 RPM 64 MB / Corsair Force GT 240 GB / Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) / Corsair TX850M Watt / Samsung S23A950D, 1920x1080, 23", 120hz, 3D, 2ms / NZXT Phantom 410 Gun Metal
1b0b1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:34 PM   #11370
Zargon
Lifer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 11,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post


So....oh crap then? This could be BAD for snipers. Why can't those buzzards just let me snipe in peace? They might as well have called it, "Rip off sniper's head and s**t down his neck mode".
so dont play it then
__________________
heatware | steam | ebay
Reaumur(Gamer): Silverstone Raven02, Antec HCG900, Z77 Fata1ity/3770K, 16GB DDR3-1833, 2x7950@1Ghz, 27" IPS
Kelvin(3D-HTPC):Q9550 w/H50, P5G41, 4GB DDR2-1066, 5870 w accellero xtreme
Chill(Server): Thuban x6@3.3 wH50 8gb ddr3 4x1.5tb ESXi
Zargon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:52 PM   #11371
GullyFoyle
Diamond Member
 
GullyFoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Steeler Country
Posts: 4,285
Default

For the PC players that didn't get BF1943...From battlefield.wikia.com

Quote:
The only objective in the Air Superiority mode is to eliminate the enemy aircraft and secure the air above the map. In order to take the control of the air the team must have more players in the air than the opposite team. Leaving the aircraft carrier or the plane once you're away from the carrier results in death within 9 seconds. The team which runs out of tickets first loses the match.
__________________
Go to he11, OPEC!
Heatware 54-0-0
BF2 Stats | BFBC2 Stats | BF3 Stats

My Rig: Intel core i5 3570k@4.2GHz | asrock z77 extreme4 | Noctua NH-D14 cpu Cooler | eVGA GTX 760 2 Gb w/ACX cooling | 8 GB Ram | Samsung 840 EVO 120GB ssd | 3.5 TB HD online., antec true power new 550W PS
GullyFoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:05 PM   #11372
moonbogg
Diamond Member
 
moonbogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
so dont play it then
Oh i'll play alright. I'll play.
__________________
3930K @ 4.3 - 16GB DDR3 @ 1600 - 2X GTX 670 SLI(2GB) - SAMSUNG 830 SSD - 1920X1080 @ 120HZ - WINDOWS 8.1
moonbogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:17 PM   #11373
chucky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicagoland, IL USA
Posts: 7,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GullyFoyle View Post
For the PC players that didn't get BF1943...From battlefield.wikia.com
So it's basically about 80% of how the air should have been from the get go in BF3. If only they could apply this to the rest of the BF3 series...
__________________
Tyan = No Support
Chuck's K6-3+
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:42 PM   #11374
sigurros81
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chucky2 View Post
So it's basically about 80% of how the air should have been from the get go in BF3. If only they could apply this to the rest of the BF3 series...
Sounds like BF3 is not the game for you, or are you complaining just to complain?
sigurros81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:28 PM   #11375
chucky2
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Chicagoland, IL USA
Posts: 7,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sigurros81 View Post
Sounds like BF3 is not the game for you, or are you complaining just to complain?
It is actually, I like it. I just play only on Hardcore now, and Infantry only when available. Not as nice, because I do enjoy having the helis and thus jets part of the game, but, it's a tradoff I'm willing to make. Hardcore + Infantry only = so much better on the realism scale.

I just find it ironic, and funny, that they're coming out with an add-on that is how the game should have been mostly for jets from the start.

Chuck
__________________
Tyan = No Support
Chuck's K6-3+
chucky2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battlefield;bf3

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.