Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Video Cards and Graphics

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2013, 12:24 PM   #776
Smartazz
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,128
Default

I figured out the best clocks for me. 1GHz at 1.1 volts and 1.3GHz memory is very quiet and still provides great performance.
__________________
i5 2500K@4.6GHz, 16GB G.SKILL 1600MHz, R9 290x, Seasonic X850, X-Fi Fatal1ty, Samsung 830 and 840 with Antec 1200.
Retina MacBook Pro 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB, 512GB SSD
Achieva Shimian, Das Keyboard, Logitech G400 and Razer Scarab.
Smartazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:07 PM   #777
Bipedal Humanoid
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: C:\WINDOWS
Posts: 45
Default

Ok, so I have come to the conclusion that those white flashes are 'normal' and I have nothing to worry about. Likely they are something similar to those black glitches people see in DX9 games. 'Normal' as in 'something AMD may or may not fix down the road with a driver update. I still don't know what is causing those white flashes, but at least I've convinced myself for now that I don't need to RMA this card.
__________________
i7-3770k . GA-Z77X-UD3H . 7950BST . 2x4GB DDR3 . OCZ Agility 3 60GB Boot Drive . 2xWD Blue 320GB RAID 0 . Antec CP-850 . 7 64-bit
Bipedal Humanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 10:28 PM   #778
Plimogz
Senior Member
 
Plimogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Off Topic
Posts: 601
Default

I've seen those before.

I just ran a part of Heaven in an attempt to remember; I didn't have the flashes but I seem to remember that it had to do with the settings used.

Try using different settings than you usually use (judging by the video you linked, I don't think tesselation is the variable). But I seem to remember that it might have been a bug and not an overclock artifact.

(though there is the usual confusion... lol)
__________________
2500K/P67A-UD5/HCP-850/2xTF3 7950/4x4GB RipjawsX 1600/120GB Vertex3/1TB Caviar Black/3x2TB Caviar Green ...
Plimogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:02 PM   #779
Bipedal Humanoid
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: C:\WINDOWS
Posts: 45
Default

And I wasn't even running Heaven oc'd! Thanks for easing my mind.

Other than that, here's my stable OC. (ran Hitman: Absolution for about 30 mins and Future Soldier for about 20, Future Soldier froze with the clocks up to 1175)

Not bad for such a low ASIC score I suppose.

__________________
i7-3770k . GA-Z77X-UD3H . 7950BST . 2x4GB DDR3 . OCZ Agility 3 60GB Boot Drive . 2xWD Blue 320GB RAID 0 . Antec CP-850 . 7 64-bit
Bipedal Humanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 11:50 PM   #780
thujone
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,114
Default

honestly... i think asic scores don't truly correspond to a card's performance. i know mine is pretty high (can't recall off the top of my head. high 80's maybe?) but i can just barely hit 1100... and even that took some effort and i don't run it at that most of the time because of how loud it gets.

but i also probably need better fans in my case :p
__________________
heat|ebay|email
thujone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:53 AM   #781
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
24/7 use. There are even cards that get closer to 1200mhz for 24/7 use

Quote:
Geez.. You guys got nice samples. Mine's ASIC score is 62.x or something and it maxes out 1050 Max. (stock vCore) I lowered it to 1000 Mhx to give it a breathing room. Have been satisfied by the performance so I don't think I will fiddle with voltages.
What make/model is it and how are your temps?
Gigabyte 3-fan model (forgot the marketing name, rofl) The temp is exceptionally good, rarely going over 55C.

edit: WindForce! I remembered. xD

Last edited by lopri; 01-26-2013 at 08:59 AM.
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:47 PM   #782
makken
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,460
Default

anyone getting stability issues with the 13.1 WHQL drivers? I updated from 12.11 beta and have gotten a couple display driver crashes and BSODs while gaming
makken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 03:48 AM   #783
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lopri View Post
Gigabyte 3-fan model (forgot the marketing name, rofl) The temp is exceptionally good, rarely going over 55C.

edit: WindForce! I remembered. xD
That Gigabyte model is typically very receptive for over voltage. I have read that even a voltage of 1.25-1.30V is nothing to fuss about, it's good for 24/7 use. Most likely your stock voltage is well below that - can you check what MSI Afterburner says (unlock voltage control in the settings)?

Given your excellent temperatures, I would not hesitate to climb to 1.2V with MSI Afterburner and finding the highest clocks for that voltage. Remember to also monitor VRM temperatures with GPU-Z, keep them below 90C and you're good. The VRM temperatures will be the first to rise with increased voltage.
__________________
System specs
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:11 AM   #784
Elcs
Diamond Member
 
Elcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Posts: 5,998
Default

I cannot get 1000 mhz stable core with my XFX Double D (tested in Crysis 2, MWO, Star Conflict and Hawken. All crash). This is with 1.030v voltage. Temps hit 66-67C and don't go over that. Using +20% PowerTune as well.

Tried on the 12.11 Beta 11's, 13.1's and 13.2 Betas.

Trixx seems to let me go up to 1.130v. Might see how far I get with that. MSI Afterburner does not unlock voltage control despite how much I prod, poke and Google it.
__________________
Game Reviews & Previews: http://www.elcomesoft.com

When in deadly danger, When beset by doubt, Run in little circles, Wave your arms and shout.
Parody of the Litany of Command

Steam: ElcomeSoft
GFWL: GamerElcs
Elcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:45 AM   #785
lehtv
Diamond Member
 
lehtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9,893
Default

1.030V is not much for a 7950 at all, though I'm not familiar with how XFX cards handle voltage. The DD cooler isn't up to par with Windforce or Dual-X but your core temperature - also remember to check VRM temps with GPU-Z - suggests that the maximum 1.13V is doable. Assuming of course that the card isn't voltage locked. Even though trixx allows for it, adjusting the slider may not actually have any effect, this seems especially possible if you can't adjust voltage in AB.
__________________
System specs

Last edited by lehtv; 01-27-2013 at 07:48 AM.
lehtv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:49 PM   #786
lopri
Elite Member
 
lopri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 9,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lehtv View Post
Given your excellent temperatures, I would not hesitate to climb to 1.2V with MSI Afterburner and finding the highest clocks for that voltage. Remember to also monitor VRM temperatures with GPU-Z, keep them below 90C and you're good. The VRM temperatures will be the first to rise with increased voltage.
Oh, I did fiddle with voltages when I first got the card. I know it could do more. It's my subjective decision to use the card overclocked under stock voltage. (which I believe to be 1.05V under load)
lopri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:52 AM   #787
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

So is the 7xxx series having that much issues? (artifacting, stuttering, flashes, etc?)
The game bundles are so nice that I would get a 7950 right about now but those issues will annoy me too much I know it...
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:22 AM   #788
hjalti8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
So is the 7xxx series having that much issues? (artifacting, stuttering, flashes, etc?)
The game bundles are so nice that I would get a 7950 right about now but those issues will annoy me too much I know it...
I had texture flickering in dx9 games with the 12.11 driver. I dont remember if the 13.1 driver had the same problems but the 13.2 beta got rid of the flickering and has been solid so far.

I can't comment on the stuttering since I never played the affected games but according to techreport it has been fixed with the 13.2beta: http://techreport.com/review/24218/a...-frame-times/2
hjalti8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:39 PM   #789
Clump
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Last night I installed a MSI R7950 Twin Frozor that I ordered from Newegg the day before.

Here's the unexpected - I noticed in afterburner that the core is clocked at 960 MHz and the memory is 1250. This is un-messed-with.

Verified with GPU-Z:


It was supposed to be 880/1000. I'm not complaining, but I can't find reference anywhere to an increase in the default clocks.

Anybody else seen any like this>
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
i7 920 @ 3.8 GHZ (200 BCLK x 19)
TRUE 1366 push/pull
6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Sapphire 4870X2
1x WD Cavier Black 1TB SATA
1x WD 500GB SATA
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Samsung SH-S202G DVD-R/W
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Vista Home Premium X64
Clump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:09 PM   #790
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clump View Post
Last night I installed a MSI R7950 Twin Frozor that I ordered from Newegg the day before.

Here's the unexpected - I noticed in afterburner that the core is clocked at 960 MHz and the memory is 1250. This is un-messed-with.

Verified with GPU-Z:


It was supposed to be 880/1000. I'm not complaining, but I can't find reference anywhere to an increase in the default clocks.

Anybody else seen any like this>
Just bought the same card from newegg and it should be here tomorrow. I will post here what the stock settings are on it.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:21 PM   #791
spinejam
Diamond Member
 
spinejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lumberton, NC
Posts: 3,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clump View Post
Last night I installed a MSI R7950 Twin Frozor that I ordered from Newegg the day before.

Here's the unexpected - I noticed in afterburner that the core is clocked at 960 MHz and the memory is 1250. This is un-messed-with.

Verified with GPU-Z:


It was supposed to be 880/1000. I'm not complaining, but I can't find reference anywhere to an increase in the default clocks.

Anybody else seen any like this>

Nope -- and I've had ~10 of 'em!

Let us know how she overclocks -- tia.
__________________
Heatware
Asus P67 Sabertooth | 2700k @4.8 Ghz | H80 Cooler |
2x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @2133Mhz | Corsair ForceGT 180GB x2 RAID0 | Seagate 3TB |
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC (1200c 1600m - Hynix) | Samsung SH-S223Q x2 | CoolerMaster HAF-922 | Antec HCG 900W | Shimian QH270-IPSI 2560x1440 Tempered Glass
spinejam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:28 AM   #792
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

I guess a Gigabyte HD7950 for 289CAD including Bioshock Infinite and Crysis 3 coupons is considered a damn sweet deal?
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:40 AM   #793
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

will have mines soon
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 08:58 AM   #794
hjalti8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhezuss View Post
I guess a Gigabyte HD7950 for 289CAD including Bioshock Infinite and Crysis 3 coupons is considered a damn sweet deal?
its a nice deal but I am pretty sure that card is voltage locked so if that matters to you I would try and find a twin frozr 7950
hjalti8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:03 AM   #795
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hjalti8 View Post
its a nice deal but I am pretty sure that card is voltage locked so if that matters to you I would try and find a twin frozr 7950
Nah, doesn't really matter since I don't OC like hell. My current 6950 is OCed with CCC lol so no need to have an unlocked voltage.

I just placed the order, too sweet a deal to pass on it. The 2 games included are so cool too and for under 300 bucks for a 7950, it is a no brainer.
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:19 PM   #796
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,903
Default

Well I received my MSI TF3 7950 today. Actually got lucky and got one with a 7970 PCB. Unfortunately newegg did not include the game codes. Apparently there is some issue on the newegg.ca website where none of the promotion items are included when you complete a order...

haha, newegg won't provide the codes either. Going to return this thing.. fail on newegg's part.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:49 PM   #797
Grooveriding
Diamond Member
 
Grooveriding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 5,903
Default

Success! After some escalation with newegg they realized there is an issue with the game codes not being provided since the SKU shows out of stock on newegg.ca even though there is stock available. They've agreed to give me a code once the issue is fixed and they show in stock on the Canadian site.

My card also has 960/1250 clocks and is on an AMD reference 7970 PCB.




I had a 7850 in this machine before and didn't really do much tweaking on it. Going to see what this one can do with some voltage.
__________________
3930K 4.8Ghz | RIVE | 16GB 2133 Dominator Platinum | 780ti SLI | Evo 500GB Raid 0 | Dell U3011 | EVGA 1300W PSU
under custom water
Grooveriding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 12:56 PM   #798
Durvelle27
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 4,102
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post
Success! After some escalation with newegg they realized there is an issue with the game codes not being provided since the SKU shows out of stock on newegg.ca even though there is stock available. They've agreed to give me a code once the issue is fixed and they show in stock on the Canadian site.

My card also has 960/1250 clocks and is on an AMD reference 7970 PCB.




I had a 7850 in this machine before and didn't really do much tweaking on it. Going to see what this one can do with some voltage.
would love to see what clocks you achieve as i to just bought a MSi Twin Frozr III HD 7950
Durvelle27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:28 PM   #799
Rhezuss
Diamond Member
 
Rhezuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,037
Default

Best drivers to use with the 7950 would be the 13.2 beta?
__________________
Maturity is for boring people

Win7 Pro 64-bit | ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | i7 3770K w/ 212 EVO @ 4.4GHz | G.skill Ares 2x4gb DDR3-1866 | M4 128gb SSD (Boot) + WD RE4 500gb (Games) + WD Blue 320gb | Gigabyte HD 7950 WF3 3gb (F43) @ 950/1300 | X-Fi Titanium HD | XFX TS 650W 80+ Gold | LG 23" LCD 1080p | CM690 II Advanced | Logitech Z623 |
Rhezuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:49 PM   #800
Clump
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grooveriding View Post

My card also has 960/1250 clocks and is on an AMD reference 7970 PCB.
Guess that's the new standard. Kind of odd that MSI doesn't mention it.

Thanks for clearing that up. From what I know mine isn't the 7970 PCB, it has 2 x 6 pin power connectors.
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
i7 920 @ 3.8 GHZ (200 BCLK x 19)
TRUE 1366 push/pull
6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Sapphire 4870X2
1x WD Cavier Black 1TB SATA
1x WD 500GB SATA
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
Samsung SH-S202G DVD-R/W
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Case
Vista Home Premium X64
Clump is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.