Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2013, 10:21 AM   #1
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,164
Default So will a newer router really make a difference in my wifi range?

I currently use a Netgear "Rangemax" Dual Band Wireless N router, DGND3300, it is my dsl modem as well. Wifi sucks in parts of my house and signal drops and not consistant and when I do have signal for a brief period it is very weak. Moving my router isnt an option, will a newer or more expensive router really solve my issue? One story house
SAWYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:24 AM   #2
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 16,568
Default

Maybe yes, maybe no. I have no experience with that router, but the range on some routers is definitely better than others. Judging by the name though it sounds they are pushing its abilities for range.

What about powerline or MoCA, either direct to the client, or else to a second WiFi access point?
__________________

OS X & iOS: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD | iPad 2
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: RAZR HD | Nexus 7
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
SAWYER
Lifer
 
SAWYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 14,164
Default

My router sits next to my pc
SAWYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:03 AM   #4
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,329
Default

If you're wanting some serious range, try this Ubiquiti UniFi AP.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco terrorism Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric Failure Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State emergency Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:27 AM   #5
JackMDS
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
JackMDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 26,053
Default

There are few factors in "Depressed" WIFI service at home.

1. "Lousy" choice of current Router.

2. Good Choice of Router but "lousy" specific unit.

3. Wireless clients with "lousy" Client Wireless cards.

3. Environment full of electrical noise an obstructions.

4. Unrealistic Users expectation based on wishful think and ignorance.

Solutions.

1. Get the best Router with a potential to work well.

Currently it is probably this one - Asus RT-N66U -RT-N66U

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833320091


2. Use a good laptop with very good Wireless card to survey and evaluate the environment.

Usually a Brand name ABGN modern card would do (if you are not sure use Apple MacBook).

3. Play around with positioning of the Wireless Router in the environment while using the Laptop running a program like this, http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wireless_network_view.html

4. If none of the above help than you need to lay additional Cat6 cable and add Wireless Routers configured as an Access Point. http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html

Most important is to understand that if One faces, I can not move the Router, I can not add even one cable, ans similar restrictions. Then Up in the sky it was probably marked as One fate against One having a good WIFI service. One can keep complaining because it good for the soul, but the WIFI will sill be bad.


__________________
Jack
Microsoft, MVP - Networking.

Last edited by JackMDS; 01-24-2013 at 11:36 AM.
JackMDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.