Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2015
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-2012, 01:13 PM   #1
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,276
Default Add a self-made Start button to the Windows 8 desktop

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/win...8-desktop/7024
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 03:29 PM   #2
Rhonda the Sly
Senior Member
 
Rhonda the Sly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 804
Default

I'm usin Windows 8 stock but I'm curious, does this create a new instance of Explorer when run?
__________________
Replaced old worthless sig with new worthless sig.
Rhonda the Sly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:04 PM   #3
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4,276
Default

I don't know for sure but probably not.. i'd try it out and see. i haven't been able to yet
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:05 AM   #4
nOOky
Senior Member
 
nOOky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 870
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chiefcrowe View Post
I tried this last night. Didn't like it, it made a start button that just took me to a list off all my apps.
That link also contained another link to make Windows boot straight to the desktop, but annoyingly the Explorer window would open up which you have to close so I undid that also.

I'll stick with classic shell, it gives me the traditional start button, shutdown menu, and links to my programs and apps.
nOOky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.