Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Networking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 02:42 PM   #1
maddogchen
Diamond Member
 
maddogchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7,907
Default 5ghz wireless network range issue, signal fades after 5 feet

I have a Netgear WNDR4500 thats set up in my living room. It has both 2.4ghz and 5ghz signals. My iphone connects to both signals. But when I walk 5 feet away from my router, the 5ghz signal drops a bar and then it switches over to 2.4 ghz. When I have my laptop on my couch which is about 10 feet away in the same room, it always picks up the 2.4 ghz because its much stronger. The 2.4ghz signal is great. I can walk across the street from my house and my iphone says i have full wifi bars. But the 5 ghz not so good. Walk out of my living room and I get barely any signal.

I have the latest firmware from netgear. support from them hasn't been helpful at all. There are no obvious obstructions in the way of signal strength in the living room. My neighbor does seem to have his own 5ghz router. But I'm doubtful that his signal cuts mine in half in my own living room since our houses are 10 feet apart. I've changed channels too, tried it from (i don't remember the exact numbers) 145? to 161? and it hasn't improved anything. I've scanned the nearby wireless networks and I'm not using the same channels as others. I have the latest firmware update from Netgear.

Any ideas? I mainly want it to be able to have a strong 5ghz signal from my couch 10 feet away in the same room.

Thanks
maddogchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:57 PM   #2
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

That sounds like the 5Gh antenna isn't attached on the router. 5 Ghz doesn't penetrate as well as 2.4 Ghz, but not nearly to the detriment you're seeing.
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:12 PM   #3
maddogchen
Diamond Member
 
maddogchen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spidey07 View Post
That sounds like the 5Gh antenna isn't attached on the router. 5 Ghz doesn't penetrate as well as 2.4 Ghz, but not nearly to the detriment you're seeing.
That doesn't sound good...so return?
maddogchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:19 PM   #4
spidey07
No Lifer
 
spidey07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 65,476
Default

Try turning off the 2.4 radio and see what happens. If you aren't getting good signal strength within 10-15 feet something's wrong. You've already tried changing 5 gig channel so maybe try some further apart. There isn't a whole lot that interferes with 5 gig, some baby monitors/video repeaters but it's rare. I assume you don't have other devices that use "wireless", even if it's not "802.11 WiFi"?
__________________
___
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")
spidey07 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.