Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > All Things Apple

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 11:14 AM   #1
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,344
Default So I pull out my good old macbook 13 - from 2006

A1181 C2D 2.0. Added 4gb to it, waiting for a SSD.. It still runs fairly fast with a 7200 drive. Install lion on it.

The original battery died, order a replacement from OWC.

Im looking into the plugbug world as it comes with a nifty 2nd usb charger for ipads

I never got into a mac but getting back to using it. Is there something like a battery reset software like lenovo's power manager where it drains and recharges and gives you spec about the battery ?

Have to say, for a 7yr old mac, it still runs great..

BTW anyone use or suggest any of those palm rest guard ? i have it in white and its practically brand new
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:39 AM   #2
Kaido
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29,551
Default

I was going to say just use TwelveSouth for the wristpads, but apparently they only do back as far as the plastic unibodies. You might have a hard time finding commercially-available wristpad protectors for a Macbook that old, but if you go on eBay and search for "A1181 wrap" you can find some stickers that would do the job. I used to have some fuzzy palm protectors that did a nice job, but they got dirty and also made the lid a bit hard to close, so the stickers would probably be better anyway.

As far as the battery info goes, check out Coconut Battery:

http://www.coconut-flavour.com/

If you want something a bit more serious, Watts ($7) does calibration and stuff:

http://www.binarytricks.com/

Nice upgrades! The SSD will make all the difference in the world. I have a lot of CD/C2D machines at work that I pop SSD's into and it's like a whole new machine. If you don't use the CD drive that much, you can toss your 7200rpm mechanical hard drive in there and use it for backup & data storage. alfa147x has a nice guide somewhere on these forums on using those $10 bay adapters from eBay.
__________________
Dave Likes Food
Kaido is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:14 PM   #3
manly
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,138
Default

The optical drive bay swap doesn't work because the older MacBooks use PATA for the SuperDrive. Thus I'm holding out for a 256GB SSD at the right price, but my patience is wearing thing! My biggest complaint is they max. out at 3GB RAM.
manly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:31 PM   #4
TheStu
Moderator
Mobile Devices & Gadgets
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Posts: 11,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manly View Post
The optical drive bay swap doesn't work because the older MacBooks use PATA for the SuperDrive. Thus I'm holding out for a 256GB SSD at the right price, but my patience is wearing thing! My biggest complaint is they max. out at 3GB RAM.
There are other, more expensive adapters as I recall, but if the thing is 6 years old, then the hdd is probably fairly small anyway.

And Kaido, no kidding about the SSD in those old OG MacBooks. I dropped one into my mom's C2D blackbook, it's like a brand new machine. Heck, it's the SSD that offsets the puny 1.4 GHz C2D in my MacBook Air and makes that thing actually snappy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
The 6770M can play Crysis 2, for suitably small values of play
TheStu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:33 PM   #5
umrigar
Platinum Member
 
umrigar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,088
Default

iBatt 3 is another good utility.
__________________
HEATWARE : davedecay
umrigar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:01 PM   #6
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,344
Default

thanks, those battery software looks good..

I actually done dvd repair on this model for other people before, i have some old 2nd drive caddy that i can probably retrofit.. not sure..

yeah looks like im gonna get some skin for it.
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:11 PM   #7
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manly View Post
The optical drive bay swap doesn't work because the older MacBooks use PATA for the SuperDrive. Thus I'm holding out for a 256GB SSD at the right price, but my patience is wearing thing! My biggest complaint is they max. out at 3GB RAM.
*cough*

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SATA-Cab...dp/B005L91ZL8/

SATA drive caddy for ATA/IDE CD bay.

I'd put the SSD in the "real" HD bay and use the storage drive with the adapter though.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:41 PM   #8
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,835
Default

Yeah, with a 7200 rpm drive and 4 GB RAM it should be OK, but I'd still suggest upgrading to the SSD sooner rather than later.

BTW, I have an SSD in my 2009 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro 13" with 4 GB RAM, and I have no real desire to upgrade any time soon.

The only way I'd upgrade is if I could get a 13" with USB 3, 802.11ac, 256 GB SSD, 8 GB RAM, and Retina screen, for $1300 or so. It looks like I'll be waiting a few years, but in the meantime I'll be fine with my SSD-endowed 2009 C2D MacBook Pro.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:49 PM   #9
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,776
Default

*high fives Eug*
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:10 PM   #10
Kaido
Lifer
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 29,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_the_nerd View Post
*cough*

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SATA-Cab...dp/B005L91ZL8/

SATA drive caddy for ATA/IDE CD bay.

I'd put the SSD in the "real" HD bay and use the storage drive with the adapter though.
OWC sells IDE 2.5" SSD's up to 480gb:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ury_Legacy_Pro
__________________
Dave Likes Food
Kaido is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:27 PM   #11
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
BTW, I have an SSD in my 2009 2.26 GHz Core 2 Duo MacBook Pro 13" with 4 GB RAM, and I have no real desire to upgrade any time soon.
I know exactly how you feel. I was running a late 2008 15" MacBook Pro with 6GB of RAM and an SSD until last month and had no real need to upgrade and would still be using it if I hadn't come into some unexpected money and decided to splurge on a new 15" Retina.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:17 PM   #12
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_the_nerd View Post
*cough*

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SATA-Cab...dp/B005L91ZL8/

SATA drive caddy for ATA/IDE CD bay.

I'd put the SSD in the "real" HD bay and use the storage drive with the adapter though.
It doesn't really matter on a system that old. The PATA interface will top out at 133Mbps and the SATA interface tops out at 150Mbps. Best to leave the mechanical drive in the main bay for the fall sensor.

That's the same caddy I have in my 2007 MBP. It... Works... Mostly.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:42 PM   #13
rsutoratosu
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,344
Default

i have the ssd, its just used between the 10 windows pc i have.. just clearing one out right now.. so far since its not sata3, its either the samsung ssd that i put out of my x220 or the intel 320, other options includes vertex4 but that would be a waste..

i had one of those older owc ssd, they are pretty sluggish
rsutoratosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:52 PM   #14
Tyranicus
Senior Member
 
Tyranicus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
Best to leave the mechanical drive in the main bay for the fall sensor.
The only problem with that is that the system will not wake from sleep if the boot drive is not in the main bay. I had that issue with my old MacBook Pro.
__________________
MacBook Pro - 2.6GHz i7 - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 768GB SSD - GT 650M 1GB - 15.4" 2880x1800 Screen - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1

Desktop - Gigabyte X58A-UD3R - 3.1GHz i7 950 - 12GB (6x2GB) DDR3 1600 - 17.25TB Combined HDD - GTX 670 4GB - OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 - Gateway FHD2400 24" 1920x1200 Display - Razer Black Widow Mechanical Keyboard - Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Tyranicus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:18 AM   #15
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
It doesn't really matter on a system that old. The PATA interface will top out at 133Mbps and the SATA interface tops out at 150Mbps. Best to leave the mechanical drive in the main bay for the fall sensor.

That's the same caddy I have in my 2007 MBP. It... Works... Mostly.
Transfer speed doesn't matter that much. Its all about the low latency. I actually have my slower SSD in my MacBook Pro because it uses less battery power. My slow SSD still feels blistering fast in real life usage, at least compared to any platter drive.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:22 AM   #16
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 17,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaido View Post
OWC sells IDE 2.5" SSD's up to 480gb:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ury_Legacy_Pro
Interesting. I'd almost be tempted to buy one for our G4 iBook, but that G4 can't even play back modern video these days. It just chokes badly. Stutterific, on a good day. Dumping $200 into a G4 is just a waste.

Plus, it's non-Intel Sandforce.

I think the minimum for an effective Mac SSD upgrade is dual-core Intel. But yeah, with some models OWC has suffered with various drive issues when mounting the SSD in the optical bay. These issues did not exist with platter drives.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)

Last edited by Eug; 01-24-2013 at 12:36 AM.
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:15 AM   #17
manly
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 7,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_the_nerd View Post
*cough*

http://www.amazon.com/Micro-SATA-Cab...dp/B005L91ZL8/

SATA drive caddy for ATA/IDE CD bay.

I'd put the SSD in the "real" HD bay and use the storage drive with the adapter though.
Thanks, now I just need a cheap but good SSD.
manly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:58 PM   #18
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaido View Post
OWC sells IDE 2.5" SSD's up to 480gb:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/O...ury_Legacy_Pro
Those are crazy-expensive. I like my way better. (And you'd still need an adapter to throw it in an optical bay.)
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:11 PM   #19
bearxor
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 6,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyranicus View Post
The only problem with that is that the system will not wake from sleep if the boot drive is not in the main bay. I had that issue with my old MacBook Pro.
You're right. I had that problem because originally I had put my SSD in the main bay and the HDD in the optical bay and put my profile on the HDD. Could never go to sleep because my profile would't work. I ended up just not putting it to sleep and shutting it down if I needed to close it. It was super fast to boot back up so it didn't bother me.

But these days you can get big enough SSD's where you hopefully don't have to put your profile on a separate drive. I was doing a 60GB SSD at the time.
__________________
This post paid for by the committee to re-invade Vietnam.
bearxor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:22 PM   #20
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bearxor View Post
You're right. I had that problem because originally I had put my SSD in the main bay and the HDD in the optical bay and put my profile on the HDD. Could never go to sleep because my profile would't work. I ended up just not putting it to sleep and shutting it down if I needed to close it. It was super fast to boot back up so it didn't bother me.

But these days you can get big enough SSD's where you hopefully don't have to put your profile on a separate drive. I was doing a 60GB SSD at the time.
I have my profile on mine, but set up symlinks for Downloads and Movies. Those don't need to be super-fast.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.