Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· AMD Video Cards
· Nvidia
· Displays
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions

Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 281
Default Two Windows 7 questions

Hi gang. Hope you can help with this.

1) Every time I reboot, my mouse setting is reset to default. I have to open up the mouse settings and move the mouse pointer speed up a few notches, since I use 24" monitors. Why won't it retain this setting on a reboot?

2) Is there a way to have different size windows for each sub-directory? For instance, will open and be a certain size in X/Y dimensions. But there's only a few folders, so i want a small wonder, rather than one taking up a lot of real estate. Then I open a subdirectory, say, /pix/, and it has lots of folders and I need a bigger screen. Problem is, the /pix/ window is the same size as the window, and every other window would be the same size as . is there any setting to make each window have its own size?

Traxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:18 PM   #2
Diamond Member
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 9,492

I haven't tried it in a while, but the ctrl-key trick doesn't work any more to remember window size/placement?


Try that maybe?

Or the registry edit here:

Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 16GB RAM / GTX 970 / Samsung EVO 840 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 16GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
Diamond Member
sm625's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,405

If you want windows to remember a certain folder size for a certain folder, then create a shortcut to that folder and use only that shortcut to access that folder.

I have several such folders on my task bar.
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 6700k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 6700k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 281

Well the windows tricks aren't working.

And no one has any ideas on the mouse issue?
Traxan is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Alpha 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.