Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Operating Systems

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Traxan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 227
Default Two Windows 7 questions

Hi gang. Hope you can help with this.

1) Every time I reboot, my mouse setting is reset to default. I have to open up the mouse settings and move the mouse pointer speed up a few notches, since I use 24" monitors. Why won't it retain this setting on a reboot?

2) Is there a way to have different size windows for each sub-directory? For instance, will open and be a certain size in X/Y dimensions. But there's only a few folders, so i want a small wonder, rather than one taking up a lot of real estate. Then I open a subdirectory, say, /pix/, and it has lots of folders and I need a bigger screen. Problem is, the /pix/ window is the same size as the window, and every other window would be the same size as . is there any setting to make each window have its own size?

TIA.
Traxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:18 PM   #2
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,000
Default

I haven't tried it in a while, but the ctrl-key trick doesn't work any more to remember window size/placement?

http://www.southbaypc.com/AutoSizer/

Try that maybe?

Or the registry edit here:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...f-f081d106a19b
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
NAS: Foxconn D-70S-P (Celeron 1037U) / 4GB DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 1x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200, / Fractal Node 804.
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,937
Default

If you want windows to remember a certain folder size for a certain folder, then create a shortcut to that folder and use only that shortcut to access that folder.

I have several such folders on my task bar.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
Traxan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 227
Default

Well the windows tricks aren't working.

And no one has any ideas on the mouse issue?
Traxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.