Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 12:33 AM   #1
coldhart
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Default Onboard sound is horrible

I have Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev 2 Mobo few days ago when i asked customer care about windows 8 driver they told me to update the bios so i did but after updating bios everything is working fine but bass completely overwhelms entire music like im in hall or something

Im using brainwavz M2 earphone

after installing latest audio driver from gigabyte it installed some dolby home theater 4 with realtek audio manager




OS - Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64 (OS reinstalled after bios update & installed all the latest driver)

Last edited by coldhart; 01-24-2013 at 12:22 PM.
coldhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:34 AM   #2
AnonymouseUser
Diamond Member
 
AnonymouseUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,399
Default

In your Realtek HD Audio Manager, under Sound Effects tab, make sure Environment and Equalizer are set to <None>.

Then right-click Volume Control, select Playback Devices. Select the default device and click Properties. Under Enhancements tab, make sure everything is unchecked.
__________________
NSA Homeland Security PRISM Denial of service Malware Trojan Keylogger Cyber Command
2600 Backpack Phishing Rootkit Agro Eco ISIL Conventional weapon
Target Weapons grade Dirty bomb Enriched Nuclear Chemical Biological weapon Black out
Pressure Cooker Grid Power Smart Body scanner Electric ISIS Ammonium nitrate Brown Out
Bridge Organized crime National security State Liberation Security Breach Threat Standoff
SWAT Screening Virus Environmental Terrorist Dock
AnonymouseUser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:09 PM   #3
Fallengod
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: so-cal
Posts: 5,582
Default

Yeah, its not the onboard sound itself, its some effects you got going on. Sometimes drivers enable some full retard stuff by default sadly.
__________________
heatware
Fallengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 10:48 PM   #4
santilmo
Member
 
santilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Default

DHT 4 is compatible with Onboard Realtek chips now?
__________________

Intel Core i5 3570K | 2nd Gen Corsair H60 + 2 SP120's in Push/Pull | Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1866 8GB (4x2) | Asus GeForce GTX 660 DC2 TOP | Intel 330 180GB + WD Scorpio Blue 1TB | On-Board Realtek ALC898 + Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3| Logitech Z-5500 | Seasonic X-560 | Fractal Design Node 304
santilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:12 AM   #5
coldhart
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonymouseUser View Post
In your Realtek HD Audio Manager, under Sound Effects tab, make sure Environment and Equalizer are set to <None>.
This new device drivers there is no sound effect tab like older ones



Quote:
Originally Posted by AnonymouseUser View Post
Then right-click Volume Control, select Playback Devices. Select the default device and click Properties. Under Enhancements tab, make sure everything is unchecked.
Like This?


Still not much effective sound
any good equalizer settings for dolby HT 4
coldhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:48 AM   #6
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,330
Default

Does it get any better if you turn off the Intelligent Equalizer? I leave that option turned off on mine.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 06:44 AM   #7
coldhart
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Default

sound became bit dull so i searched for equalizer which is meant for itunes, use those settings in Dolby HT, sound improved alot but bass is not that punchy (even though i like to listen songs but im not pro when it comes to audio knowledge) so tell me what should i do to get punchy bass from dolby
coldhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:13 AM   #8
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,330
Default

Do you have speakers? If so, how do they compare?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 12:26 PM   #9
coldhart
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Default

i use brainwavez M2 inear earphone. in reality they have amazing bass (i use same on my mobile & PC) but i need good equalizer setting for dolby HT 4. I usually listen rock ie. Linkin Park & rarely metal but sometimes i watch movies too.
coldhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:26 PM   #10
santilmo
Member
 
santilmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Default

I'm not sure how that actually sounds but it seems too way off the charts. I use DHT but with Asus Xonar Xense though but probably you can try something like the one below.



Play with the one in "yellow" box if you want punchy bass... you should go negative (down), else, you will have a "boomy" or "loose" bass if you go positive (up).

Hope this helps...
__________________

Intel Core i5 3570K | 2nd Gen Corsair H60 + 2 SP120's in Push/Pull | Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 1866 8GB (4x2) | Asus GeForce GTX 660 DC2 TOP | Intel 330 180GB + WD Scorpio Blue 1TB | On-Board Realtek ALC898 + Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3| Logitech Z-5500 | Seasonic X-560 | Fractal Design Node 304
santilmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:22 AM   #11
coldhart
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 66
Default

thanks mates for reply

@santilmo
thanks that does help alot i'll have to play a bit to get good result.
coldhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:54 AM   #12
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default

I have to deal with onboard sound too now, as Creative sound cards don't work with solid state drives for who knows what reason (if you run windows off a solid state drive, creative sound cards won't work and can cause constant computer freezing). Creative blows as a company but I miss my X-fi audio. This onboard sound quality ain't too hot. Also if a program starts loading up and the computer has to multitask, the sound just stops for like 5 seconds and then resumes. Damn you onboard sound/realtek!

also, post 7k, booyah!

Last edited by fustercluck; 01-25-2013 at 07:57 AM.
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:22 PM   #13
weez82
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oregon City, OR
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fustercluck View Post
I have to deal with onboard sound too now, as Creative sound cards don't work with solid state drives for who knows what reason (if you run windows off a solid state drive, creative sound cards won't work and can cause constant computer freezing). Creative blows as a company but I miss my X-fi audio. This onboard sound quality ain't too hot. Also if a program starts loading up and the computer has to multitask, the sound just stops for like 5 seconds and then resumes. Damn you onboard sound/realtek!

also, post 7k, booyah!
I've used an X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty and currently using an X-Fi HD. Zero problems using an SSD. You also say that your onboard sound is giving you problems too. Kinda looks like it's not a sound issue at all. Maybe look into rma'ing your SSD
weez82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:25 PM   #14
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by weez82 View Post
I've used an X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty and currently using an X-Fi HD. Zero problems using an SSD. You also say that your onboard sound is giving you problems too. Kinda looks like it's not a sound issue at all. Maybe look into rma'ing your SSD
Well I can't remember but it might have only been with SSDs and Win7 x64 bit or maybe only certain creative cards. Here's a big arse thread about it: LINK
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:52 PM   #15
Fallengod
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: so-cal
Posts: 5,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fustercluck View Post
Well I can't remember but it might have only been with SSDs and Win7 x64 bit or maybe only certain creative cards. Here's a big arse thread about it: LINK
Thats completely BS.

I run a Creative Audigy ZS Platinum sound card and I have no problems whatsoever with Win7 64bit and my Intel SSD. Must be just specific cards I guess.

Why would something that just holds data affect a piece of hardware differently?
__________________
heatware
Fallengod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:13 AM   #16
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fallengod View Post
Thats completely BS.

I run a Creative Audigy ZS Platinum sound card and I have no problems whatsoever with Win7 64bit and my Intel SSD. Must be just specific cards I guess.

Why would something that just holds data affect a piece of hardware differently?
It is hard to believe but it's da troof! You can read the thread I linked. Pages and pages of folks having the same trouble. So I'm stuck with on board sound for a while. I attribute it to Creative's shitty customer support. There are some new beta drives out that attempt to fix the issue but it doesn't look like they have a good success rate. By putting my X-fi back in I'd be risking lots of BSODs and having to reinstall windows if things didn't go well. DAMN I HATE on-board sound.
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 05:03 AM   #17
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,563
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldhart View Post
This new device drivers there is no sound effect tab like older ones
......
......
Like This?


Still not much effective sound
any good equalizer settings for dolby HT 4
What does ticking disable sound effects do?
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:15 PM   #18
AdamK47
Lifer
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 10,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fustercluck View Post
I have to deal with onboard sound too now, as Creative sound cards don't work with solid state drives for who knows what reason (if you run windows off a solid state drive, creative sound cards won't work and can cause constant computer freezing). Creative blows as a company but I miss my X-fi audio. This onboard sound quality ain't too hot. Also if a program starts loading up and the computer has to multitask, the sound just stops for like 5 seconds and then resumes. Damn you onboard sound/realtek!

also, post 7k, booyah!
This is actually the first time I've heard of someone having problems using an SSD and an add in SB audio card. I don't see how an SSD would cause a problem.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:52 PM   #19
shingletingle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 976
Default

I have an SSD along with a Creative Sound Blaster Z with no issues. Works wonderfully.
shingletingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.