Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Peripherals

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 11:22 AM   #1
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default Corsair K90 stuck keys !firmware bug! (not physically stuck)

I have splurged and bought the very expensive Corsair K90 keyboard.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/5548/c...-k90-keyboards

I encountered a very odd firmware bug in it. It will occasionally (once every few days) have a key get "stuck" as if being held down. However the key is NOT physically jammed.

-When this occurs the keyboard will continue to send this keypress signal continuously until ANY key is pressed. That means that if the F3 key is "firmware stuck" then I can press the spacebar and it will unstuck it (this makes it hard to detect as rapid typing can hide this effect as you unstuck a key before it is noticed).
-I have seen it happen for a variety of letter keys, space bar, enter, and F keys.
-There is absolutely no indication of there being any physical issue
all the above combined suggest to me that this is a firmware issue.

I have tried updating the firmware and driver (as per instruction from their customer support).

Now, several months after I bought the keyboard my space bar key broke. I got the keyboard replaced under warranty... The new one they sent me has the exact same issue with the "firmware stuck" keys.
I also updated it to firmware 1.19 and it has the same issue.

I was wondering if other people are experiencing the same issue and how common it is. There was no indication of such a defect in the anandtech review of the keyboard (which is really what sold me on it).
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.

Last edited by taltamir; 01-23-2013 at 11:27 AM.
taltamir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
C1
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,614
Default

I suppose there's an outside chance that there is something in the keyboard that is sticking (eg, a membrane switch under the physical key). When the stuck character happens, instead of pressing on another key, just tap the frame of the keyboard (or turn it upside down and tap the KB body) to see if the stuck character clears. If it clears then demand a KB replacement otherwise perhaps a firmware update may just be needed.
C1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 02:07 PM   #3
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C1 View Post
I suppose there's an outside chance that there is something in the keyboard that is sticking (eg, a membrane switch under the physical key). When the stuck character happens, instead of pressing on another key, just tap the frame of the keyboard (or turn it upside down and tap the KB body) to see if the stuck character clears. If it clears then demand a KB replacement otherwise perhaps a firmware update may just be needed.
Hi, thanks for the reply.

1. Already got a replacement keyboard and its doing the same.
2. Already updated firmware and it didn't solve the issue on either keyboard
3. There is no membrane, this keyboard has mechanical keys
http://www.pcworld.com/article/24203...ht_switch.html
4. I don't think its a physically stuck key. The press rate is too slow for just holding down a key (although its still multiple presses per second) and a light press on a DIFFERENT key ALWAYS causes it to get unstuck.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:02 PM   #4
Puffnstuff
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,316
Default

http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=110177 Indicates that a lot of people have the issue and its firmware related so good luck.
__________________
EVGA Z87 FTW, Intel Core i7 4790k, PNY 780 ti gpu, Powered by Enermax Platimax 1350 watt
Puffnstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:57 PM   #5
Remobz
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,781
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puffnstuff View Post
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=110177 Indicates that a lot of people have the issue and its firmware related so good luck.
One of the reasons I will buy a logitech mechanical gaming keyboard over Corsair. Logitech has better drivers for sure.
Remobz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:24 PM   #6
taltamir
Lifer
 
taltamir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 13,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puffnstuff View Post
http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=110177 Indicates that a lot of people have the issue and its firmware related so good luck.
Ah, thank you.
I guess its more common then I thought. What a disappointing product.
__________________
How to protect your data guide
AA Naming Guide

I do not have a superman complex; for I am God, not superman!
The internet is a source of infinite information; the vast majority of which happens to be wrong.
taltamir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:02 PM   #7
BTRY B 529th FA BN
Lifer
 
BTRY B 529th FA BN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12,935
Default

I've randomly experienced this too. It also happened with a Steelseries 6Gv2 with Mechanical Blacks.
__________________
Rig1: Xeon X5660 6core 32nm (2.8GHz stock), Asrock X58, Geforce 210 0db, Samsung 128Gb 840 Pro, Vertex2 100Gb, Cherry MX Blacks, 2009 Seasonic X 650w, Aluminum Full tower
Rig2: i7 970 6core 32nm @ 4.4GHz 1.37v, EVGA 760 Classified,
GTX 670, Samsung Evo 120Gb, Vertex LE 100Gb, Cherry MX Reds, Sidewinder X5, Enermax Revo 950w, Obsidian 800D
BTRY B 529th FA BN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:11 PM   #8
Getting better
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Re: K90. I've had three.
Number one had a key that would not work
Number two had the sticky key issue so they sent a new one.
Number three has the sticky key issue. Quite upsetting when you are editing and press the back space key only to have it erase lines of data.
I've updated the firmware. Still acts as if the key is stuck but it isn't stuck, it just remains activated. Hoping they will come out with a fix before I have to purchase another brand.
Getting better is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:01 AM   #9
vbuggy
Golden Member
 
vbuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,594
Default

What mobo USB ports is it on?
vbuggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.