Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 02:05 AM   #1
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default Upgrade my Asus

All questions for the exact model in my signature.

Can I put an ssd in? How much RAM does it support? Can I upgrade the GPU? Can I get the speed of Win8 with Win7 functionality? I know how to do all this, just not surecwhere to find the specs.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:19 AM   #2
cbn
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6,495
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16834230600

I couldn't find the model listed on the ASUS website, but according to the newegg reviews It has one RAM slot.
cbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:40 AM   #3
Pedroc1999
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Merthyr Tydfil, Wales
Posts: 305
Default

SSD's fit in any HDD/DVD slot, it is just a matter of taking one out and popping the other in
Pedroc1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:06 PM   #4
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetank195 View Post
All questions for the exact model in my signature.

Can I put an ssd in? How much RAM does it support? Can I upgrade the GPU? Can I get the speed of Win8 with Win7 functionality? I know how to do all this, just not surecwhere to find the specs.
1) You can replace the HDD with a SSD. Since you don't have a CD drive or two bays, you can only have one or the other
2) The Crucial website says your system can handle 8GB, but 4GB is the max included by ASUS
3) Doubtful, I don't believe a sub $500 laptop will have a MXM slot.
4) Win8 with one of the desktop mods, or just live with the performance of Win7
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

I do have a cd drive so maybe the link is wrong. I think its 2GB RAM
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:31 PM   #6
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetank195 View Post
I do have a cd drive so maybe the link is wrong. I think its 2GB RAM
Wrong laptop then. The one you gave to us has no cd drive.

In that case, if you do not want a CD drive, you can buy a notebook hard drive caddy that will fit into the cd drive bay. You can install the SSD in there, and this way you can have both a SSD and a HDD.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:36 PM   #7
frankthetank195
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 122
Default

I might do that at the same time I put a real SSD into my desktop. I'm thinking either Intel or a Crucial M4.

Is there any way to check if its got an MXM port without opening the whole thing up? I don't need this to be a gaming machine, I've already got that. Just something capable.
__________________
My PCs:
Main/Gaming Rig @ 4.0GHz
Laptop (Celeron B830 @1.8GHz)
frankthetank195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:37 PM   #8
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankthetank195 View Post
I might do that at the same time I put a real SSD into my desktop. I'm thinking either Intel or a Crucial M4.

Is there any way to check if its got an MXM port without opening the whole thing up? I don't need this to be a gaming machine, I've already got that. Just something capable.
Look up the model online, but I really doubt it. MXM slots only really come with nicer laptops.

If you're going to get a SSD soon, there's an Intel 160gb x25-m at tigerdirect for $90 after rebate now. Very good price for the capacity.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 11:15 PM   #9
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

There's also the Samsung 840 250gb for $150 on newegg too.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:56 AM   #10
Lazimutha
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
Default

I'm also thinking of removing my dvd drive and putting in a caddy. Is the caddy more or less universal or are there any issues I need to be aware of?
Lazimutha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:47 AM   #11
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazimutha View Post
I'm also thinking of removing my dvd drive and putting in a caddy. Is the caddy more or less universal or are there any issues I need to be aware of?
They are generally universal. Just make sure it has a SATA connection (not sure if any are still sold without it).
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:09 AM   #12
TechBoyJK
Lifer
 
TechBoyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 13,705
Default

Not to be offtopic, but I (just got to work.. early, tired) and I thought the thread title said 'upgrade my anus' at first.

__________________
Originally posted by: n0cmonkey
You're being difficult. You have not provided us with the information we need to troubleshoot the problem. You have not given us errors, you're vague about where the problem is, you are not answering the questions we ask. In short, you DON'T KNOW HOW TO THINK. Give back that piece of paper you think makes your intelligent, apologize, destroy your computer and go live in the woods kid.
TechBoyJK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.