Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default Four 500 gig Velociraptors in raid 0!

554 ms average transfer speed and 5.6ms access time. Very pleased with the speed and space.
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:46 PM   #2
Anteaus
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,061
Default

Not to bad. Comparable to my single Samsung 830 SSD, but you get points for volume. I wish I had 2TB at that speed. Hope you're keeping backups!
Anteaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:52 PM   #3
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks. I may buy 2 more and run 6 in raid0 just for shits and giggles.I have 6 tb's of external storeage, thus I have backups and backups for the backups....lol
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:28 PM   #4
Golgatha
Lifer
 
Golgatha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 11,472
Default

What's your random read and write times look like?
__________________
Heatware under Golgatha (300+ all positive)

ASRock Z77 Extreme4 Motherboard | Core i7 3770k@4.0Ghz | 16GB DDR3 RAM | Sandisk Extreme II 2x480GB SSD in RAID 0
240GB Crucial M500 using Intel RST to cache 2x 1TB WD RE4 drives in RAID 0 | eVGA GTX Titan SLI
Golgatha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 04:50 PM   #5
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

I used hd tune to benchmark. What do I need to use to measure that?
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:30 PM   #6
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anteaus View Post
Comparable to my single Samsung 830 SSD
Not really. Still limited to a few dozen IOPS. Like 200 tops.

Your 830 will do a couple dozen... thousand.

Random IO is, sadly, what the user experience is all about.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 8GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:31 PM   #7
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikgta View Post
I used hd tune to benchmark. What do I need to use to measure that?
Any commonly used SSD benchmarking tool (AS SSD for instance) will benchmark a hard drive too.

See this thread for an example.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 8GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:23 PM   #8
Dadofamunky
Platinum Member
 
Dadofamunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,183
Default

A friend of mine RAID 0'd (is that a verb?) four garden-variety 500GB Seagates and was content with the result. Then, on a whim he got a 32GB USB3 flash thumb drive and just used it for Readyboost. He was stunned at the improvement. He got a hybrid hard drive experience that is better than the hybrid hard drives that are out there.
__________________
i7 2600K@4.35 GHz, Asus Sabertooth Z77, 16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24-1T 1.5V, Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD , 2x1TB Spinpoint F3 Raid 0, Seagate 3TB external USB3 drive, Samsung BluRay, Corsair GS600, CM Hyper 212+ push-pull, EVGA GTX 570, 2x Samsung 2333T PVA panels, Win 7 64-bit

What's that chip you got, a Dorito?
Dadofamunky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:48 AM   #9
DirkGently1
Senior Member
 
DirkGently1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 906
Default

I wouldn't trade one SSD for all the RAID 0 Velociraptors in the world. It doesn't matter how many you put in your array, Access times, IOPs and Random Read/Writes are always going to suck in comparison. Then there's the noise..
DirkGently1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:58 AM   #10
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Everyone is entitled to be different. I do not have a noise problem.
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:18 AM   #11
groberts101
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkGently1 View Post
I wouldn't trade one SSD for all the RAID 0 Velociraptors in the world. It doesn't matter how many you put in your array, Access times, IOPs and Random Read/Writes are always going to suck in comparison.
I surely would if I wanted TB's worth of fast storage.

and all the rest of that stuff won't matter much for a storage only volume.

Not to mention if you combine raided SSD for OS use.. with raided HDD for storage?.. the bar get's permanently raised.

PS. I've got 23 drives INSIDE my case and 14 of them are raided HDD combo's. No noise issues here either.

Last edited by groberts101; 01-22-2013 at 10:20 AM.
groberts101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:43 PM   #12
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwikgta View Post
Everyone is entitled to be different. I do not have a noise problem.
Its a fact that Multiple drivers in Raid 0 will be louder than a single SSD or multiple SSD's since they have no moving parts.

So when you say you don't have a noise problem you mean you are ok with it and don't mind it.

And I agree with everyone else Raiding raptors is so 2006-2008 SSD's are where its at now!
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750

Last edited by Makaveli; 01-22-2013 at 07:34 PM.
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:00 PM   #13
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Its a fact that Multiple drivers in Raid 0 will be louder than a single SSD or multiple SSD's since they have no moving parts.

So when you say you don't have a noise problem you mean you are ok with it and don't mind it.

And I agree with everyone else Raiding raptor is so 2006-2008 SSD's are where its at now!
No, I'm saying that I do not hear them. They did not have the redesigned Velociraptors with 64 cache in 2006-2008. I know SSD's are fast,but I chose to be different. To each his own
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:39 PM   #14
Makaveli
Diamond Member
 
Makaveli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,358
Default

Indeed!

You will still have impressive performance for a hard drive based setup
__________________
Intel Core i7 970 @ 4.2Ghz 1.29v | TRUE Black Rev.C + Scythe S-Flex 1600 rpm x2 | Asus P6-T Deluxe V2 | 12GB Mushkin DDR3-1600 7-8-7-20 1T | MSI 7970 Ghz + Kraken G10 & H55 | EVGA 650 SC Physx | Logitech G15+G500 | Intel 320GB G2 Raid 0 | WD 1TB Black Storage | ESATA 2TB Green | CM 690 II Advanced | Razor Vespula | HP ZR24w | Logitech Z560 | X-FI Titanium | Corsair Pro Series Gold AX750
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #15
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post
Indeed!

You will still have impressive performance for a hard drive based setup
Thank you
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:15 PM   #16
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golgatha View Post
What's your random read and write times look like?
Crystal disk:
Seq. read = 467.3 Seq. write = 577.3
512 read = 75.31 512 write = 164.9
4k read = 1.054 4k write = 12.79
4k qd32 read = 8.343 4k qd32 write = 15.34

As SSD
Seq. read = 612.79 Seq. write = 637.85
4k read = 1.23 4k write = 16.00
4k-64 read = 9.03 4k -64 write = 12.66
Acc time read = 6.761 Acc time read = 1.552

Last edited by kwikgta; 01-22-2013 at 08:51 PM. Reason: update
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:30 PM   #17
BusyBeaverHP
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Nice 4x VRaptor RAID0, what do you store on it?

Here's my 2x 1TB VRaptors RAID0 array. I shortstroked it down to 1.4TB to make it even more consistently faster!



I use it to store Steam games. Works amazing, all the time.
BusyBeaverHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:55 PM   #18
kwikgta
Junior Member
 
kwikgta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks, It has my operating system.
kwikgta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:27 PM   #19
dave_the_nerd
Diamond Member
 
dave_the_nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 7,221
Default

I would have RAID-5'd them instead, but that's me.

I've had too many HD failures over the years to trust my computing experience to four HDs at once with no fault tolerance.
__________________
Scientific progress goes "Boink?"

Windows Gaming Box: AsRock Z77E-ITX / i5-3570k @ 4GHz / 8GB RAM / GTX 660Ti / Samsung EVO 250GB / Seagate Momentus 750GB / Silverstone SG05.
FreeBSD Server: SuperMicro X10SLM-F / Pentium G3250 / 8GB ECC DDR3 / 4x Toshiba DT01ACA200, 3x DT01ACA300, 1x DT01ABA200 / Fractal Node 804
dave_the_nerd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:43 PM   #20
Emulex
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: ATL
Posts: 9,562
Default

i found QD32 the samsung 830's in raid-10 were about 50-100x faster than 15K SAS 3.5" 600gb dual ported drives. fastpath enabled. low queue depth,the 830's kind of suck but what's the point of low queue depth and raid.
__________________
-------------------------
NAS: Dell 530 Q6600 8gb 4tb headless VHP
KID PC1: Mac Pro Dual nehalem - 6gb - GF120 - HP ZR30W
Browser: Dell 530 Q6600 4GB - Kingston 96gb -gt240- hp LP3065 IPS - 7ult
Tabs: IPAD 1,2,3 IPOD3,HTC flyer, Galaxy Tab - all rooted/jb
Couch1: Macbook Air/Macbook White
Couch2: Macbook Pro 17 2.66 Matte screen - 8GB - SSD
HTPC: Asus C2Q8300/X25-V - Geforce 430- 7ult - Antec MicroFusion 350
Emulex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.