Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Computer Help

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 07:29 AM   #26
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,774
Default

Wow that is seriously borked. I think in order for it to perform that badly it has to be throttling at some ridiculously low temperature. Like maybe 60C. Is your cpu fan working at all? Is the cooling system free of dust? You posted a temperature of 38C but I am wondering is that as high as it goes, even when running superpi?


And to anyone: is there a way to tell what temperature it is throttling at?
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:35 AM   #27
VirtualLarry
Lifer
 
VirtualLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 25,977
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sm625 View Post
And to anyone: is there a way to tell what temperature it is throttling at?
RMclock can show you, via the graphs, at what temp it throttles, but that is for the CPU's internal throttling (I think). So if the BIOS is doing some sort of throttling, too, it may not detect that. I don't really know.
__________________
Rig(s) not listed, because I change computers, like some people change their socks.
ATX is for poor people. And 'gamers.' - phucheneh
haswell is bulldozer... - aigomorla
"DON'T BUY INTEL, they will send secret signals down the internet, which
will considerably slow down your computer". - SOFTengCOMPelec
VirtualLarry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 02:40 PM   #28
kjetillunde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steltek View Post
I can tell you exactly what this problem is. Do a Google search for "Dell" and "Throttlegate" and you'll be inundated with information from loads of pissed off people.

When first released, the E6400/E6500 (as well as various XPS and Studio models) were notorious for suffering from overheating problems. Dell, instead of fixing the problem, spent lots of time ignoring customers and deleting threads about the issue in their support forums in a futile attempt to make the issue "go away". Some Dell engineers eventually created a BIOS to solve the heat problem. It used a combination of reduced CPU multipliers and Intel's CPU Clock Modulation feature to reduce laptop temperatures. It also had the unfortunate side effect of being so over-sensitive to overheating that it reduced laptop performance down to approximately that of a brick with an LCD attached.

Apparently, you have that BIOS installed in your machine and something happened (probably an overheat) that triggered it.

The first step to fixing it is to update to the most recent BIOS which is available -- Dell allegedly released a BIOS that was supposed to resolve the issue.

If a BIOS update doesn't fix the problem, there is a utility in the following thread you can use to get around it. However, you have to be very careful with it. It works by maximizing the CPU multipliers and disabling CPU clock modulation. When using it, you have to monitor CPU temperatures because the utility will have the side effect of overriding the thermal protection on the laptop (meaning, you can literally burn up your CPU). It also has the side effect of severely reducing battery life when on battery, so don't enable it unless you are doing something beyond web browsing that needs the higher performance levels.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...rottleGate-Fix
Thank you Steltek!
I updated to the most recent Dell BIOS and that solved the problem!
The multiplier raised to 6 and core speed to 1595mhz. The performance is much better now.

The BIOS update did the trick!

kjetillunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:06 PM   #29
kjetillunde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

I also enabled Intel speed step again (witch I disabled earlier), and the multiplier raised to 9 and the core speed to 2392mhz. The result from superpi at 1M was 21s. Awesome!

kjetillunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 03:44 PM   #30
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,262
Default

Very cool, glad it's working.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:52 PM   #31
Puppies04
Diamond Member
 
Puppies04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,858
Default

Glad you got it sorted.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbogg View Post
If you have kids, you need to kill them
My weddding pic http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps224f2a90.png
Puppies04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:09 PM   #32
kjetillunde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for all help!
kjetillunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:37 PM   #33
pete1229
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 325
Default

Your problem is it's a Dell, a very old Dell! Old Dells really suck and are notoriously slow.
pete1229 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:39 PM   #34
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete1229 View Post
Your problem is it's a Dell, a very old Dell! Old Dells really suck and are notoriously slow.
Old computers are notoriously slow.
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:09 PM   #35
kjetillunde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

I still have this problem when watching youtube or other video clip on the internet.... suddenly the Core Speed goes from 2525MHz to 350MHz and the Multiplier from x9.5 to x1.5..... everything is slow until I quit the video I`m watching on the internet.... Why?
kjetillunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:22 PM   #36
kjetillunde
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Default

Any suggestions?
kjetillunde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 08:33 PM   #37
Virgorising
Diamond Member
 
Virgorising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete1229 View Post
Your problem is it's a Dell, a very old Dell! Old Dells really suck and are notoriously slow.
Sorry, I beg to disagree with yr broad brush dissing. I am right now on a still pretty amazing Optiplex GX620 (Presler, PD 3.40) (got it used on eBay, upgraded it) and few can believe how fast it still is.

Dell has many lines, and within each there is good and bad.
Virgorising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:22 AM   #38
ketchup79
Diamond Member
 
ketchup79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 7,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjetillunde View Post
I still have this problem when watching youtube or other video clip on the internet.... suddenly the Core Speed goes from 2525MHz to 350MHz and the Multiplier from x9.5 to x1.5..... everything is slow until I quit the video I`m watching on the internet.... Why?
I wonder if it's overheating. Do the fans spin up? Have you looked at CPU temps when this occurs?
__________________
Intel i7-4790k | Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark 1 | 16 GB DDR3 | Gigabyte GTX 660 | Antec EA-650 BRONZE | Crucial MX100 256 GB | CM Storm Series Trooper | CM Hyper 212 EVO
ketchup79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.