Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Digital and Video Cameras

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2013, 06:39 PM   #1
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,331
Default Nikon 1 V1 and Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD 1:2

Does anyone know if AF will work with the FT-1 adapter?
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:14 PM   #2
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,400
Default

it depends on if your lens has a built in motor i guess. I believe the 70-300 you're using isn't using a screw drive right?
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3235554

hm....
http://translate.google.com/translat...ed=0CEIQ7gEwAw
somewhat sketchy translation, but the guy there seems to think it will. (Search FT-1)

All of the sources indicate that the tamron 70-300s w/ built in motor should work (though most only talk of the VC with USM), and only screw drive based lenses won't (since the ft-1 doesn't have a screw drive motor).

The camera should be able to send data to the lens if the lens firmware supports it
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/th...-post-50331361

there's nothing conclusive about that particular lens though, so if you do buy it, it'd probably help others if you post your results.

Last edited by fralexandr; 01-18-2013 at 09:56 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 01:27 PM   #3
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fralexandr View Post
it depends on if your lens has a built in motor i guess. I believe the 70-300 you're using isn't using a screw drive right?
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3235554

hm....
http://translate.google.com/translat...ed=0CEIQ7gEwAw
somewhat sketchy translation, but the guy there seems to think it will. (Search FT-1)

All of the sources indicate that the tamron 70-300s w/ built in motor should work (though most only talk of the VC with USM), and only screw drive based lenses won't (since the ft-1 doesn't have a screw drive motor).

The camera should be able to send data to the lens if the lens firmware supports it
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/th...-post-50331361

there's nothing conclusive about that particular lens though, so if you do buy it, it'd probably help others if you post your results.
Thanks for the info. We are going on vacation in 1.5 months to Costa Rica and will be doing a day in the rainforest so want to take a decent telephoto. Trying to figure out what to buy that doesn't totally break the bank.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
fralexandr
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,400
Default

if you don't already have either the 10-100 or 30-110:
http://www.adorama.com/INK30110RR.ht...FUxxQgodWEAA3g
if you want a nikkor 30-110 for ~$120 shipped, it should provide ~300mm relative to full frame (2.7x crop factor).

That's usually sufficient for most things, except birds. Though I believe rainforests are usually pretty dense, making the longer distance shots less frequent.
The 1 mount lenses are ridiculously light, making them great for travel .
most telephoto zooms are close to 400g or ~1lb in weight, whereas the 30-110 there is ~175g or ~1/3lb (all the glass required for larger sensors and aperatures)

Many on this forum say nikon refurbs are supposedly better than new, since new lenses don't all get checked over for problems.
adorama is a great etailer too.

The 70-300mm might be tough to hand hold, given it would be 810mm relative to full frame, and doesn't have VR (vibration reduction), and rainforests are pretty shady places. So you'll either have to bump up the ISO, or bring a tripod/flash (is flash allowed?) in order to get steady shots without VR.

a dpreview thread on nikon rainforest gear (not the nikon 1 though; nikon aps-c is 1.5x crop factor)
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/th...-post-16723755

Last edited by fralexandr; 01-23-2013 at 08:13 PM.
fralexandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:38 PM   #5
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,331
Default

I got the kit with the 10-30 and 30-110 but I was looking for more zoom just in case.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.