Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > General Hardware

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
college_student
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default Need a good build for scientific computing. Please advise.

Hi all,

I need to build a computer to use ONLY for scientific computing. It will be used to run code for research in image and video analysis. Here are answers to the thread:

1. Scientific computing. Writing code and analyzing images, video, etc. NO GAMING! I don't want a server. I need A LOT of RAM. Likely max out the RAM -- 64GB if I'm correct.

2. $2000 - $2500

3. USA

4. USA

5. Intel. Buying everything from Newegg.

6. Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, and OS

7. Probably over clock at some point. Nothing crazy.

8. 1080p - Dual Monitors

9. ASAP

This is what I'm thinking to get:

CPU - 3930K ($569.99)
HDD - WD Black 1 TB ($89.99)
SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB ($249.99)
RAM - 64GB Corsair DDR3 ($399.99)
Mobo - ASRock X79 Extreme6 ($219.99)
GPU - HD 7970 GHz Edition 6GB ($579.99)
PSU - SeaSonic USA X-1050 Fully-Modular 80PLUS GOLD ($199.99)
Case - Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv RX-932-KKN5-GP ($139.99)
Cooler - ZALMAN 135mm Long CPU Cooler ($76.99)
Total: $2526.91

Last edited by college_student; 01-17-2013 at 03:29 PM.
college_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:42 PM   #2
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Anand's Closet
Posts: 13,561
Default

I would go with a duel xeon build if you're going to do coding.
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:00 PM   #3
Vincent
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Cottonwood Heights, UT
Posts: 2,003
Default

Did you take a look at this guide?

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6492/w...n-buyers-guide
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
T_Yamamoto
Lifer
 
T_Yamamoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Anand's Closet
Posts: 13,561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
It would be better to go with a 2P intel or 4P AMD rig for scientific computing
__________________
i5 4430 | MSI B85M-P33 | Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x | Random 4gb + 2gb RAM
XFX ProSeries 450W | Intel 530 128gb + Toshiba Canvio 1tb External HDD | Windows 7
NZXT Vulcan | Dell E2414H
Heatware | Steam
T_Yamamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:12 PM   #5
Sleepingforest
Platinum Member
 
Sleepingforest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,351
Default

I would buy from an OEM if reliability and downtime is a big issue. You pay a premium for next-day support and minimized downtime. Otherwise, go eith as many cores as you can.
Sleepingforest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:26 PM   #6
college_student
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent View Post
No, but now that I look at it, they seemed pick the same CPU and more less the same parts (except for GPU). The GPU I picked has 6GB RAM, which makes it quite good for my GPU computing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
It would be better to go with a 2P intel or 4P AMD rig for scientific computing
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_Yamamoto View Post
I would go with a duel xeon build if you're going to do coding.
While I agree that two server grade processors (Xeon, etc) would be nice, they are unfortunately outside my budget ($2.5K max).

Any critiques on my specific build?
college_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:59 PM   #7
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,754
Default

If you mean that Xeon processors are outside your budget, you're mistaken.

Xeon 1230 V2:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819117286

3.3 Ghz Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading for $240.
DSF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:13 PM   #8
college_student
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
If you mean that Xeon processors are outside your budget, you're mistaken.

Xeon 1230 V2:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819117286

3.3 Ghz Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading for $240.
Hi DSF,

So what would you suggest then? Two of those? Also, what is your opinion on the 1230V2 vs. 3930K?

Do you have a Mobo in mind that can take 2X those and 64GB RAM?

From what I understand, a server CPU means I need a server Mobo, and therefore often I need the Fully-bufferred ECC RAM, etc; all in all these components tend to cost more than the 3930K route (in a price vs. performance sense).

Thanks!
college_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:21 PM   #9
bononos
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by college_student View Post
...
From what I understand, a server CPU means I need a server Mobo, and therefore often I need the Fully-bufferred ECC RAM, etc; all in all these components tend to cost more than the 3930K route (in a price vs. performance sense).

Thanks!
I didn't check the link but there are socket 1155 Xeons which don't need ecc ram.
bononos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:33 PM   #10
DSF
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,754
Default

However, I'm not sure there are any dual-socket LGA1155 boards, that would be the issue. I hadn't realized that.

When you mention price/performance though, I'm still not sure a 3930K gives you that. Does the processing time affect income for you? If not, you could save significant cash with an LGA1155 setup. If processing time is tied to your bottom line, then maybe LGA2011 makes sense.
DSF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:38 PM   #11
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
However, I'm not sure there are any dual-socket LGA1155 boards, that would be the issue. I hadn't realized that.

When you mention price/performance though, I'm still not sure a 3930K gives you that. Does the processing time affect income for you? If not, you could save significant cash with an LGA1155 setup. If processing time is tied to your bottom line, then maybe LGA2011 makes sense.
I believe it is impossible on LGA 1155 due to not having a second qpi link?

Or at least that is what I found at this following site:
http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=80996
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:49 PM   #12
college_student
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSF View Post
However, I'm not sure there are any dual-socket LGA1155 boards, that would be the issue. I hadn't realized that.

When you mention price/performance though, I'm still not sure a 3930K gives you that. Does the processing time affect income for you? If not, you could save significant cash with an LGA1155 setup. If processing time is tied to your bottom line, then maybe LGA2011 makes sense.
Right, I didn't mean that 3930K maxes out the price/performance ratio. I meant for my needs and budget, it might be the best (idk, I'm speculating).

If I understand the second part of your post correctly, then no, processing time doesn't affect my income. I need the 64GB of RAM because the images and videos I deal with are HUGE and eat up RAM like crazy. As such, the only non-server Mobo's that I found (in my budget) that accept 64GB of RAM are the LGA2011 boards. And as far as processing time, I would prefer if I could run my simulations, etc quickly, so that I could move on to the next step quicker. This is for R&D work, so while time isn't linked to income, it does affect how long we have to wait before we move to the next step. I hope this makes sense. Please tell me if it doesn't.

I should note that price is not an issue as long as I stay below $2K-$2.5K. I want to get the best bang for the buck for $2.5K, not necessarily the best bang for the buck in general. In summary, what is the best performance that can be had for $2.5K?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torn Mind View Post
I believe it is impossible on LGA 1155 due to not having a second qpi link?

Or at least that is what I found at this following site:
http://techreport.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=80996
Hmm interesting!

Last edited by college_student; 01-17-2013 at 06:52 PM.
college_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:16 PM   #13
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,881
Default

Yes, 1155 cannot do dual CPU because it doesn't have ANY QPI links, only DMI to the chipset and PCIe to the slots.

Quote:
Originally Posted by college_student View Post
This is what I'm thinking to get:

CPU - 3930K ($569.99)
HDD - WD Black 1 TB ($89.99)
SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 256GB ($249.99)
RAM - 64GB Corsair DDR3 ($399.99)
Mobo - ASRock X79 Extreme6 ($219.99)
GPU - HD 7970 GHz Edition 6GB ($579.99)
PSU - SeaSonic USA X-1050 Fully-Modular 80PLUS GOLD ($199.99)
Case - Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv RX-932-KKN5-GP ($139.99)
Cooler - ZALMAN 135mm Long CPU Cooler ($76.99)
Total: $2526.91
This is a gaming rig, not a scientific computing workstation. To really give you good advice, we need to know more about your code.

- What is the goal?
- Are you writing it from scratch or modifying an existing codebase?
- What operating system?
- Does it use any GPU acceleration or are you planning to add any?
- What does the I/O profile look like?
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:22 PM   #14
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,192
Default

Single GPU systems don't need more than a 500 watt PSU, 600 watts tops, as long as the PSU can deliver what it is specified to deliver.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:04 AM   #15
mv2devnull
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
To really give you good advice, we need to know more about your code.
Indeed. What is "scientific computing" in this case?
mv2devnull is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:16 AM   #16
college_student
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfenn View Post
Yes, 1155 cannot do dual CPU because it doesn't have ANY QPI links, only DMI to the chipset and PCIe to the slots.



This is a gaming rig, not a scientific computing workstation. To really give you good advice, we need to know more about your code.

- What is the goal?
- Are you writing it from scratch or modifying an existing codebase?
- What operating system?
- Does it use any GPU acceleration or are you planning to add any?
- What does the I/O profile look like?
Hi mfenn,

This machine is going to be used to write software that analyzes extremely large image cubes and videos. A lot of the software is going to be written in common programming languages: C++, OpenCV, etc. I plan to use the GPU for GPU acceleration; I picked this one because it had 6GB of memory so it could store some very large images onto itself. I'm looking into OpenCL.

A lot of the software already exists, but a lot of it will be written from scratch. The goal is for the machine to be able to handle the data I give it and be able to do the tasks we need in a reasonable amount of time. You can think of it like this: this machine will constantly be doing complex operations on extremely large, multi-dimensional matrices.

I/O? Typically we write scripts that fetch the relevant data from a server or a drive, load it into memory, perform operations on it, output the result (sometimes numerical, sometimes a plot, sometimes images/video, etc).

I will use Linux.

Thanks!
college_student is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:47 PM   #17
mv2devnull
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by college_student View Post
GPU - HD 7970 GHz Edition 6GB
I will use Linux.
AMD drivers in Linux seems to be a controversial topic, but the raw power of 7970 is undeniable.


Images, but not quite what the Belgians did back in 2008?
http://fastra.ua.ac.be/en/index.html
mv2devnull is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:50 PM   #18
mfenn
Elite Member
Moderator
General Hardware
 
mfenn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 19,881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by college_student View Post
Hi mfenn,

This machine is going to be used to write software that analyzes extremely large image cubes and videos. A lot of the software is going to be written in common programming languages: C++, OpenCV, etc. I plan to use the GPU for GPU acceleration; I picked this one because it had 6GB of memory so it could store some very large images onto itself. I'm looking into OpenCL.

A lot of the software already exists, but a lot of it will be written from scratch. The goal is for the machine to be able to handle the data I give it and be able to do the tasks we need in a reasonable amount of time. You can think of it like this: this machine will constantly be doing complex operations on extremely large, multi-dimensional matrices.

I/O? Typically we write scripts that fetch the relevant data from a server or a drive, load it into memory, perform operations on it, output the result (sometimes numerical, sometimes a plot, sometimes images/video, etc).

I will use Linux.

Thanks!
That's a good start and it gives me some idea of what you're doing. There's some critical quantitative data that's missing though. What you say "large", what do you mean? Large to some people is a gigabyte, to others it's 100 gigabytes. Another question, do you care about double-precision or is single enough for you? Most image processing algorithms only use single-precision, but it doesn't hurt to check.

I should have been explicit that I was looking for both quantitative and qualitative data, sorry about that.

Anyway, since you will be using/extending existing code, writing your own code (presumably you have not done GPU programming before), and will be using Linux; I highly recommend that you use an Nvidia GPU. CUDA is much easier to learn than OpenCL, you're much more likely to run into codes that use CUDA over OpenCL, and there are better support libraries for CUDA (you'll probably be interested in cuBLAS). Furthermore, if your code scales up enough to run on a real cluster, you will be much more likely to find an Nvidia cluster than an AMD one (like 20:1 ratio).
mfenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.