Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Audio/Video & Home Theater

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 10:42 AM   #1
spacejamz
Diamond Member
 
spacejamz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,466
Default Harmon Kardon 1700

Just picked up one of the last ones in my area (according to the Best Buy inventory checker) for $199...mentioned on both Fatwallet and Slick Deals so they all probably gone now...but alot of people are getting open box deals...not sure if that is a good sign or not...

Bought using my AMEX for additional warranty coverage....

Overall, pretty amazed at this receiver...great sound and features at an amazing price...only knock is no HDMI pass through but not a big deal for me...

Has a digital power supply so the receiver weighs less than 13 lbs...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Harman+K...&skuId=6087397
__________________
"Now if there's one thing you can be sure of, it's that nothing is more powerful than a young boy's wish. Except an Apache helicopter. An Apache helicopter has machine guns AND missiles. It is an unbelievably impressive complement of weaponry, an absolute death machine." - Ted (2012)

Heat
spacejamz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:15 PM   #2
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,943
Default

I bought one of these as well for my PC. Works well enough, but I only use optical output and sometimes the Harmon Headphone surround mode.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:05 PM   #3
gus6464
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,331
Default

People were complaining about the weight of the unit but little did they realize that it has a digital switching PSU so it's not going to weigh that much. At $199 with Airplay and Logic 7 it's a pretty nice deal.
gus6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:22 PM   #4
Aikouka
Lifer
 
Aikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,644
Default

I picked one up as well. I've been wanting to get a new TV in my bedroom, and I'd like to get a passive 3D one. Well, the problem is that my Denon AVR-1610 doesn't handle 3D! I don't care much about using Audessey in my bedroom, so the lack of it isn't a big deal. I haven't had a chance to set it up yet, but the only negative things that I could think of would be no HDMI on the front (really just a novelty, but nice) and no video upconversion, which means it won't output component/composite/etc over HDMI.

EDIT:

Although, everything I have uses HDMI, so the lack of upconversion isn't a big deal either. I mostly like the fact that it has AirPlay since I stopped using my hacked AppleTV in lieu of a real HTPC.
Aikouka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:36 PM   #5
gar655
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 509
Default

Actually it will output component etc... out through HDMI just in its native format. At least my older HK 1600 does. It passes through all video unmolested which is actually better anyway unless you can afford a very expensive pre/pro with a top of the line video processor.
gar655 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:23 PM   #6
s44
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8,931
Default

Main downside is the lack of Audyssey. Good deal otherwise or if you want an old-school (no correction) AVR.
s44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:04 AM   #7
Aikouka
Lifer
 
Aikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,644
Default

I finally got around to hooking it up today, and I must say... the control scheme is definitely a lot different than my Denon receivers. I'm also not sure if it's indicative of an issue, but I got the receiver to freak out on me. I went from my PS3 to an input with nothing active and back to the PS3, and the PS3s output just kept flashing in and out. All I had to do to fix it was switch to another source and back to the PS3, so it wasn't something too terrible.

I also wish that it had a Quick Select feature like my Denon remote does. Since HDMI inputs tend to be assigned to random sources, it's nice to simply assign them to a quick select in an order that you remember (1: PS3, 2: HTPC, 3: 360). Fortunately, it's not too bad if I just keep in mind that it's the first three buttons (in that same order) excluding AVR and TV. It is also weird that when I hit a source button, I then had to hit AVR again to open the AVR menu. I'm guessing it's allowing for HDMI-CEC by requiring you to do that. Oh, and a little got'cha... you use the OSD button to open the options/settings menu not the Options button!

EDIT:

Oh, and since it doesn't come with a printed owner's manual, here's the link from Harmon Kardon: http://manuals.harman.com/HK/Owner%2...1700_OM_EN.pdf
Aikouka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:56 AM   #8
Number1
Diamond Member
 
Number1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.
Posts: 7,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spacejamz View Post
Just picked up one of the last ones in my area (according to the Best Buy inventory checker) for $199...mentioned on both Fatwallet and Slick Deals so they all probably gone now...but alot of people are getting open box deals...not sure if that is a good sign or not...

Bought using my AMEX for additional warranty coverage....

Overall, pretty amazed at this receiver...great sound and features at an amazing price...only knock is no HDMI pass through but not a big deal for me...

Has a digital power supply so the receiver weighs less than 13 lbs...

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Harman+K...&skuId=6087397
Other then the lack of a sophisticated speaker calibration system like Audyssey it looks like a terrific deal. How do you like the Logic 7 mode?
__________________
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4200, MSI P67A-G43 (B3) P67 ATX LGA1155, Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit, 5450 Radeon 500M X 2, 4TB storage, 600W OCZ GameXtream, Windows 7 HP 64, Samsung Syncmaster2463uw, Audio password Audio
Number1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:34 PM   #9
Childs
Diamond Member
 
Childs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Number1 View Post
Other then the lack of a sophisticated speaker calibration system like Audyssey it looks like a terrific deal.
It has its own version called EzSet/EQ, and it comes with its own calibration mic. I cant vouch for it, but it should be better than nothing.
__________________
i7-3770k@4.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti OC 3GB * 840 Pro 512GB * 24" Asus VG248QE 144Hz
Mac Mini i7 2.6Ghz * 16GB RAM * 840 Pro 512GB * 27" Dell U2711
Origin name: tT-Childs
Childs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:57 PM   #10
spacejamz
Diamond Member
 
spacejamz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 8,466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Number1 View Post
Other then the lack of a sophisticated speaker calibration system like Audyssey it looks like a terrific deal. How do you like the Logic 7 mode?
it does have a oddysey like system to calibrate the speakers...haven't had a chance to fully play with it though...I hooked up my ps3, lg blu ray player and 360 to it with HDMI cables and connected the audio of my direct tv received via coax to make sure they work...

I will have some time this weekend to shake everything else out...
__________________
"Now if there's one thing you can be sure of, it's that nothing is more powerful than a young boy's wish. Except an Apache helicopter. An Apache helicopter has machine guns AND missiles. It is an unbelievably impressive complement of weaponry, an absolute death machine." - Ted (2012)

Heat
spacejamz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:35 AM   #11
Aikouka
Lifer
 
Aikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,644
Default

I started the EzSet process, but it was a tad bit loud, so I think I'll do it when my neighbor doesn't appear to be around.

Out of curiosity, does anyone else use HDMI Control with it (it's called "HDMI Link" in the settings)? I have it turned on, and when I turn my TV (LG 47LM4700) off, it turns the receiver off. That sounds right, but when you turn the TV on, the receiver doesn't turn on. On my downstairs setup (Mitsubishi WD65C9 + Denon AVR 2112ci), turning the TV on or off also attempts to do the same with the receiver. Just... don't turn the receiver on prior to turning the TV on. That leads to a rather amusing constant power cycling of the receiver.

So, has anyone else tried that, and saw that it works? I don't know if I need to tweak something in my setup!
Aikouka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:30 PM   #12
Aikouka
Lifer
 
Aikouka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 24,644
Default

I ran EzSet, and I thought it was loud at first? Holy crap, that thing is LOUD. I mean... I've run Audyssey on my Denon receiver, and it just makes a bunch of bleep noises that sounds like you're playing an old arcade game, but this? I plugged my ears, and it was still quite audible! Unfortunately, I already watched Dredd last night (to test out the 3D), so I'll need something else to test out the EQ settings.

EDIT:

One thing that I forgot to note is that unlike MultiEQ XT, this only seems to have a single listening point.

Last edited by Aikouka; 01-19-2013 at 06:47 PM.
Aikouka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.