Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Software > Software for Windows

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2013, 11:19 AM   #1
loki8481
Lifer
 
loki8481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hudson County, NJ
Posts: 40,671
Default best software for OS backup?

so, I just purchased a 4.5TB NAS drive (eventually upgrading to 9TB once 3TB drives go on sale again... for now, it's 2 x 3TB and 2 x 750gb). I thought it would be a good opportunity to setup backups for my operating system in case a drive ever dies or the OS gets hosed (and maybe even ditch the RAID1 on my desktop if restores are easy enough; my long term plan is scaling back my desktop so I can get a smaller case, which isn't an option with my current setup that has 6 internal drives)

question is, any recommendations on backup software to run backups of my windows OS? (Win 7 currently, but might upgrade to 8 in the near future). some kind of bare-metal restore option would be ideal, to make recoveries faster. cloud/offsite isn't really a requirement (I use dropbox for my irreplaceable files; this backup would just be to recover my OS and spare the pain of having to reinstall everything)

price is obviously a factor... it seems funny for me to ask this question since my entire job is running server backups for a web hosting company, but the enterprise-level software we use is way more expensive than I'd pay for home use.
__________________
Internet justice is swift and brutal, though not always applied equally or accurately. Still, the value of incinerating someone in a public forum should not be underestimated.
loki8481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:30 PM   #2
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,562
Default

I've had great experience with Macrium Reflect. They also have a free edition with limited features if you want to try it out.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:19 PM   #3
MontyAC
Diamond Member
 
MontyAC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,050
Default

I like Macrium Reflect too. Make sure you create a rescue disk to boot and restore the image.
MontyAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:55 PM   #4
capeconsultant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Active@disk image gets my vote. Good software without the bloat!
__________________
Mac mini - 2.3ghz - core i7-16GB Ram | 24 inch Dell IPS monitor | OCZ Vector 512GB SSD | 2TB WD External | CapeWP.com
capeconsultant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:45 PM   #5
GrumpyMan
Diamond Member
 
GrumpyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,938
Default

Macrium for me.
GrumpyMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:48 PM   #6
Remobz
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrumpyMan View Post
Macrium for me.
Same here.
Remobz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 05:16 PM   #7
Zxian
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 576
Default

Any reason why you can't use Windows Backup? I've got that setup for my desktop systems, and I've used it a couple of times to restore the image. As long as your network drivers are supported by the Win7/8 installation media, you should be able to restore your system image directly from the OS installer.

It's free, and I haven't run into any showstopper bugs that would necessarily be handled by third-party software.
__________________
i7-3770K@4.2GHz|P8Z77 WS|4x4GB DDR3-1600|ASUS 770 DC2OC|2x Samsung 830 256GB|2xWD 750GB|3x2443BW|Win7 Ult x64
Zxian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 12:19 PM   #8
Pardus
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 7,822
Default

..

Last edited by Pardus; 01-22-2013 at 04:27 PM.
Pardus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:30 PM   #9
Chiefcrowe
Diamond Member
 
Chiefcrowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,562
Default

Actually it does. According to their site, the installer contains both versions.
http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yazoo View Post
Macrium doesn't have a 64-bit free version, todo is better.
Chiefcrowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #10
ImpulsE69
Diamond Member
 
ImpulsE69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,663
Default

I use both Todo and Macrium free versions (on 64bit).
__________________
I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion and if anyone thinks differently they will promptly be crushed.

The World Needs a Reset Button.
ImpulsE69 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.