Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Power Supplies

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 11:30 AM   #1
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default Quality psu under $100

Hi. I'm looking for recommendations on a good psu under $100.
Here are the ones im looking at now
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182261
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703035
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151095
My computer is an old dell xps 7100, phenom 830 x4, and I'm going to upgrade it and put in a gtx560 ti or a 660, along with upgrading the psu and adding a ssd.
The power consumption will probably be like 3-400 (guessing, maybe more idk), so I'd assume I'll need 4-500w psu? Are these ones good?
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:32 PM   #2
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Doesn't seem like you're looking for anything with bells and whistles:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139026

There's also a modular version that just came out, right now it's sitting at $50 but if you can get it below $30 it'd be a great deal as well.

The PC Power and Cooling and Seasonic ones are really nice too, but they're also much more expensive.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:42 PM   #3
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default

ive heard the psu is one of the most important parts of a system, so i shouldn't cheap out on it. anyone else?
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:57 PM   #4
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qzyxya View Post
ive heard the psu is one of the most important parts of a system, so i shouldn't cheap out on it. anyone else?
Cheap doesn't mean bad. If you look up the CX430, it's a well-reviewed unit produced by a very good company. I'd trust it more than a Rosewill brand, for one.

Also, I just realized you have a Dell pre-built. Upgrading the PSU may not be easy because it's a Dell system (they use proprietary pin-outs).

What PSU do you have in there already? A 660 and SSD draws very little power. The Dell PSU may work fine for your needs.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590

Last edited by Eureka; 01-17-2013 at 01:00 PM.
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:03 PM   #5
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Cheap doesn't mean bad. If you look up the CX430, it's a well-reviewed unit produced by a very good company. I'd trust it more than a Rosewill brand, for one.

Also, I just realized you have a Dell pre-built. Upgrading the PSU may not be easy because it's a Dell system (they use proprietary pin-outs).

What PSU do you have in there already? A 660 and SSD draws very little power. The Dell PSU may work fine for your needs.
Oh really? Wow then at $25 for a good brand and whatnot is a steal haha.
I know the one it has is 460w, I'm gonna take some pics of the labels when i get home tonight. If I were to get a 660, would I just remove the old gpu and then just plug it into that same slot in the mobo? And you think the oem one might work? What would I be risking? I might just get a new case with better cooling and such and then a new psu. (that one you suggested)
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:07 PM   #6
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qzyxya View Post
Oh really? Wow then at $25 for a good brand and whatnot is a steal haha.
I know the one it has is 460w, I'm gonna take some pics of the labels when i get home tonight. If I were to get a 660, would I just remove the old gpu and then just plug it into that same slot in the mobo? And you think the oem one might work? What would I be risking? I might just get a new case with better cooling and such and then a new psu. (that one you suggested)
Just remove the old GPU and put in the new one, simple as that. You'll need to reinstall drivers when you're done. The 660 will need an extra power plug, if your current one doesn't have it. If the PSU doesn't have a 6-pin PCI-e, I believe the GTX660 will have an adapter in the box to pull power from a 4-pin molex. I'm looking through older reviews, and it seems like the 7100 could support some higher-end video cards for its time, which means they draw more power than a GTX660 would. Depending on what card you have in there, you could be saving power by moving to a GTX660.

It's not as simple as changing the case and PSU, if you wanted to go that route. The problem is that Dell motherboards use a different power connector and that's what you have to watch out for. It's not worth it, just keep your current power supply.

I doubt you'll be risking anything. If the Dell PSU was made well, it should just shut down the computer if you use too much power (which in this case, you are not). So the worst likely thing to happen is that you may have to wait a few days if you find out you don't have a PCI-e plug and have to buy an adapter.

You definitely have enough power on that system. The CPU draws around 100W (max), and the GTX 660 will draw around 140W (max). That's 240W on a 460W PSU.

EDIT: I lied some more. You'll be 100% fine, the XPS 7100 had the 5870, which required 2x 6-pin PCI-e connectors.

EDIT2: If you actually have a 5870 in there now, it's not worthwhile to upgrade to the 660, since the 5870 was a beast of a card.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590

Last edited by Eureka; 01-17-2013 at 01:18 PM.
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:21 PM   #7
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Just remove the old GPU and put in the new one, simple as that. You'll need to reinstall drivers when you're done. The 660 will need an extra power plug, if your current one doesn't have it. If the PSU doesn't have a 6-pin PCI-e, I believe the GTX660 will have an adapter in the box to pull power from a 4-pin molex. I'm looking through older reviews, and it seems like the 7100 could support some higher-end video cards for its time, which means they draw more power than a GTX660 would. Depending on what card you have in there, you could be saving power by moving to a GTX660.

It's not as simple as changing the case and PSU, if you wanted to go that route. The problem is that Dell motherboards use a different power connector and that's what you have to watch out for. It's not worth it, just keep your current power supply.

I doubt you'll be risking anything. If the Dell PSU was made well, it should just shut down the computer if you use too much power (which in this case, you are not). So the worst likely thing to happen is that you may have to wait a few days if you find out you don't have a PCI-e plug and have to buy an adapter.

You definitely have enough power on that system. The CPU draws around 100W (max), and the GTX 660 will draw around 140W (max). That's 240W on a 460W PSU.

EDIT: I lied some more. You'll be 100% fine, the XPS 7100 had the 5870, which required 2x 6-pin PCI-e connectors.

EDIT2: If you actually have a 5870 in there now, it's not worthwhile to upgrade to the 660, since the 5870 was a beast of a card.
I might, but I got a lower end config (they had a fancy schmancy amd vision black edition (probably with the 5870 and the 6 core) but I got the lower end silver one (some other color than black, i forget) that had the 830 and a cheaper gpu.
Is there a way to check which I have? I guess then I won't be getting a new case and psu if the dell ones use different cables, I guess I can just clean this one out and get the better gpu. Thx.

Also, how much more of an actual preformance increase would a 660 be over say a 650 ti or a 560 ti in terms of ONLY Cuda acceleration on mercury playback engine? I know gaming will be better but I dont care much about that, I'd rather invest in other stuff (better camera for filming the stuff i'm going to be editing, ssd)
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:29 PM   #8
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

If you use a tool called GPU-Z (free small program), it will tell you everything you will ever want to know about your GPU. And even between the two versions of the 7100, they will probably share the same PSU and so you'll be fine on power. Plus it'll run cooler with a 660.

In terms of work differences, that's something you might want to ask in the VC&G forum, as I'm only really familiar with gaming differences in GPUs. I know there were differences between the Fermi and the Kepler (5xx vs 6xx) in terms how they were optimized, as the 6xx chips were designed to be gaming chips and sacrificed workstation optimization. I forget for exactly what, but I remembered reading somewhere that Fermi cards were actually better for graphics work than Kepler.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:48 PM   #9
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
If you use a tool called GPU-Z (free small program), it will tell you everything you will ever want to know about your GPU. And even between the two versions of the 7100, they will probably share the same PSU and so you'll be fine on power. Plus it'll run cooler with a 660.

In terms of work differences, that's something you might want to ask in the VC&G forum, as I'm only really familiar with gaming differences in GPUs. I know there were differences between the Fermi and the Kepler (5xx vs 6xx) in terms how they were optimized, as the 6xx chips were designed to be gaming chips and sacrificed workstation optimization. I forget for exactly what, but I remembered reading somewhere that Fermi cards were actually better for graphics work than Kepler.
All right, thanks I'll post a question there. Do you know of any sites with benchmarks for different gpus? I get most of my benches off anandtech's 2012 gpu thing but I should probably get some other sources to compare with
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:58 PM   #10
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qzyxya View Post
All right, thanks I'll post a question there. Do you know of any sites with benchmarks for different gpus? I get most of my benches off anandtech's 2012 gpu thing but I should probably get some other sources to compare with
Very good source:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...ew,3107-7.html

Not so reliable source, but still useful:
http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/directCompute.html
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:05 PM   #11
qzyxya
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 65
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Thanks but i was looking for more of a benchmark with like fps and stuff than a hierarchy chart. Like the anandtech gpu comparison thing says the 660 has better cuda preformance (it had a score of 830 and the 560 ti had 670, but idk what those scores mean). Also, doesn't the gtx660 have like 900 cuda cores while the 560 has only 380, wouldn't that mean it would be much better?
I know for gaming its going to be far better.

Last edited by qzyxya; 01-17-2013 at 02:07 PM.
qzyxya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:13 PM   #12
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

There's the gaming bench on anandtech..
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/GPU12/372

Does the same thing but shows you FPS scores if you select direct x 11/10 instead of direct compute.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:27 PM   #13
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
Cheap doesn't mean bad. If you look up the CX430, it's a well-reviewed unit produced by a very good company. I'd trust it more than a Rosewill brand, for one.

Also, I just realized you have a Dell pre-built. Upgrading the PSU may not be easy because it's a Dell system (they use proprietary pin-outs).

What PSU do you have in there already? A 660 and SSD draws very little power. The Dell PSU may work fine for your needs.
Dell used a proprietary PSU in some of their systems, but not all of them, and I believe they no longer do it at all.

His current PSU is a crappy AcBel unit(saw it in his General Hardware thread). I came across Acbel's TFX PSU when asked to diagnose why an Inspiron 546s was not starting. That unit had bulging capacitors as the culprit.

The CX430 is now on its third version. Its previous revisions have been reviewed and tested. If one doesn't get a dud, it's a fine performer and the internals are excellent.
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...ly-Review/1200
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...ly-Review/1284

http://www.google.com/search?q=cx430...hrome&ie=UTF-8
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:30 PM   #14
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

That's good to know that they are no longer proprietary, do you know for sure if his version is ATX standard?

In any case, there's no point in switching if the PSU still works. The CX430s can be bought at any time so might as well use the Acbel until it no longer works. The 830 + 560/660 won't stress the PSU enough to worry about overload.

EDIT: Just read the General Hardware thread of his. Sounds like OP needs general housecleaning more than anything. A SSD + fresh windows install will do wonders for the computer alone. Clean it out. Crashing could be caused by anything but not because it's old (3 years is fairly new for computer tech). Sounds like software/bloatware creep and maybe overheating.

For what you need a 560Ti for $100 is a far better deal than a 660. Power supply... I would say leave it be. I have faith in these cheap chinese PSUs, I have one running 7 years now. Run it until it dies and then replace it.

Get this SS http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7oZFnagqTAOUlQ

It's a good SSD for the price, not the latest and greatest but it'll last.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590

Last edited by Eureka; 01-17-2013 at 02:39 PM.
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 02:52 PM   #15
Torn Mind
Platinum Member
 
Torn Mind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eureka View Post
That's good to know that they are no longer proprietary, do you know for sure if his version is ATX standard?
Well, I suppose Dell didn't go proprietary on the cheap tier desktop. Even my family's old Dimension 2400 is standard ATX, but this is a digression...


Fortunately for him, Dell dumped the practice from their XPS line in around 2008.

http://www.maximumpc.com/article/del...prietary_parts

http://en.community.dell.com/support.../19334737.aspx

Seems like folks in the second link were recommending standard PSUs. Corsair was mentioned.
__________________
SR061| Asrock H77M | 2x2GB G.Skill 1333Mhz NS RAM | PowerSpec TX-606 Case| 500GB 7200RPM Seagate Drive| Antec Eartwatts EA-500 (2006) | Asus DVD Burner | parallell and COM port header | Old Dell Keyboard
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=93090
Torn Mind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:15 PM   #16
Necc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 230
Default

Iwouldn't buy the new Corsair CX430 80+ Bronze, horror stories on newegg feedback section.
Necc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:24 PM   #17
Eureka
Diamond Member
 
Eureka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,826
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Necc View Post
Iwouldn't buy the new Corsair CX430 80+ Bronze, horror stories on newegg feedback section.
Newegg feedback is mostly horror stories for any product. For $25, I'd take the chance, since both Newegg and Corsair both have great customer service.
__________________
San Francisco: ASRock Z87E-ITX | Intel i7-4770k | 16 GB DDR3 1600 | Gigabyte WF3 7950
Honolulu: Gigabyte MA790X-UD4P | AMD Phenom II X4 955 | 8GB DDR2 800 | Sapphire HD4890
London: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA | Intel Dual Core E7400 @ 3.1ghz | 2GB DDR2 667 | ATi X850 XT @ 540/590
Eureka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:18 PM   #18
bigsnyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 1,567
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151119

Very nice unit, I got two of them back in Nov on special. Also just recently reviewed on HardOCP.
bigsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:46 PM   #19
BTRY B 529th FA BN
Lifer
 
BTRY B 529th FA BN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12,965
Default

If you watch for the Seasonic X 650, 750, and sometimes the 850 Gold models you may find them below 100 or at 100$ in the 850w case. New Egg is frequently having deals on them.
__________________
Rig1: Xeon X5660 6core 32nm (2.8GHz stock), Asrock X58, Geforce 210 0db, Samsung 128Gb 840 Pro, Vertex2 100Gb, Cherry MX Blacks, 2009 Seasonic X 650w, Aluminum Full tower
Rig2: i7 970 6core 32nm @ 4.6GHz 1.4v, EVGA 760 Classified,
GTX 670, Samsung Evo 120Gb, Vertex LE 100Gb, Cherry MX Reds, Sidewinder X5, Enermax Revo 950w, Obsidian 800D
BTRY B 529th FA BN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:10 AM   #20
coffeejunkee
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qzyxya View Post
ive heard the psu is one of the most important parts of a system, so i shouldn't cheap out on it. anyone else?
I think that's the right way to go about it. Although the Corsair CX430 is a pretty decent powersupply and a real steal at $25 I would still step it up a notch and go for the Seasonic G series bigsnyder recommends, except instead of the 550W I would get the 450W model.

Reasons:
- 105c rated caps on the Seasonic vs 85c on the Corsair, 105c will last longer.
- More sata connectors
- 2 vs 1 pci-e connectors, ready for possible graphics card upgrade.
- Ball bearing fan on the Seasonic vs sleeve bearing on the Corsair, sleeve bearing will get noisy after a while.
- Although rated 430W the Corsair is more like a 330W psu, modern pc's use mainly the 12V line and not so much the 3.3V and 5V ones.
- Modular vs non-modular, modular is just much more convenient.
- 5 years vs 3 years warranty.

Extra:
- Better voltage regulation.
- More efficient, although you probably won't make up the cost difference.
coffeejunkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:36 AM   #21
philipma1957
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Howell NJ
Posts: 1,550
Default

today 6pm to midnight west coast time. A seasonic platinum 660 watt 110 and a 20 dollar rebate. net of 90 for an outstanding psu


linky:

http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2296437 deal is now dead
__________________
1)Intel i7-3770k. i5-4670
2)sapphire hd7790 , sapphire hd7970
3)samsung 4x 4gb low profile ram
4)antec ea450 seasonic 760 platinum
5)asus maximus v gene mobo asrock itx-e
6)fractal case cooler master elite 120 case.

Last edited by philipma1957; 01-19-2013 at 11:25 AM.
philipma1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:36 AM   #22
nature1ders
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL USA
Posts: 58
Default

Buy this Rosewill HIVE-750 I have the 650 version you can read the review here Hardware Secrets
nature1ders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:48 PM   #23
TemjinGold
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,434
Default

Why would you suggest that when the Seasonic Plat is the same price?
__________________
Antec P182 | Seasonic X-660 | Cyberpower 1000PFCLCD |
Intel i5 2500k @4.2 w/ Corsair H55 | ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z |
16gb G.SKILL DDR3 1600 | ASUS GTX580 |
Sharp AQUOS LC-32LE700UN 32" LED HDTV | 1x 960 gb Crucial M500 |
1x 1TB Samsung F3 | Samsung SATA DVD Burner | Logitech Z-5500
TemjinGold is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:53 PM   #24
nature1ders
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bolingbrook, IL USA
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TemjinGold View Post
Why would you suggest that when the Seasonic Plat is the same price?
Which SeaSonic, the 550 watt? You want 750 watt not 550 :/

All I find is this SeaSonic M12II 750 SS-750AM 750W but this is not worth $119 when the PSU I suggest was rated very well and did exceptionally, it will be just as good for much better price.

Last edited by nature1ders; 01-19-2013 at 04:56 PM.
nature1ders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 05:16 PM   #25
bigsnyder
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 1,567
Default

550 watts will be more than enough for the system he listed. 550w is probably overkill, so anything higher would be a waste of money. As far as the G-Series I linked, with the rebate at the time of purchase, the net cost was around $60. I realize that pricing isn't current, but mentioned that as a point of reference for when a similar deal comes around.

Last edited by bigsnyder; 01-19-2013 at 05:19 PM.
bigsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
modular, psu, under $100, under 100, upgrade

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.