Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > CPUs and Overclocking

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2013, 11:21 PM   #1
Jjoshua2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 627
Default Flummoxed by problems with new overclocked build

So I got an asus z77-lk and i5 3750 and overclocked it to 4.4 ghz for about a month and a half stably with games and 24/7 load with BOINC. Just recently, it started resetting, and when it came back up it paused after post saying "Power Supply Surges detected during the previous power on. ASUS Anti-Surge was triggered to protect system from unstable power supply unit!"
I reset the bios back to factory and for some reason my computer is still at 4.4 ghz? I turned of Intel turbo boost and then it goes back to 3.4 ghz, but still has the resetting issue. I turned off the ASUS anti surge setting in bios, since I'm running with a nice big rackmounted ups, and my psu is a new rosewill CAPSTONE-750-M. I have an old 520 corsair that I guess I could try swapping out.

1. So if it doesn't happen know that I turned of power protect am I ok?
2. How can I try lowering the overclock to say 4.2ghz since even the factory reset didn't? I tried manually setting a maximum multiplier of 42 and a factory reset, but it still went up to 4.4 ghz.
3. I guess I really should try another psu? It can't be that my ups died right?
Thanks!
Jjoshua2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:49 AM   #2
sm625
Diamond Member
 
sm625's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,710
Default

I would look at those modular psu connections.
__________________
I am looking for a cheap upgrade to my 3 year old computer.
AT forum member #1: Buy a 4790k

I am looking for a way to get 10 more fps in TF2.
AT forum member #2: Buy a 4790k
sm625 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
Jjoshua2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 627
Default

Wow! Thanks, that was it man! It stopped working completely; one of the cables had wiggled loose somehow, but it seems to be fine now that its in. Now I'll just have to overclock it again since I took out the battery and reset everything again. We'll see if I have the same weird 4.4ghz issue.
Jjoshua2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:42 PM   #4
suteck
Member
 
suteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 25
Default

I would go with the old psu you have to check to see if the problem disappears. When it does, as long as the 520 has enough power to run your system - probably at stock - then invest in a real power supply. The rosewill power supplies are not what I'd call dependable. It's usually not the amount of power but the quality and stability of the power that makes a HUGE difference. Go with seasonic, corsair or antec would be my recommendation. And oh, if your power supply seems to be causing problems take it out of the loop quickly, it will probably take out other components before it actually goes up in smoke.
suteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.