Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Memory and Storage

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 07:23 PM   #1
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,540
Default Terrible NAS performance

I've got a Synology DS412+ that I've been relatively happy with after owning it for a few months, but lately I've been pretty disappointed with the read/write performance (15-20MB/sec). I originally created a Synology Hybrid RAID volume with 1 2TB Western Digital Green drive and 2 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green drives, and performance was good but getting weaker as I filled it up (at one point I had 300GB free out of 3.4TB). I then added a 3TB Seagate 7200RPM drive to get some more free space (that took 24 hrs, oy) and now have about 35% free but my read/write speeds are still pretty terrible. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Should I have gone with a simple RAID 10 instead (requiring me to get another 3TB Seagate)? Or is it because I'm using Green drives?
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) | Mac mini (Late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad Air w/ LTE
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
beginner99
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dagamer34 View Post
I've got a Synology DS412+ that I've been relatively happy with after owning it for a few months, but lately I've been pretty disappointed with the read/write performance (15-20MB/sec). I originally created a Synology Hybrid RAID volume with 1 2TB Western Digital Green drive and 2 2TB Seagate Barracuda Green drives, and performance was good but getting weaker as I filled it up (at one point I had 300GB free out of 3.4TB). I then added a 3TB Seagate 7200RPM drive to get some more free space (that took 24 hrs, oy) and now have about 35% free but my read/write speeds are still pretty terrible. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Should I have gone with a simple RAID 10 instead (requiring me to get another 3TB Seagate)? Or is it because I'm using Green drives?
Read-write performance with what? single. large file or moving a directory with tons of small files?

Green drives can easily sustain 90 MB/s in a single large file transfer so in that scenario they are not the limiting factor, the NAS is. However i you copy directories full of smaller files that can easily plunge down below 5 MB/s on a single green drive.

see also

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/n...viewed?start=1

were 20 MB/s is reported under certain scenarios.
beginner99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:46 AM   #3
xilience
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Default

I second beginner99's post. What you really want is an SSD cache for the NAS, then things will fly!
xilience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:40 AM   #4
Deaks2
Member
 
Deaks2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

I have found that many SOHO NASs are kinda pokey when it comes to sustained data transfers. My old D-Link DNS-323 used to slow to a crawl after a few GB had been transfered.

My new setup, a FreeNAS running on a G620 with 8GB of RAM and a ZFS-RAID setup always saturates my GigE home network. It is massive overkill for what I need, however, for $500 it kills most SOHO solutions.
Deaks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:56 AM   #5
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beginner99 View Post
Read-write performance with what? single. large file or moving a directory with tons of small files?

Green drives can easily sustain 90 MB/s in a single large file transfer so in that scenario they are not the limiting factor, the NAS is. However i you copy directories full of smaller files that can easily plunge down below 5 MB/s on a single green drive.

see also

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/n...viewed?start=1

were 20 MB/s is reported under certain scenarios.
Single large files 4-8GB in size.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) | Mac mini (Late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad Air w/ LTE
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:35 PM   #6
zuffy
Senior Member
 
zuffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 683
Default

Have you try enabling jumbo frame?
__________________
Mine: i7-3770K @ 4.4GHz | Asus Maximus V GENE | 32GB G.SKILL DDR3-1866 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Apple LED LCD 27"
Kids: i7-975 @3.73GHz | EVGA E758-TR | Zotac GTX 560 | 12GB Patriot DDR3-2000 | Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB | Apple Cinema LCD 23"
Laptop: Dell XPS 15 | i7-2630QM | 16GB Corsair DDR3 1333 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Samsung 840 EVO 1TB | GT 525M 1GB | 1080p
zuffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:07 PM   #7
Lepard
Senior Member
 
Lepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deaks2 View Post
I have found that many SOHO NASs are kinda pokey when it comes to sustained data transfers. My old D-Link DNS-323 used to slow to a crawl after a few GB had been transfered.

My new setup, a FreeNAS running on a G620 with 8GB of RAM and a ZFS-RAID setup always saturates my GigE home network. It is massive overkill for what I need, however, for $500 it kills most SOHO solutions.
Can you share the specs of the FreeNas box you built? I have a DNS321 and it leaves A LOT to be desired.
__________________
References
Heatware / Ebay
Lepard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:26 PM   #8
dagamer34
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zuffy View Post
Have you try enabling jumbo frame?
Wow, that was it. Now back to 40-50MB/sec transfers. Thanks!
__________________
15" MacBook Pro with Retina Display (Mid 2012) | Mac mini (Late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad Air w/ LTE
dagamer34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:07 PM   #9
tracerbullet
Golden Member
 
tracerbullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 1,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepard View Post
Can you share the specs of the FreeNas box you built? I have a DNS321 and it leaves A LOT to be desired.

I have one too. It's old, I wouldn't expect much.


Quote:
Originally Posted by dagamer34 View Post
Wow, that was it. Now back to 40-50MB/sec transfers. Thanks!
Did you have options within that, and if so which did you choose? I have mine turned on, (D-Link DNS-321) and it's set at 5000, roughly the middle of the scale. Curious what you chose (if you had the option) and why?
__________________
ebay / Heat
tracerbullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:55 PM   #10
Deaks2
Member
 
Deaks2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lepard View Post
Can you share the specs of the FreeNas box you built? I have a DNS321 and it leaves A LOT to be desired.
Sure thing.

Intel G620 CPU (Sandy Bridge)
Gigabyte H61M-S2PV
8 GB DDR3 PC10600
3*1.5 TB HDDs in ZFS-RAIDZ1 (RAID 5 equivalent)
30GB Kingston SSDNow ZFS cache drive
CoolerMaster Elite 343 case
CoolerMaster 420w PSU

It's running FreeNAS 8.2 x64 on a Kingston 4GB USB key.

I used the general performance tweaks you can find in the n00b parts of the FreeNAS forums, including a script that allows miniDLNA to auto-update the media server listings when a new file is dropped into the watched folders.

Running the following servers:
Samba for CIFS
miniDLNA for media sharing (incl. streaming to my mobile devices while away from home)
iSCSI for backups from my 2 Win7 Home machines

Like I said before, it is massive overkill, however, now I don't get frustrated when I do need to transfer data to or from my media server. Going to or from an SSD equiped client, I can saturate my GigE link.
Deaks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:46 PM   #11
Yellowbeard
Golden Member
 
Yellowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,542
Default

Deaks2, just curious.....did you ever test with and without the ZFS cache drive? It's been a while since I tinkered with my array but IIRC, I could see very little difference with it vs without a cache drive. That was RAID-Z1 on ICH10-R with 5 x Hitachi 2TB drives, and 1 cache drive.

Of course, now my issue is that I am running 6 x 2TB Hitachis in RAID-Z2. I have no more connectors on my ICH10-R and I don't think the OS likes having the cache drive on a different controller.
__________________
Corsair Technical Support Artist

Last edited by Yellowbeard; 01-21-2013 at 02:48 PM.
Yellowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:36 PM   #12
Deaks2
Member
 
Deaks2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

I had an issue with long load times for directory listings (i.e.: MP3 folder with 20000+ files). I wrongly assumed it was a throughput issue and added the SSD cache, but it still sucked. I removed MSDOS permissions from the CIFS config and everythign was a-ok speedwise. I never bothered removing the SSD.
Deaks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:50 PM   #13
Yellowbeard
Golden Member
 
Yellowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,542
Default

Ahhh....good call on the MSDOS permissions, I'll give that a try as I have that same issue.

I have been lazy but need to troubleshoot a speed issue. I'm gigabit all the way thru my network but I'm capped at about 100-125MB/s MAX either to or from a fast SSD RAID-0 array. The system has 16GB of RAM so I'm not sure where my bottleneck is occurring unless it's the cheap gigabit switch.
__________________
Corsair Technical Support Artist
Yellowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:19 PM   #14
Deaks2
Member
 
Deaks2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

Sounds to me like you're at GigE speeds... Unless you meant 100-125 mb/s instead of MB/s...
Deaks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:52 PM   #15
Yellowbeard
Golden Member
 
Yellowbeard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deaks2 View Post
Sounds to me like you're at GigE speeds... Unless you meant 100-125 mb/s instead of MB/s...
DOH! Brain was thinking in bits, but I typed bytes. So yeah, my speeds are good. 125MB/s is a VERY brief peak. Averages drop to about 800mb/s on big files.

I still need to test enabling/disabling the DOS permissions. Is the specific parameter you disabled the "SUPPORT DOS FILE ATTRIBUTES"?

It takes 5-10min for my directory listings to populate on my music and movie folders, esp the music. Of course, it is 17,825 folders/205,030 songs. That may have something to do with it.
__________________
Corsair Technical Support Artist
Yellowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 07:04 AM   #16
Deaks2
Member
 
Deaks2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowbeard View Post
DOH! Brain was thinking in bits, but I typed bytes. So yeah, my speeds are good. 125MB/s is a VERY brief peak. Averages drop to about 800mb/s on big files.

I still need to test enabling/disabling the DOS permissions. Is the specific parameter you disabled the "SUPPORT DOS FILE ATTRIBUTES"?

It takes 5-10min for my directory listings to populate on my music and movie folders, esp the music. Of course, it is 17,825 folders/205,030 songs. That may have something to do with it.
As soon as I turned off "Support DOS File Attributes" in the CIFS service directory speed reads were what I would consider normal. Around 5 seconds for a 20000+ file listing before cached, instantaneous after it's been cached.
Deaks2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.