Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Motherboards

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 06:23 PM   #76
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

sort of.

the price just seems really good. $130 after tax and free shipping. I don't see many others with that price besides the Gigabyte.

It has pretty much everything the Asrock Extreme 4 has except 2 less usb 3.0 ports (no need), esata (no need), debug led (don't care), etc.

It can crossfire and sli and looks to be good quality. it got good reviews.

I am considering the Gigabyte as well. But you can only crossfire, not sli. Less power phase, but then there are conflicting arguments - it matters, no it doesn't matter. I have a Gigabyte board right now so I know its good.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:25 PM   #77
Zenmervolt
Supermoderator
The Garage
Elite member
 
Zenmervolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 24,388
Default

I've had solid experiences with MSI, though this thread has me a bit concerned...

MSI K8T NEO-FSR - No problems running basically 24/7 for 4 years (2005 - 2009), replaced as an upgrade.

MSI K9A2 Platinum - No problems, but got in at the tail end of the AM2+ and wanted to upgrade, so it was only in service for a year (2009 - 2010) until I replaced it as an upgrade.

MSI 790FX-GD70 - Currently in service (2010 - current) and haven't had any difficulties with it at all.

That said, I'm not the heaviest user; I don't overclock and while I muck about with photography as a hobby I'm not doing much that spikes resource usage to 100% for any meaningful amounts of time. I mean, I still run a Radeon 4870 and find it perfectly adequate for what I do.

It's worth noting too that none of these three boards have been "budget" boards and it's possible that MSI's lower-tier motherboards are less reliable. My general rule has been to favor slightly older "high-end" components over newer but "mid-tier" or "low-tier" products (e.g. a 4870 over a 4950, etc.) which seems to have worked well for me.

ZV
__________________
Futures and Options

TANSTAAFL
Zenmervolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:08 PM   #78
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

There is only 1 left available online. Not sure if I should jump or if anyone says anything on Gigabyte. A few days ago it was at 7 forever.

It says 'more on the way' but the deal could be over. How long do amazon deals last?
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:59 AM   #79
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

MSI's are a hit or miss. I personally build mostly with Gigabyte, Asrock, Biostar and sometime eVGA (Good HW but bad Bios etc)

I avoided Asus for the longest time due incompatibility with certain memory module. But my latest Asus X79 works fine and has been nothing but a joy to work with.
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:43 AM   #80
Deders
Golden Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,105
Default

To sum up what I've said before, I would recommend MSI as a mid range with plenty of features product that can't quite reach the big boys in terms of tweak-ability but will give you a reliable system with plenty of tweaking and overclocking options if you can't quite afford to buy Asus/Gigabyte.

My current system is clocked at a very stable 3800, any more and the power usage would outweigh the benefit from extra MHz so they do strike the perfect balance for realistic use. TBH the only game I need to overclock beyond stock to play smoothly is Arkham City, and that is only if I want to have Physx (which is designed for a 2nd card to play on high) play on high on one card.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.

Last edited by Deders; 01-17-2013 at 10:51 AM.
Deders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:06 PM   #81
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

well I order it. I was looking at the wrong page it doesn't say more on the way. My understanding with amazon is if it says out of stock, it is discontinued for good. The Asrock Extreme4 has bee out of stock forever on Amazon.ca

I will report back when I get board. Hopefully no problems. Apparently there is away around that voltage offset. you can turbo overclock or something so it doesn't suck a lot of power all the time and idles.

I just need ram now.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:27 PM   #82
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,843
Default

I just returned an MSI board because it dosent do voltage offset (mentioned earlier in this thread). It was an X79A GD65 8D, it has dual bios, many power phases, supports 128GB of RAM (wow), something called OC genie and a bunch of other features but it dosent do voltage offset. Apparently none of their high end boards can do it.

That just annoys me that they add all the extra crap and miss something basic for a high end board. I dont want my chip at a constant 1.4v, i dont want to rely on auto either as that feeds it too much voltage and im not buying a board like that to run the thing at stock!

I thought to myself "im getting a higher end MSI board for less money, beating all those asus/gigabyte sheep gj max hurr hurr hurr!"

Silly me for going against the grain... in future i will be far more inclined to buy asus/gigabyte or whatever is popular because theres a fecking reason its popular and it wont omit what IMO is a basic feature in a high end overclocking board. I saw on MSI's forum one of the moderators explaining that enthusiasts didnt want to use offset as its "confusing" to calculate the correct voltage So that stupid ass omission was by design. Tells me a lot about MSI...

/rant

Ah well live and learn, not a huge deal anyways as its still within the return window and i picked up a P9X79 PRO for a similar price. My old x58 asus did not disappoint, heres hoping this one will be just as good
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:36 PM   #83
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

I can still cancel the order but I don't see this voltage thing being a big deal?

apparently you do the manual oc and it will stay at whatever you clock it to.

or you can do turbo oc and it will drop ghz when idle which seems good.

what is the big deal?
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:55 PM   #84
Maximilian
Lifer
 
Maximilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 11,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shephard View Post
I can still cancel the order but I don't see this voltage thing being a big deal?

apparently you do the manual oc and it will stay at whatever you clock it to.

or you can do turbo oc and it will drop ghz when idle which seems good.

what is the big deal?
If its not a big deal to you, go wild

It was a dealbreaker for me though.
__________________
>2014
>sig line limit of 90 characters
Maximilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:09 PM   #85
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilian View Post
If its not a big deal to you, go wild

It was a dealbreaker for me though.
why explain.

I have 3570k and want to overclock it the best I can on air cooling. I want this computer to last as long my last ones - 5+ years.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:30 PM   #86
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shephard View Post
why explain.

I have 3570k and want to overclock it the best I can on air cooling. I want this computer to last as long my last ones - 5+ years.
It's been explained. As I said, you had your mind made up even before you asked the question. A lot of people recommended against it, you questioned the argument and ordered it anyway. Why continue the charade by asking questions that have already been answered and wasting everyone's time including your own?

If you wanted to OC the best you can and last 5+ years, you'd have purchased a board that would have offered you the best chance to achieve that goal. You didn't. You chose the board that was cheaper. Which is fine, my only beef is you ask a question and outline what you want. You get recommendations, you ignore it, then ask why... again. Doesn't make sense.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)

Last edited by 2is; 01-17-2013 at 11:42 PM.
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:35 PM   #87
UNhooked
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,515
Default

unsubbed
__________________
Space for sale!
UNhooked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:03 PM   #88
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2is View Post
It's been explained. As I said, you had your mind made up even before you asked the question. A lot of people recommended against it, you questioned the argument and ordered it anyway. Why continue the charade by asking questions that have already been answered and wasting everyone's time including your own?

If you wanted to OC the best you can and last 5+ years, you'd have purchased a board that would have offered you the best chance you achieve that goal. You didn't. You chose the board that was cheaper. Which is fine, my only beef is you ask a question and outline what you want. You get recommendations, you ignore it, then ask why... again. Doesn't make sense.
to be fair my original post it was about msi gd65 and msi boards in general. then I bumped it when I saw msi gd55 on sale.

I don't understand this voltage offset and why it's so important. it seems like the people who have the boards do fine and the reviews on the board get 5/5 for overclocking.

no one said much on the gigabyte board so what am I suppose to do?
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:07 PM   #89
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,620
Default

Post #74 answered that question the first time you asked it.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:14 AM   #90
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2is View Post
Post #74 answered that question the first time you asked it.
I know but I was looking at some posts on overclock and I think if you do something called turbo oc it will still go down and idle. it's just if you do it that way you can only do like 4.2ghz vs 4.7 or something.

if someone can tell me more about the Gigabyte board I will buy it. It only ha 4pin cpu connector. Does that matter or no? Will it overclock as good?
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 12:25 AM   #91
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,620
Default

We are talking about voltage, not clock speeds. MSI= Voltage stays at peak even if clock speed/cpu load is low. Other boards = voltage also gets lowered with frequency/load

The CPU pin connector doesn't mean anything. One just has a cool factor, a single 4pin has more than enough power capacity for an i5 or an i7. I have a D3H with a 2500k @ 4.5GHz. I like the board, the via audio chipset isn't adequate, but not great. Not as good as on my Asus
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:25 AM   #92
2is
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,620
Default

I meant to say the Via audio IS adequate.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K|240GB Intel SSD 520|Asus P8Z77-V Pro|2x GTX 680 SLI (2GB)|180GB Corsair Force SSD|Corsair TX750|2x8GB DDR3 1600 (1.35v)
2is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:51 AM   #93
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

what the my post didn't go through.

Ok I understand what you say 2is but I read on the MSI board you can turbo oc - don't quote me on that I don't know what it means. Apparently you oc, but not as high and it when computer is idling the ghz will go down. does the voltage not go down either?

so the cpu is going to wear faster? What if it's under the recommended Intel voltage?

I like the Gigabyte board but it can't SLI. it also has no power/reset switch.

the next board up is really expensive.

what other boards should I consider.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:48 AM   #94
Deders
Golden Member
 
Deders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,105
Default

The MSI allows you to use Turbo as part of your overclock, so my board is clocked at 3600 but processor can reach 3800

TBH I thought all boards could do that.
__________________
i5 750@3800 - MSI P55 GD65 - Asus GTX780 DirectCU II OC 3GB @1215 & 7000 - 8GB Gskill RipjawsX DDR3 @1800 8-9-8 - Be Quiet! Straight Power E9 500W - Nanoxia Deep Silence One - X-FI Xtreme Gamer - Samsung 830 128GB - Spinpoint F3 1TB - WD RE4 2TB - WD Caviar Blue 640 - Dell U2913WM - Logitech G19 - Corsair M65 - Thermaltake Contac 29 with Noctua NF-F12 PWM.
Deders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 03:55 AM   #95
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

here is quote from MSI forums. What do you think 2is?



Quote:
The problem is that these MSI boards don't have Offset voltage. We can partly get around this by leaving the vcore on auto. This lets the mobo reduce and apply volts as it deems necessary (I'm seeing a range of 0.91v-1.23v approx). Luckily the automatic voltage profile is over generous with voltage (you don't need 1.23v to run 2 cores @ 3.8) which means than we can get extra performance out of the cpu without actually needing to manually alter the vcore.

In order to do this:
1. Set your BIOS to default.
2. Enter over-clock settings.
3. Leave EIST and Vcore on Enabled/auto.
4. Make sure Intel Turbo boost and Enhanced Turbo Boost are enabled.
5. Enter CPU features at the bottom of the OC settings menu.
6. Scroll down and find the "x-core limit". Treat these as your CPU multiplier. Set them all the same.

Chances are that you will get to x42 and that will be as high as you can go. The automatic profile does have an upper limit (I'm seeing 1.226v) so you won't get as high as you will on a fixed voltage.

Hey presto you now have a CPU that idles with 1.6GHz @ 0.91v and loads to ~4.2GHz @ 1.23v. If you need anymore power then load up you fixed voltage OC.
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:00 AM   #96
Rvenger
VC&G Moderator
 
Rvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 5,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shephard View Post
here is quote from MSI forums. What do you think 2is?


Good luck. MSI is constantly changing their UEFI bios and that option was not even on mine. I tried everything. Turbo overclocking, using their "offset" function which does not do anything, setting voltage to auto and watch Vcore peak to 1.45v which is out of spec for my CPU. Flashed to different versions of Bios. Nothing works. I owned 3 other MSI boards and ran into the same issue. I even asked my sources as well and they know there is no option.

http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=162565.0
http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=145933.0


Go ahead and buy one, but when your CPU just spews unnecessary heat in your case from having fixed voltage, or your overclocks are requiring higher voltage due to long term degradation you can't say I didn't warn you.





EDIT: I figure I would give you an example just because I am a nice guy.

Asrock FM2A75 PRO4
A8-5600k @ 4.0ghz
**Voltage set at 1.3875**

Idle 1400mhz Vcore 0.91v
Load 4000mhz Vcore 1.31v - 1.38v (Vdroop set)

Temps w/ Hyper 212+: Idle 28c Load 45c


MSI FM2-A85XA-G65
A8-5600k @ 4.0ghz
**Voltage set at 1.3875**

Idle 1400mhz Vcore 1.38v
Load 4000mhz Vcore 1.38v - 1.45v (Why is the Vcore overshooting so high with vdroop disabled??)

Temps w/ Hyper 212+: Idle 37c Load 51c
__________________
i7-5820k @ 4ghz 1.12v - MSI X99S SLI Plus - Corsair H100i - 16gb Crucial 2133mhz DDR4 - Zotac GTX 980 AMP - 256gb Adata SP900 - 3TB Seagate 7200.14 - Asus Xonar DGX - NZXT Hale82 850w PSU - CM Storm Stryker

i7-2700k - Asrock H61MV-ITX - CM Hyper T2 - 8gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz DDR3 - Powercolor PCS+ HD 7950 - 80gb X25M Intel SSD - 1TB Seagate SSHD - EVGA 500w PSU - Bitfenix Prodigy Red

Last edited by Rvenger; 01-18-2013 at 11:09 AM.
Rvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #97
Shephard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 766
Default

ok well I woke up and it was shipped. I thought it wasn't done until Monday.

Amazon has free shipping back. What board can you recommend me in the same price?

$130-140 max after taxes and shipping.

thanks
Shephard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:37 PM   #98
Rvenger
VC&G Moderator
 
Rvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 5,157
Default

Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H
Biostar TZ77XE4
__________________
i7-5820k @ 4ghz 1.12v - MSI X99S SLI Plus - Corsair H100i - 16gb Crucial 2133mhz DDR4 - Zotac GTX 980 AMP - 256gb Adata SP900 - 3TB Seagate 7200.14 - Asus Xonar DGX - NZXT Hale82 850w PSU - CM Storm Stryker

i7-2700k - Asrock H61MV-ITX - CM Hyper T2 - 8gb Corsair XMS3 1600mhz DDR3 - Powercolor PCS+ HD 7950 - 80gb X25M Intel SSD - 1TB Seagate SSHD - EVGA 500w PSU - Bitfenix Prodigy Red
Rvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 10:39 PM   #99
fustercluck
Diamond Member
 
fustercluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7,402
Default

I like my MSI mobo ok so far (Z77A) but who knows, it could stop working in less than a year, with the luck i have with computer parts it most likely will. Not planning to overclock so can't speak on the abilities of that. Boot up is slower than I would like, it hangs for a few seconds on bootup with some screen that just shows an "A2" in the bottom right corner. I wonder if there is anything I can do to speed up the boot up process.

I've had really bad luck with ASrock boards but it's all a crapshoot really.

ps: does anyone else see a page 5 on this thread but it's not actually there? :p
fustercluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:10 PM   #100
dma0991
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fustercluck View Post
Boot up is slower than I would like, it hangs for a few seconds on bootup with some screen that just shows an "A2" in the bottom right corner. I wonder if there is anything I can do to speed up the boot up process.
I think its a design choice as to whether to halt it before the splash screen or during the splash screen. Every motherboard needs time to POST. The more features you cram into the motherboard, the longer it will take but it also depends if the manufacturer chooses to initialize every single component.

If you've used the first revision of the MSI BIOS, A2 which mine did used to have, it will show that there are no PCIE 3.0 devices. Personally, I'd prefer the A2 at the corner which isn't related to the BIOS version but the status of the checking. It matches with my POST 80 display on my motherboard.

For a slightly faster boot time, you could always turn off the splash screen. That should save you about < 0.5 seconds.
__________________
Intel Core i5 3570K [4.5GHz @ 1.28V]|MSI Z77A-GD65|Samsung MV-3V4G3D 16GB 1866MHz@9-9-9-24/1.35V|Powercolor HD4650|Corsair Force GT 120GB|Samsung F3 1TB|Corsair CX500|Corsair 400R|XSPC Raystorm + XSPC EX240 + EK DCP 4.0
Intel Core i7 2600|ASRock H61M/U3S3|Kingston HyperX 8GB|Intel HD2000|WD Blue 320GB|Samsung F4EG 2TB|WD Green 2TB|WD Green 3TB|WD Green 3TB|FSP SAGA II 500W|CM Elite 343
| |
dma0991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.