Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Consumer Electronics > Mobile Devices & Gadgets

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2013, 01:23 PM   #1
rcarbal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default Tegra 3 desktop equivalent

Hey guys.

I've been trying to find information on an equvalent desktop GPU for the tegra 3. In terms of gflops, support for directx 9 and any other APIs, whats the closes match for a tegra T30-T33?

I recently been trying to answer this question, but I cannot find the articles/threads that have this info, I just remember it was in an anandtech discusions.

Thanks again for any help.
rcarbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 01:41 PM   #2
mdlam
Member
 
mdlam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 63
Default

8100GT 2mb of gddr.001


Impossible to compare as benchmarks are largely based on SW code, which is different from ARM (T3) to x86.
mdlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:03 PM   #3
dguy6789
Diamond Member
 
dguy6789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 8,495
Default

Probably slower than a Geforce 3
dguy6789 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:04 PM   #4
rcarbal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

okay, I see what you mean. i was just interested in the processing power it had. There have been games ported, example some PS3 games with lower details and run less FPS, THDs like Hamilton and zombie driver.

Vendetta Online requires a Fully DirectX compatible 32MB video card, which translates to a very weak video card. But wanted to know how far down the generations of Geforce cards do I need to go to find the best match.
rcarbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:42 PM   #5
ThatsABigOne
Diamond Member
 
ThatsABigOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Minsk, Belarus or Utah, USA
Posts: 4,117
Default

Geforce MX would be my first guess.
ThatsABigOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:54 PM   #6
BenSkywalker
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,955
Default

..

Last edited by BenSkywalker; 01-22-2013 at 09:35 PM.
BenSkywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:30 PM   #7
Raduque
Lifer
 
Raduque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenSkywalker View Post
Tegra 3 has 1GB *on die* memory It's an SoC and they work quite a bit different then PCs.
Memory... or cache?

Quote:
Futuremark will have their new bench out soon and we will be able to compare them directly(obviously different code base, but then we can see actual performance numbers).
Hmm, interesting.
__________________
Wrote a note said Be Back in a Minute
Bought a boat and I sailed off in it
Don't think anybody's gonna miss me anyway


Heat
ForSale
Raduque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:54 PM   #8
rcarbal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Default

This is great info, Thank you all for all the help.
rcarbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:13 PM   #9
Fox5
Diamond Member
 
Fox5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,758
Default

Tegra 3 is roughly the same as the Xbox (the first one)'s gpu, which was a low end geforce 4.
__________________
ebay
Look up bluefox451

heatware
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=35565
Fox5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:19 PM   #10
wirednuts
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7,121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox5 View Post
Tegra 3 is roughly the same as the Xbox (the first one)'s gpu, which was a low end geforce 4.
which is quite amazing...
wirednuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:27 PM   #11
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wirednuts View Post
which is quite amazing...
Is it? I guess so, but then again the Xbox came out well over a decade ago. That's an eternity in computing terms. Back then is when I bought my iBook 600.

BTW, my Trident 8900C still works.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:35 PM   #12
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,010
Default

BTW, what's even more important to me is Tegra 3's ability to decode 1080p30 High Profile H.264 in real time. Try doing that on the Xbox's CPU or GPU.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:38 AM   #13
djgandy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenSkywalker View Post
Tegra 3 has 1GB *on die* memory It's an SoC and they work quite a bit different then PCs.
1GB of on die memory?
djgandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:40 AM   #14
djgandy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
BTW, what's even more important to me is Tegra 3's ability to decode 1080p30 High Profile H.264 in real time. Try doing that on the Xbox's CPU or GPU.
Fairly trivial these days. Dedicated hardware video decoders are amazingly efficient.
djgandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:46 AM   #15
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djgandy View Post
1GB of on die memory?
It's not on die, it's on package (Package on Package). On die would imply a single monolithic die, which is not the case. Plus eDRAM isn't dense enough to pull that off anyhow.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them

Last edited by ViRGE; 01-17-2013 at 06:48 AM.
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:55 AM   #16
BenSkywalker
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 8,955
Default

..

Last edited by BenSkywalker; 01-22-2013 at 09:36 PM.
BenSkywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:38 AM   #17
ViRGE
Super Moderator
Elite Member
 
ViRGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 30,282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenSkywalker View Post
You sure? I thought T3 dumped PoP?

Just double checked, T3 is still PoP.
I'm not aware of any mainstream SoCs using on-die memory at this point. They aren't even using TSVs yet.
__________________
ViRGE
Team Anandtech: Assimilating a computer near you!
GameStop - An upscale specialized pawnshop that happens to sell new games on the side
Todd the Wraith: On Fruit Bowls - I hope they prove [to be] as delicious as the farmers who grew them
ViRGE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:36 AM   #18
Puddle Jumper
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenSkywalker View Post
Futuremark will have their new bench out soon and we will be able to compare them directly(obviously different code base, but then we can see actual performance numbers).
I'm really looking forward to that. To say that the popular mobile benchmarks are lacking is a massive understatement.
__________________

Puddle Jumper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:24 AM   #19
Eug
Lifer
 
Eug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 18,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djgandy View Post
Fairly trivial these days. Dedicated hardware video decoders are amazingly efficient.
Well, that's my point. Trivial now, but a huge problem back in the days of the Xbox, on the consumer side.
__________________

OS X: 27" iMac Core i7 870 | 13" MacBook Pro C2D 2.26 P8400 + SSD | 13" MacBook C2D 2.4 T8300 + SSD
iOS: iPad 2 | iPhone 5s
Windows: X3400 Athlon II X3 435 | 11.6" 1810TZ Pentium SU4100 + SSD | Revo R3610 Atom 330 + SSD
Android: Nexus 7 (2012)
Eug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:38 AM   #20
djgandy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
Well, that's my point. Trivial now, but a huge problem back in the days of the Xbox, on the consumer side.
Did Xbox have a dedicated MPEG2 decoder? It would never have had H.264 decoder because it only had a DVD player.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViRGE View Post
It's not on die, it's on package (Package on Package). On die would imply a single monolithic die, which is not the case. Plus eDRAM isn't dense enough to pull that off anyhow.
Yeah I know, just checking he knew the difference between package and die as there is a HUGE difference.
djgandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:40 AM   #21
ChronoReverse
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,020
Default

1GB of memory on-die would be rather astounding.
ChronoReverse is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.