Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > Home Theater PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals
· Free Stuff
· Contests and Sweepstakes
· Black Friday 2013
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,877
Default Streaming my media over the web?

Hi guys,

I have a pretty decent sized media library that I'd like to stream over the web to my iPad, windows phone, and work PC if possible.

What is the best way to do this? I tried Plex, but it doesn't work as a service and since my HTPC gets rebooted regularly, this really isn't feasible. Unless somebody can help me get it working?

Much obliged for any help!
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:38 AM   #2
thestrangebrew1
Golden Member
 
thestrangebrew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,305
Default

Can you just put a shortcut to Plex in the startup folder so when the htpc reboots, Plex is launched? I haven't tried this, but I don't know of other programs that will let you stream to the web to your devices. Why the developers haven't gotten Plex to work as a service yet is beyond me, but I know it's been req. for quite some time. Just out of curiosity, what are your htpc specs?
__________________
Rig: i7 2700k, asrock extreme 4 gen3, 60 gb OCZ Vertex ssd, 128 gb Plextor M3 ssd, samsung spinpoint 1tb hd, 16gb gskill sniper series, EVGA GTX 670 FTW, antec hcg 750w psu

Server: Intel g630, Biostar H61, 4gb gskill ram, antec 400w eco psu
thestrangebrew1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:56 PM   #3
MrChad
Lifer
 
MrChad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 13,496
Default

Orb does this.
MrChad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:14 PM   #4
ImpulsE69
Diamond Member
 
ImpulsE69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,991
Default

Not sure what version of Plex you are running, but it does all that you are wanting. It has a setting to start on bootup, and myplex streams your local content out onto the internet onto practically anything.

You might need to dig a bit more...
__________________
I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion and if anyone thinks differently they will promptly be crushed.

The World Needs a Reset Button.
ImpulsE69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:24 AM   #5
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,877
Default

Plex will start at login, not at boot -- there's a difference
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:04 PM   #6
ImpulsE69
Diamond Member
 
ImpulsE69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,991
Default

Google :p

http://www.coretechnologies.com/prod...sAService.html

This costs, but I'm guessing there's a free software out there that does the same thing.
__________________
I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion and if anyone thinks differently they will promptly be crushed.

The World Needs a Reset Button.

Last edited by ImpulsE69; 01-21-2013 at 03:06 PM.
ImpulsE69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:28 PM   #7
lockdown571
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImpulsE69 View Post
Google :p

http://www.coretechnologies.com/prod...sAService.html

This costs, but I'm guessing there's a free software out there that does the same thing.
This is what I used when I ran Plex Media Server on my WHS 2011 machine. Worked perfectly.
lockdown571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:35 AM   #8
Shyatic
Golden Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,877
Default

Yea, I just don't want to have to dish out money for software that likely isn't needed if the damn software ran as a service.
__________________
Heatware
Shyatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.