Go Back   AnandTech Forums > Hardware and Technology > SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs

Forums
· Hardware and Technology
· CPUs and Overclocking
· Motherboards
· Video Cards and Graphics
· Memory and Storage
· Power Supplies
· Cases & Cooling
· SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs
· Networking
· Peripherals
· General Hardware
· Highly Technical
· Computer Help
· Home Theater PCs
· Consumer Electronics
· Digital and Video Cameras
· Mobile Devices & Gadgets
· Audio/Video & Home Theater
· Software
· Software for Windows
· All Things Apple
· *nix Software
· Operating Systems
· Programming
· PC Gaming
· Console Gaming
· Distributed Computing
· Security
· Social
· Off Topic
· Politics and News
· Discussion Club
· Love and Relationships
· The Garage
· Health and Fitness
· Home and Garden
· Merchandise and Shopping
· For Sale/Trade
· Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests
· Black Friday 2014
· Forum Issues
· Technical Forum Issues
· Personal Forum Issues
· Suggestion Box
· Moderator Resources
· Moderator Discussions
   

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 06:38 PM   #1
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 573
Default CD to SATA drive caddy

Looking to convert a Lenovo CD to a SATA drive. Where might I find a "caddy" to fit in a Lenovo V570 laptop?
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
foolish501
Diamond Member
 
foolish501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,381
Default

one like this ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Universal-9-...item53f1f9f4ab
__________________
When I die I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my Grandad, not screaming in panic like his passengers
foolish501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:05 AM   #3
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,291
Default

According to comparison charts (Ideapad vs Thinkpad), the V570 does not have an Ultrabay, so you may in somewhat uncharted territory where a simple pop out optical can not be replaced by a similar HDD adapter.

http://laptops.techcrunch.com/compar...s-IdeaPad-V570

It can be done, and this may help:

http://www.buy-deals.co.uk/lenovo-v5...rive-caddy.htm
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

“Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure” - Don Wilder

Last edited by corkyg; 01-17-2013 at 10:16 AM.
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:44 AM   #4
WackyDan
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,794
Default

Corky... That second link is for an ultrabay adapter. Has to be wrong.

Pretty sure that the iDeaPads being their consumer line don't support this feature. Shoudla bought a ThinkPad.
__________________
Lenovo M57p, T61 and W510 ThinkPads.
2008 Can Am Spyder with Givi side and top hard cases. The ultimate touring setup.
WackyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:31 AM   #5
corkyg
Moderator
Peripherals
 
corkyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 24,291
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WackyDan View Post
Corky... That second link is for an ultrabay adapter. Has to be wrong. Pretty sure that the iDeaPads being their consumer line don't support this feature. Shoudla bought a ThinkPad.
I thought that also, however, the 7 specific steps for making the switch are aimed directly at the V570.
__________________
CorkyG - Tucson, AZ

“Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure” - Don Wilder
corkyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 04:12 PM   #6
kbp
Senior Member
 
kbp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Lower Peninsula
Posts: 573
Default

Went to this link....
http://www.newmodeus.com/shop/index....roducts_id=401

They do not show a caddy for a "V" but I did remove it and it looks the same as a "Z" series although the "G" caddy looks like it would work as well. I would find it hard to believe that lenovo uses more than one or two differant CD ROM form factors. Guess i'll pick one and try it out. Both are 12.7 height. Shape looks the same too.
Thanks all !!! I'll let you know if it works.
__________________

kbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 10:17 AM   #7
holden j caufield
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 5,402
Default

it'll work as long as you get the right dimensions and the connector isn't proprietary. I did same thing to a toshiba.
__________________
Heatware rating 43-0 since 1997
holden j caufield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.